We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
22 Hill Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Fosshotel Baron(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
$207
$183
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$345
$313
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$303
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$216
$208
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of $257/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hlemmur Square(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
$195
$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of $214/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$315
$242
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$244
$210
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Fron(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
$262
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$661
$552
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$561
$505
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (1,094)
Filter reviews
1,094 results
Traveler rating
348
564
154
18
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
348
564
154
18
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshotel bjorkminute walkruby tuesdaysbreadcity centreboiled eggsblue lagoonattached restaurantshower cubiclehotel doornorthern lightshamthe main shopping streetcold meatsthird floorreception staffbook trips
Filter
Updating list...
299 - 304 of 1,094 reviews
Reviewed February 19, 2016

Travelling as a family group of 3 adults and having read excellent reviews on Trip Advisor we were really looking forward to a great stay there but were very disappointed with our experience. We landed on the Sunday afternoon and transferred via a lovely stop off at the Blue Lagoon so arrived at 10pm relaxed and ready to check in. Imagine our dismay on presenting our reservation to be told that they had no room booked for us despite us having booked through a reputable UK travel agent and paid in full 4 months ago. After a couple of telephone conversations and much head shaking the confused receptionist told us that they were fully booked and it looked as though our booking had been cancelled. However, no explanation could be given as to who cancelled and why! We were told that they would get a taxi to take us to some of their alternative accomodation, 'A Room with a View' where we could stay over night and the manager at 22 Hill Hotel would sort things in the morning. We spent a very anxious night with very little sleep due to the uncertainty of the situation and noise from the very busy street (we were now on the main street in Reykjavik which also had major building work opposite complete with pile driver), Unable to settle I reported to reception at 8am to try get some clarity. At this point we did not know where we would be spending the rest of our stay as we were told both accomodations were fully booked for the rest of the week and we wouldn't even be able to stay there another night. The receptionist rang through but said the manager at 22 Hill Hotel was called Hildur and she would speak to us but was in a meeting until 10.30am. They were unable to offer us breakfast either as Room with a View was self catering so we had no choice but to go out to a cafe to get a coffee and breakfast and wait for the manager. Eventually after several phone calls between us and our UK travel agents (who incidentally were completely blameless) and the hotels reception we were taken back to 22 Hill Hotel who had now mysteriously found us a room. When we went to our room this turned out to not be the triple room we had booked and paid for but a twin room with a camp bed squashed into the corner. Charles from reception then arrived, smiling and very happy, knocking on the door to hand over a small bottle of fizzy pop, packet of crisps and chocolate bar for each of us which he obviously expected would make amends for the breakfast we had not had! I expressed our dissatisfaction with the camp bed and small room and initially Charles argued that as we had 3 beds it was a triple room but eventually hearing the conversation a passing chamber maid said no it was 'a twin room with an extra bed added'. Hildur, the hotel manager who was supposed to sort everything was the exact opposite of good customer service, refusing to accept any responsibility and never once apologising despite other hotel staff admitting to our travel company that it was totally the hotels error. She implied they had done us a favour letting us stay at Room with a View and would not acknowledge the distress and inconvenience they had caused us as well as valuable holiday time we had lost. As it was now lunchtime her only concession was to offer for us to have free lunch in the restaurant but as we had already wasted a whole morning of our valuable time in Iceland we didn't feel as though we had the time to spare preferring to get out and explore Reykjavik. Hildur was very lacking in the art of customer service and despite her promise to investigate further we never saw her again for the rest of our stay! Charles although seeming to be very pleasant continued to be a catalogue of errors!! He forgot other customers 'early morning wake up calls', almost caused us to miss out on the opportunity of a whale watching trip by telling us that ALL trips that day were cancelled when they weren't and then booked us with the wrong company for our return 4am airport transfer which almost caused us to miss our flight home. We did later find out that Charles was new and perhaps should have been given more training or supervision when dealing with guests important arrangements.
In spite of all this the hotel was clean, the night time receptionist was lovely and he was the only staff member to apologise and the 3 breakfasts we did get were of a reasonable standard - hence the one star rating!! In our experience 22 Hill Hotel would be more aptly called 22 Hell Hotel.

They have still been unable to clarify why and by whom this was cancelled as it was clearly an error on the part of the hotel.

Room Tip: Double check and confirm reservation in advance. Ask for sea/mountain view.
  • Stayed: February 2016, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
22HillHotel, Guest Relations Manager at 22 Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2016

Dear Sue G,
Thank you for taking to the time to write your feedback regarding your experience.
To start with sincerely apologise that this uncomfortable situation occurred, unfortunately this happened due to an error between the 2 booking systems and we only had the information that the reservation was cancelled, in evidently we ended up being fully booked on the dates of your stay and we did not have your reservation confirmed, we can appreciate that your trusted travel agent in the UK had no recollection of this either as the error was between the booking systems, and was not made manually agent to hotel, so we were and still are surprised this happened. In addition we are sorry that this was not fully explained to you or you were not updated regarding this.

In closing we would like to apologise on behalf of the hotel to you for feeling unsettled or feeling like you had bad customer service, this certainly is not standard for us, as you said yourself after reading our excellent reviews about us here this is not how we do things here and we absolutely regret that we could have satisfied you and your family better to ensure you are had a great experience in Iceland.

If you wish to discuss this further you are more than welcome to contact us directly.
manager@22hillhotel.is

with best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2016 via mobile

I stayed on this hotel in 2012 and since that was an ok experience, we booked it again. The location is quite good, but the level wasn't the same as back in 2012. Apparently new owners came somewhere between 2012 and now.

The best you can say about the breakfast is, that the coffee is ok. The rest is ...indifferent. The rooms are ok but, all over the hotel it seems that they are saving light, so you live and walk around "in the dark". And the wifi needs a serious boost.

I am probably going back to Iceland, but I am not going to stay at 22 Hill again.

Stayed: February 2016, traveled with family
2  Thank Rytterager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2016

Four of us stopped here including an 85 year old lady. We could not fault the whole experience with friendly, helpful staff. Our rooms were warm & clean with all that you needed & nice to have tea/coffee facility. The breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice & the restaurant though I believe isn't run by the hotel was well priced & of a high quality. Watch the price of the taxis as a couple of drivers took us a long way round to our destination which we didn't realise at first. The trips we booked were brilliant & the the staff couldn't have been more helpful with my friend's mother. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to any of my friends.

Room Tip: Some rooms are quite small, ask for one of the larger ones
  • Stayed: February 2016, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2016

We stayed in 22 Hill for our Valentines/adventure holiday. Absolutely fantastic hotel! It's fresh, modern, clean and the staff are extremely helpful. They were happy to help us with booking/confirming tours, guiding us towards places to eat & shop, and were always there with a smile :)

The hotel is pretty much on Xlaugevegar, the main street in Reykjavik, and it's a short 10-15min walk to the main centre with the shops/bars/restaurants. As its located on the west end of the city we found we were always picked up/dropped off first on our trips too which is nice!

  • Stayed: February 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jason R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2016

This hotel was perfect the staff were amazing and could not have helped more they are very nice and nothing is too much bother. The room itself was basic but what more would you want and it was great value around 200 euro for 5 nights for 2 of us sharing. We had food in the restaurant connected to the hotel and got 10% off the food was lovely the hotel location is perfect around 6 7 minutes from city centre and all the tour buses will drop you back outside the hotel door this place was great!

  • Stayed: February 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Galvin2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews