We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No black out curtains”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
Ranked #18 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 12, 2014

This hotel would have got 5/5 out apart from the fact that I could not sleep due to the room being so light ALL night as the sun doesn't set. The excuse I got was "this is how it is in Nordics". That might be all very well as and Icelandic. I like a dark room to sleep. . Service was great otherwise. Young chap Anton at reception was a delight as a trainee I thought he was better than a lot of front desk staff. Breakfast ladies were great. Food was ok at breakfast however for the price you pay I would have expected freshly squeezed orange juice. Shame on the room. Otherwise 5/5. Hotel be great at winter. Avoid in summer.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
3  Thank AUSTLON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,743)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,029 - 2,035 of 3,743 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2014

We ended up at this hotel for one night due to an unexpected 24 hour stay in Reykjavik after a problem with our Iceland Air flight. Iceland Air booked us at this hotel as compensation for the flight delya. We had a 2 week trip to Iceland a few years ago so we have lots of experience with hotels in Iceland. The Hilton is a nice hotel - clean rooms, relatively good location, friendly check in staff. In our previous (planned) trip to Reykjavik we stayed in the Radisson Blue which is in the middle of downtown. The Hilton is a 15 minute walk to downtown or a 5 minute bus ride. It's a very nice hotel. Our only word of caution for travelers is that this hotel caters to large groups - 30+ people from what we saw. There seem to be few individual travelers and the hotel restaurant is geared to getting the maximum people in and out. With the exception of one waiter, the restaurant staff were rude and seemed to only care about the schedules of the large groups. Since we had hotel and meal vouchers from Iceland Air we ended up eating at the hotel but if you in Reykjavik as a couple you could easily take the bus to the downtown restaurants. So, a good hotel but if you want to avoid large groups you should consider staying elsewhere. I can't comment on pricing since we had a voucher for our stay.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Sharon-Stephen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Loved the "dark" curtains to sleep at night since it was light 23 hours a day.
They had snack candy out for the guests to enjoy.
Free Wi-Fi in the lobby
The food in the restaurant was excellent ~ always plenty to eat.
People and wait staff were awesome; very friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jingles1506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

We stayed in the Hilton Nordica for a few nights near Christmas 2013 and had a great stay. The hotel is stunning, couldn't fault the design and facilities at all. The staff all seemed friendly and willing to help, and the breakfast was very tasty in the morning. We ordered room service one night and the food was brilliant. As we stayed near Christmas the Icelandic elves left us treats outside the door every night with an explanation of which elf had been, which really topped off a brilliant stay for us.

Room Tip: The mountain facing rooms are the ones you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanBrowne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

Good things:

Location - very good. Removed from the loud and busy downtown/shopping/restaurant area but close enough that you can easily walk to it. The front desk will tell you it is a 15 min walk but it's more like 5-10. Pay for the breakfast buffet - the food is great, selection awesome, and it was very reasonably priced. Fitness center and spa was nice. Property was very clean and obviously well taken care of (though the windows could use a cleaning. Staff was very helpful and very friendly - and don't worry - they all spoke perfect English.

"Meh" things:

Rooms were small-ish, especially the shower in the bathroom. The size of the shower being small wouldn't be problematic if they didn't put a shelf in there that takes jets out in such a way that you must be careful when turning or you could gouge yourself. No air conditioning in the hotel, which is fine since it's Iceland, but the windows barely open. So if you are there, like we were, when it is relatively warm it causes a problem. We actually got our first room and had to switch because it was so hot in the room and the window opened to the hot tub at the fitness center - so it was too loud to open the window - and too hot to close it. They moved us to another room thankfully.

The poor:

No free airport shuttle. The TV and in room entertainment was terrible!!!! They offered like 10 channels, 8 of which were just news, and the movies that were available for like $12 were movies you can get free on Netflix and were released in theatres like 5 years ago. It also had this weird sound thing where the audio would cut out for 1 second every 30-45 seconds. So you'd be watching the news and about every 30th word you couldn't hear because the sound would go out.

Room Tip: Try to stay on the front of the hotel, not the back, especially if on a lower floor. The outdoor ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jd74ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Great hotel, lovely warm rooms. Good facilities and plenty of space in the rooms.

Breakfast fantastic, lots of choice and good quality food. Get there early to make sure you get a table as when the coach parties are in you may struggle.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front for good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gazkayjohnston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Very modern and decent location. Far from main venues but well located non the less. Reception is efficient and rooms large and confortable. A very commendable Hilton. Prices are a bit expensive for the services. Only negative comment is the charge to use the gym and spa.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ignacio B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Canopy by Hilton Reykjavik City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#5 of 54 in Reykjavik
601 reviews
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Reykjavik Nordica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Reykjavik Nordica

Address: Sudurlandsbraut 2, Reykjavik 108, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Reykjavik
#3 Spa Hotel in Reykjavik
#3 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
#7 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
#10 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range: $190 - $410 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Reykjavik Nordica 4*
Number of rooms: 284
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hilton EMEA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Reykjavik Nordica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica Hotel
Hilton International Reykjavík
Hilton Hotel Reykjavik Nordica
Reykjavík Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing