We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, easy to get into the city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
Ranked #17 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 27, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights in March 2014. While it is not right downtown, we were able to get downtown within 5-10 minutes using the free bus passes provided by the hotel.

The hotel staff were helpful whenever we had questions. The tour desk was very helpful when we accidentally missed one of our bus transfers. The little food purchase area in the lobby was convenient (but expensive compared to what we could buy from Bonus or 10/11 e.g. 400 ISK for a coffee, 400 ISK for a Skyr).

The rooms were very clean, and had everything we needed. The beds were incredibly comfortable with down pillows and duvets. Our view was to a parking lot, but there is a really nice view of the mountains from the elevator area.

I would definitely recommend staying here, and would stay here again. We didn't eat at Vox, but I really wanted to try it because I had heard gret things.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anitanita21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,883)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,235 - 2,241 of 3,883 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2014

The Hilton hotel offers a great stay in Reykjavik. Very clean and well design hotel to make your stay comfortable. The staff are very helpful and professional; pleasant and polite. Restaurant is very good, especially breakfast. If you're going at the bar you have to try the little mouse, a drink who won a prize. The location is not very convenient, but we were at 5 minutes from downtown district and the hotel provided free bus ticket. Arrangements to go to the Blue Lagoon could be done very easily from the hotel. Would stay there again and no hesitation to recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank joseel950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trausti K, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Reykjavik Nordica, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Dear, traveler

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel, Hilton Reykjavik Nordica.

We are very pleased to see that you had a great stay with us while on your vacation in Reykjavik. We would like to thank you for recommending our hotel to other readers and hopefully you will have the chance to visit us again in the future.

Warm regards,
Trausti Þór Karlsson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We got an Icelandair package deal that included this hotel everyone was very friendly, and the room was spacious and very comfortable. We got a free bus pass for being a guest. That was an awesome perk. Breakfast was pricey but so good! Great location, if it wasn't snowing we could walk everywhere! Staff super friendly. I would recommend this hotel in a heart beat Oh yeah... spa is awesome, book massages ahead of time.

Room Tip: If you can, request a room facing the mountain- pretty view, but we didn't spend much time sitt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank winniekawx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trausti K, Manager at Hilton Reykjavik Nordica, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Dear, traveler

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel, Hilton Reykjavik Nordica.
First of all I am very glad to see that you found our staff to be helpful, I will make sure that they receive your compliments. I am also glad to see that you enjoyed your stay in Iceland and hopefully you will have the chance to visit Iceland again in the future. Thank you again for your good review, we appreciate it.

Warm regards,

Trausti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We stayed 5 nights at this Hilton, and loved it. It was a highlight of our trip because of the amazing breakfast (included in our package stay), cozy beds with down comforters and pillows, nicely appointed bathrooms, free wifi, in-room refrigerator, free access to a full-service gym with classes, free parking, excellent location to town, pickup location for excursions, good after-hours food for purchase in the lobby, swanky lobby and bar, and a great staff. We experienced world class service starting with email exchanges before our arrival (to answer questions), to the check-in process, to assisting with flight confirmations. We arrived early, and the desk staff placed a priority on our room to be cleaned because I was ill. We requested and received a quiet room at the end of the hall on a high floor, and then were greated with a hospitality tray of food and wine because of the long wait to get our room key. Staff went out of their way to help with flight issues, and stored our bags safely so we could tour around before departure. It was a pleasure to return to the Hilton each night after a long day of touring around. We recommend it highly.

Room Tip: Rooms with an ocean view are nice, but noisy. Request the parking lot side, and a high floor, if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trausti K, Manager at Hilton Reykjavik Nordica, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Dear, traveler

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel, Hilton Reykjavik Nordica.

I am glad to see that you enjoyed your stay at Hilton Reykjavík Nordica and I would like to thank you for recommending us to other readers. We really appreciate it. I hope that you will have the chance to stay with us again.

Warm regards,

Trausti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We accepted a one-night relocation to this hotel as the result of a request by our original hotel.
I'm not going to name or compare the two but I am writing this review comparing the Hilton Nordica to similar standard hotels we've stayed in elsewhere as well.

We had an upgraded room which had all the facilities and looked out across the bay. Indeed we could see Videy and the Imagine Peace Tower.
If you're familiar with Reykjavik you'll know that means it's a fair way East of Downtown. In fact it's about 15 minutes or more walk to the main bus station which itself is a good 10 minute walk to the centre. Put another way, it's 3 stops to Hlemmur and a further 2-3 (change of bus needed) to Laeksjartog.
The hotel needs to provide a bus pass being that far out and given the weather most of the year (certainly in Winter/Spring). The bus pass is great, don't get me wrong. It saves a fortune in fares and you can easily do most of Reykjavik's treasures by public transport.
However, you have to consider that you could be waiting for a bus for 5-10 minutes with a wind chill of -20 !
There are plenty of buses - 4 lines, which gives 8 buses an hour (16 during peak hours 07:00-09:00 and 15:00-17:00) but you are stuck if you want a late night.

Our upgraded room had all the facilities you'd expect, including a furnace of a radiator (which was easily controlled).
The lifts are not so, until you realise that you have to put you room card into the slot, and take it back out (not leave it in), before you can tell it to go up.
Parking seemed to be a little tight (we couldn't squeeze ourselves between some of the cars!).
The bar is cosy but is next to a function room (there was a wedding there the night we stayed) so isn't necessarily quiet.
We didn't have time for breakfast but there is a 'Grab and Go' bar at Reception, and we were allowed just 3 items instead of breakfast, which I think makes it very expensive, considering it was sandwiches, Pringles and the like and it wasn't very well stocked.

One thing we liked was that although our room wasn't ready our luggage was stored and our Bus pass given, so we could wander off until check-in time.
We came back at 14:00, were given our room card and luggage - and found the maid in our room 'just finishing off'.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WhiteRocke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trausti K, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Reykjavik Nordica, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Dear, traveler

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel, Hilton Reykjavik Nordica.

I can understand that you were a little bit put off by the location if you intended to stay downtown. It truly is a 20-25 minute walk into the center of the downtown area but as you stated we do offer free bus passes to compensate for the distance. That being said walking into the downtown area can be a great pleasure, as long as the weather conditions are nice enough, since there are a lot of things to be discovered on the way, for example small shops, restaurants, art galleries etc.

If you would consider to stay with us again then you might also be interested in some of the great attractions that are to be found, only a short walking distance from the hotel. Within 500 meters you will for example find many restaurants and shops but the main attraction is of course Laugardalur outdoor activity park, boasting one of Reykjavik's best outdoor swimming pools, sprawling botanical gardens, amusement park and animal zoo, as well as Iceland's main sport Centre. You could also catch a bus which will take you to Kringlan, the main shopping mall in Iceland, which will only take about 3 minutes by bus.

All in all I would like to thank you for your review and I hope that you will consider staying with us again if you visit Reykjavik in the near future.

Warm regards,
Trausti Þór Karlsson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We recently made our first trip to Iceland and chose an established chain noted for its reliability and we were not disappointed. We booked a Northern Lights package which included a full breakfast upon arrival and that proved to be perfect since by the time we finished out breakfast our rooms were ready. Visitors get a free bus pass which you can use it for multiple people and hold on to for the length of your stay. The rooms were typical of most Hilton facilities in Scandanavia and were well appointed and quiet. The breakfast buffet is well worth the cost (roughly $30US) but you do get a discount if you book for the length of your stay. Overall, it was a fine choice and our party of 4 was very pleased.

Room Tip: Our room was in the rear and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJMADM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

... at least I did. I bumped into her at breakfast, but i didn't realise who it was until later. The hotel itself is very nice. My room wasn't very big but it was clean and comfortable with a huge TV. Breakfast was very good and had a wide variety. Be sure to try the smoked lamb if they happen to have it.
The hotel is not at the center of downtown but it is quite close (approx. 30 min walk). The bus connection is also very good and you can ask the reception for a free bus card.
It is also very convinient to take tours. You can book them online or go straight to the tourist office in lobby. It doesn't matter if you use Reykjavik Excursions (Flybus) or Island Excursions (Grey lines), they both pick you up at the hotel and bring you back after the tour.
If you are leaving early in the morning, don't forget to ask for the breakfast box to go. You should order it quite early on previous day. I forgot to do that. Unfortunately it is possible to take 3 items from the lobby free of charge instead (eg fruit, sandwich, yoghurt etc.)

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
Thank Anna-Liisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Canopy by Hilton Reykjavik City Centre
Hotel Laxnes
#1 of 1 in Mosfellsbaer
1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#5 of 54 in Reykjavik
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Reykjavik Nordica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Reykjavik Nordica

Address: Sudurlandsbraut 2, Reykjavik 108, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Reykjavik
#3 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
#4 Spa Hotel in Reykjavik
#7 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
#10 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range: $165 - $456 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Reykjavik Nordica 4*
Number of rooms: 251
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hilton Reykjavik Nordica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica Hotel
Hilton International Reykjavík
Hilton Hotel Reykjavik Nordica
Reykjavík Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing