We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location Wasn't a Problem” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Reykjavik Nordica

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
Ranked #15 of 53 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Mason City, Iowa
Level Contributor
138 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Location Wasn't a Problem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

We were a little worried about staying at this hotel after reading the reviews about it being so far from the center of town. We shouldn't have been. The location was easy to get to and from. We loved receiving the bus pass. The stop is right across the street and with three stops (easy to follow on monitor in bus) you're at the quaint downtown. It was an easy walk down the main shopping street and back. Buses 2, 15, 17, and 19 will get you to and from the downtown.
The hotel was very comfortable. It had great workout facilities which were complimentary. We're Hilton Gold Hhonors members so we received complimentary breakfast and WiFi. Unfortunately, we weren't given access to the executive lounge...which we have at other Hilton locations. We did get upgraded to the 7th floor with a nice view of the sea. The room was large and the bathroom was ample. The housekeepers really took care of us...providing extra decaf coffee each day (we asked once and got it every day thereafter), leaving us two extra towels when we used the two in the room at the Blue Lagoon, and always cleaning the room up well. We'll definitely come back to this hotel when we return to Reykjavik!

Room Tip: Try to get to the executive floors...7, 8, 9 with an even numbered room. We had 742 and had a good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jdmckay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,583
    1,411
    327
    54
    39
See reviews for
516
1,670
232
348
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (884)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kiruna, Sweden
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

We have spent there 5 nights and I got what I expected. The hotel brings the typical Hilton standards, nothing fancy but the quality is good.
The breakfast selection was satisfactory and they offered some local goods as well. Our room and bathroom was spacious enouhg, really loved that.

For me the lobby was too dark especially during the evening hours and the free wi-fi was also availble only in the lobby, I would sread that around the hotel. The spa & fitness was looking great but you need to pay extra if you would like to use, because it is outsourced.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SZKE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed here through a deal with an IcelandAir tour package. We really appreciated how friendly and helpful everyone who worked here was, from checking in very early and having a room ready to holding our bags after check-out. The room was extremely clean and much roomier than I expected. We had a sitting area, a desk, and a small refrigerator in addition to a bed with two separate comforters (I was so happy to not have to fight my husband all night for blankets!).

One of the biggest conveniences to this location is the free city bus pass. Since the hotel itself is situated about a 20-minute walk from the shopping and restaurant district, it was convenient to cross the street and grab a bus to save some time. Keep in mind that the buses stop at 11pm though, because you will have to hoof it back if you stay out late!

My only minor inconvenience with this hotel is the bizarre wi-fi situation. You can't have it for free in your room, but you get it for free in 24-hour increments in the lobby. Every time we wanted to look up the location of a site to visit or check out some restaurants online, we had to run downstairs to the lobby to do so. Not the end of the world, but annoying.

Side note - if you don't want to pay 3100 ISK for the breakfast buffet at the hotel restaurant, there is a 24-hour 1011 grocery store around the corner with some delicious cheap pastries and breakfast sandwiches made every day. Their coffee isn't bad either! You can also carry-out from their restaurant Ginger after 11am.

Overall, a really nice stay in a beautiful city. The mountain view every morning out our panoramic windows was an amazing way to wake up!

Room Tip: We had an even numbered room on the third floor. The views were great, and I imagine they are better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sketne25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overijssel
Level Contributor
113 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

The hotel is not down-town as written in other reviews, but I would rather have a good night sleep than being in the city center awake because of the noise. Free bus pass is a good service. We walked to the city a few times, which is no problem.

We chose an executive room. This includes breakfast in the lounge. You can have free drinks and hors d'oeuvre there end of the afternoon. Top quality products. Free wifi is also included plus you get a free massage in the hot tub of the spa (5 min. per day) and free access there. Totally recommended.

The room was very nice, but the bathroom was a bit small. The executive perks made our stay very enjoyable.

Room Tip: The best rooms are the executive rooms with mountain view. If you rent the Executive Room Plus you g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel_NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

NIce beds and pillows, clean rooms. The staff was helpful especially the gentleman who took the time to arrange for us to get into out rooms early.
The 2 buses that stop in front of the hotel make it easy to get to the center of the city.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LOOM650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
122 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed here as part of our Icelandair package and really enjoyed the hotel. Staff were very helpful, friendly and knowledgable. Because the hotel is a few miles from downtown they give you a free bus pass for your stay and the bus picks up right in front of the hotel, about every 10 to 15 minutes! Hotel food is fairly expensive however there are several fast food places within a few minutes of the hotel that are good. We had supper at Ali Babba's right beside the hotel which was fine for a quick bite after a long day of touring.
Airport bus picks up and drops off here so it is very convenient!
When we come back to Iceland we will try to stay here for sure!!!

Room Tip: If you can stay on the executive floor (8) you will have your own lounge which would be very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GKimb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

Nordica is a typical business/conference hotel with little charm- clean, efficient and a bus ride from downtown Reykjavik. Food, coffee and drinks were a bit pricey, even for Iceland. If you are a tourist, I'd recommend checking out one of several smaller hotels closer to downtown.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JK65Toronto_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 53 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#7 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura
Miõborg
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Reykjavik Nordica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Reykjavik Nordica

Property: Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
Address: Sudurlandsbraut 2, Reykjavik 108, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Reykjavik
#2 Spa Hotel in Reykjavik
#3 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
#7 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
#8 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Reykjavik Nordica 4*
Number of rooms: 284
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hilton EMEA and Jetsetter so you can book your Hilton Reykjavik Nordica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica Hotel
Hilton International Reykjavík
Hilton Hotel Reykjavik Nordica
Reykjavík Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing