We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Amazing views” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Reykjavik Nordica

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
Ranked #16 of 59 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, UK
Level Contributor
109 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Amazing views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed here as part of a package deal to Reykjavik. As the name suggests, it is all in Scandinavian style. Very light with a lot of wood. One side of the room had a huge window and as we were lucky enough to get a room ot the front we could overlook the bay off Reykjavik with its coastline of snow capped mountains. Quite outstanding. The room had every thing you needed, was clean and pleasant and provided a minibar. We used this for our milk as we had brought muesli so we could have a healthy breakfast in bed rather than paying the hotel buffet prices. Tea/coffee making facilities were also found in the room. We never visited the restaurant, so can not comment on that. Reception was very friendly and welcoming. Always helpful. the hotel offers a bus ticket for free which allows you to use the regular buses all over town. You can also walk into the centre which takes around 15 minutes. A very good idea was the small fridge section with drinks and sandwiches in the reception area where you could grab something for a day out. Next to this was a small travel office where you could get information and make bookings for trips.The hotel also offers a free computer where you can check in for your return flight and print your boarding pass saving you time at the airport.
One very nice feature were the two chairs you could find at the top of the stairs in front of the full glass wall to the bay. A sticker on the window explained to you waht you were seeing. Very nice touch. I would certainly stay here again and can highly recommend the hotel. The reason I am not giving 5 stars is that we did not make use of the restaurant and any other facilities and can therefore not give a full evaluation.

I would like to mention that this hotel is true to the card that suggests you hang up your towels if you are happy to reuse them. All hotels have a card like that in the bathroom but most of them change towels daily, no matter what you do. The Nordica actually only changes towels when you want it too. Top marks for that!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room to the front to get the views. It is overlooking a very large road but we rarely saw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TPLSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,449
    1,315
    306
    50
    35
See reviews for
471
1,542
214
321
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (837)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Excellent, helpful staff. Comfortable rooms. Good breakfasts. Buzzing bar and lounge area in the evenings. Delicious, modern Icelandic cuisine - but a bit pricey. Take the Fly Bus to and from the airport - much cheaper than a taxi

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jilly278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

The best part of our stay was the moment of arrival at 7:00 a.m. when we were allowed to check in. Later in the day, around 1 in the afternoon, the lobby was full of people waiting for their room, and they looked very tired! I would do what you can to request an early check in if arriving from US. We had a room for three, which consisted of two twin beds and a chair that turned into a bed that was not quite as comfortable as a roll-away bed, so beware if you are the third of three people. The room was on the front of the hotel and had a nice view, but nothing I would pay extra for. The room and common areas were clean, and the hotel is in a very quiet part of town so no noise issues. The curtains were in panels and impossible to block out the light, and at the end of May it was pretty light all night long. As Gold members, we had concierge lounge access and that was a bright spot, with soft drinks, bottled water, and hot drinks available throughout the day and a very nice selection of desserts and snacks later in the day. Either many staying here are Gold/Diamond, or you can purchase access as the lounge was usually more crowded than most. Not sure how it is related, but we were told it was an Icelandic holiday weekend when we were there, so they closed the gym very early both days and we were not able to use it. We had the breakfast buffet as part of our room rate, and in hindsight, I would not have paid extra for it as the breakfast in the lounge was sufficient. In terms of location, we were glad to have a rental car as all the attractions and restaurants were pretty far away. Strangest thing in the hotel was the bathroom; you had to climb into the tub/shower as the side was unusually tall (with no hand rail) and there was a tv speaker under the counter, so if the tv was on in the room, you heard it quite clearly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Familytravel1113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
41 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Hilton Nordica is a business type 4* hotel, offering all amenities one may expect on this class type. Large and well equipped rooms, good service, very friendly and helpful staff and an excellent breakfast are on the plus side. Nice conference and meeting rooms, as well as very good coffee breaks and catering service.

Reykjavik is a small and spread city. The hotel is about 2Km or 3Km away from Reykjavik downtown and the port, but the location is good, with plenty of free parking space. The Hotel offer free passes for the public bus service, which is also a convenient option, but since we had a rented car, we never tested it. Anyway, provided the weather permits, you may easily walk the distance.

The hotel is also close to the Laugardalslaug public sports complex and geothermal pool, which may be good a cheap alternative to other more touristic pools and hot pots.

Rooms on the bay side offer magnificient views over the bay and the front hills, but the views on the back also offer wide open views over Reykjavik.

I do not give 5/5 to Hilton Nordica considering two minus points:

1. No free Internet in the rooms, which is only available by default in public areas. I believe that this should be mandatory on any business type hotel or, at least, to have fair tariffs. I must confess that I was lucky enough to get a room near one of the "free" areas, and therefore I can not complain for myself, but most of my colleagues did. It does not makes sense to have to pay by day more than one usually pays per month to a mobile or telco operator to send a few e-mails.

2. Billing process was a small mess. Just after paying I noticed that the billed rate was higher than the one confirmed at booking time. Moreover, since I was on a business trip and I stayed one more night in holidays, I requested the staff to split the bill in two parts, something that the reception was not able to provide at check out time. The staff was very friendly and helpful, and of course recognized the error, but nor the rate not the bill were fixed at checkout because the back-office was closed. Everything was fixed a few days later by e-mail, but even this process requested a few iterations and (friendly) e-mails in order to have everything sorted out. The final bill that was e-mailed to me reported wrong dates and it required a companion letter to clarify it. It was a minor business inconvenience, and Hilton staff made a good effort to solve it, but nevertheless is the type of mistake that disallows me to give a full 5/5.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with bay view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FernandoS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springville, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

Nice hotel. Good location. On site tour advisor. Easy to get around city with complimentary bus passes. Great breakfast available at reasonable (for Iceland) price. Good shower. Clean attractive room. Free internet available in lobby.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocolalla, Idaho
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

We stayed there for 56 nights, We were on the 3 floor and our room was right about the courtyard where the hot tub was...Unfortunately we had to content with the sucking sounds from it the whole time we were there, even closing the window didn't help..yes it was that loud...my only other gripe is the fact that in order to get wireless for free you had to go down to the lobby. If you wanted it in your room is was expensive and considering we only stayed in our room long enough to sleep it would have been a waste of money. other than that it was a nice place, clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: Make sure you don't get a room above the hot tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mysticman C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton,AB
Level Contributor
111 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

We loved our room; bright, clean, very large and open. Loved the hardwood floors, well appointed bathroom with its long counter, large windows that opened to let in that fresh Iceland air, soft feather duvets - cannot say enough about the great room. The breakfast was excellent; many choices of both hot and cold items and the superb croissants! The parking was right in front of the hotel and free. The location was a little too far away from the city center to be walkable, but otherwise centrally located. We really enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank frenchtravellers77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#2 of 59 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
Miõborg
Black Pearl - Reykjavik Finest Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#7 of 59 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
Miõborg
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Reykjavik Nordica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Reykjavik Nordica

Property: Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
Address: Sudurlandsbraut 2, Reykjavik 108, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Reykjavik
#2 Spa Hotel in Reykjavik
#3 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
#7 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
#8 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Reykjavik Nordica 4*
Number of rooms: 284
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hilton EMEA, Travelocity, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Hilton Reykjavik Nordica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica Hotel
Hilton International Reykjavík
Hilton Hotel Reykjavik Nordica
Reykjavík Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing