We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Views, excellent service, and quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
Ranked #16 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great Views, excellent service, and quiet”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Stayed on top floor facing the water. Fantastic view of the mountains. Staff did their best to accommodate an early check in by about 9am after arriving on a 6am flight. But next time, I'll probably book a room the night before just to be safe. We really enjoy Hilton hotels in general, and found the Nordica consistent with the high standards. It's not right downtown, but I don't recommend spending more than a day in Reykjavik anyway. The city is not the attraction...it's the beautiful and splendid natural beauty of the countryside. And all the tours can easily stop at the Hilton. If you do want to go to town it's not too far to walk in good weather, or simply take their free shuttle. The Blue Lagoon bus comes to the Hilton hourly as well, which was nice. They also have a very nice spa and we enjoyed the VOX. Also the executive lounge on 8th floor was a great place for afternoon cocktails and watching the pink sunset on the snow capped mountains. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Californium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trausti K, Sales Manager at Hilton Reykjavik Nordica, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear, traveler

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel, Hilton Reykjavik Nordica.
I would also like to thank you for recommending us to other readers, we highly appreciate it. I am glad to see that you could enjoy the excellent view from the 8th floor executive lounge. It is good to know that you consider our hotel to be according to the international Hilton standards since we work very hard to accomplish that. I am glad that you tried out and liked Nordica spa and VOX restaurant.

Warm regards,
Trausti Karlsson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,649
    1,467
    343
    59
    42
See reviews for
535
1,735
244
373
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (914)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Petaluma, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

I met family in Reykjavik for a long weekend. It was a great trip. I upgraded my travel package so I could stay at the Hilton. Great restaurant, expensive. Be aware of drink prices. My experience in the south area is about $12 US per beer.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scottleepamjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trausti K, Sales Manager at Hilton Reykjavik Nordica, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear, traveler

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel, Hilton Reykjavik Nordica.
I am glad to see that you had a great trip and that you enjoyed our restaurant. Yes the beer is more expensive in Iceland than in other countries you might visit. But for your information, if you ever return to Hilton Reykjavik Nordica, we have a happy hour at the VOX bar between 5pm – 7pm so make sure to visit the VOX bar at this time of the day, for some great bargain.

Warm regards,
Trausti Karlsson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We went for this hotel because it offered some discount for us. And also this is a familiar name to us. The hotel is slightly away from the town centre, which may give some additional problem of traffic. But you can always get a taxi and it is a 2-5 minutes' drive. Given the population of Iceland, I guess there would not be any issue of traffic jam. But the hotel has some nice view, which one would not forget.

The service is more or less what would expect from a Hilton hotel. We had some light bulb problems and it was immediately fixed.

The restaurant offers good Northern cuisines. But in fact if you can also get cheap breakfast around the hotel corner.

On the whole, this has been a satisfying stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KWC2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trausti K, Sales Manager at Hilton Reykjavik Nordica, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear, traveler

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel, Hilton Reykjavik Nordica.
I am glad to hear that our staff resolved any problems you had. No we do not experience much traffic on the road to the downtown area and usually it only takes, like you mentioned, 2-5 minutes to drive to the central area. You can of course as well take the shuttle bus free of charge. I agree regarding the view, it is spectacular and something that is hard to forget. I am pleased to see that overall you enjoyed your stay at Hilton Reykjavik Nordica.

Warm regards,
Trausti Karlsson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed at the Hilton Nordica a part of a package deal with Icelandair. The rooms are nice and big for Europe. Because I have diamond status, the hotel gave us access to the executive lounge and the breakfast buffett downstairs. It is rated as the best breakfast in Reykjavik. The hotel is only a 5 minute drive to the downtown area. Parking is free and the internet is fast.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashdavflops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trausti K, Sales Manager at Hilton Reykjavik Nordica, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear, traveler

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel, Hilton Reykjavik Nordica.
I would also like to thank you for describing us as the best big hotel in Iceland, that´s really nice to hear. Hopefully you were able to enjoy the best breakfast in Reykjavik and the great view from the business lounge. Hopefully we will have the pleasure to accommodate you again in the future.

Warm regards,
Trausti Karlsson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snohomish, Washington
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We decided to upgrade to the Hilton hotel. It was great that they let us check when our flight got into Reykjavik about 0630 their time and we got to the hotel around 0730. We had vouchers for breakfasts for the next 3 mornings, but we were kind of hungry then so I asked if they might allow a voucher for that morning. No such luck. I understand they can't just give stuff away all the time, but the staff seemed very starched, unbending...very Americanized. I don't consider that a good thing. We asked about a room with a view and were met with the same response we got about the breakfast, "For an additional fee!" We wisely chose NOT to upgrade. We ended up being so busy during the days that we were only back into our rooms after dark anyway. Our room was clean and stark in the Scandinavian way, with wood floors. Nice...and the window opened which was nice as we like our room fairly cool. When it came time to check-in for our flight home, we went to the lobby where they had a computer set up just for check-ins. The printer was nearly out of ink, so I asked the staff for help. I was coldly told there was another computer around the corner. "OK" I thought. "You might want to replace the ink in the main one." The computer around the corner was an Apple which we were not familiar with, so back to the counter I went. The young man at the counter came around the corner, did a little magic trick to produce the boarding pass & went back to his station. Wonderful! We have 1 boarding pass and no idea what he just did to get it, so back to the counter I go. He's seeming pretty perturbed with me by now, but not nearly as perturbed as I was. He returned and showed told my daughter how to perform his magic trick and Shazam....we had our other pass. I would also suggest that if you order food from their restaurant, do NOT order the Chicken Caesar Salad. Worst I've ever had. But I will definitely commend them on their breakfasts. Quite a spread of Icelandic, European and American faire. I didn't eat breakfast anywhere else, but I've got to assume that this had to be at least one of the best in town.

Room Tip: I wouldn't upgrade to a better room unless you intend to spend a lot of time in it. And why wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1Pinkdiamond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

We picked the hotel as the base for our stay in Reykjavik. The location is ideal for anyone with a car with plenty of parking. Only a couple of minutes drive from the city centre. Nevertheless, The location means you'll be reliant on cabs or their shuttle bus which runs a few times per days long this busy carriageway (great service though).

Hotel service couldn't be faulted, front desk, breakfast, room services and bar all great.

Continental breakfast buffet, superb.

Cleanliness of the superior room, terrific. Mountain views are worth it!

Couple of areas I was less pleased with were the ~€15 / person to use the hot tub and steam rooms. The website (or the heavy media advertising on Icelandic Air flights is quite misleading) - like the free Gym access, one is led to believe this is all part of the deal and left me a little flat when we arrived.

Secondly, I did not expect to have to pay a rate for WiFi, this day and age, you'd expect it as part of the fair price you pay for the room, especially as other hotels in Reykjavik offer free Internet. Minor gripe - but hey they've set themselves up for business users I guess.

Otherwise, thanks for a great stay Hilton.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nobbyneb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Congleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Booked for my husband's birthday as a surprise. He emailed a few weeks before we went to ask them to connect booking to his HH Diamond status. We were thus upgraded to exec room and it was a very pleasant room (smallish bathroom) with amazing view over sea and Mount Esja. From speaking to other travellers on our trips we gathered that most Icelandic Hotels are smallish and basic, so based on that the Hilton was great. Only big negative our wake up call was forgotten and we had a very rushed breakfast on the first morning. Breakfast not the best we've ever had at a Hilton and I thought a little cold tbh. Food in exec lounge during happy hour was amazing! One young staff member seemed a little confused and unhelpful, but the girls were great. We had free access to spa which was lovely. The hot tubs and free mini massage was a real treat. Staff on reception ranged from brilliant to the one staff member not bothered in the slightest that we nearly missed a trip because of missed wake up call. About £15 taxi trip into town. All in all I would still recommend the hotel and will definitely be returning to Iceland as its probably one of the most amazing places we have ever visited.

Room Tip: Overlooking mount Esja if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duchessvdh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 52 in Reykjavik
987 reviews
Miõborg
Canopy by Hilton Reykjavik City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#6 of 52 in Reykjavik
973 reviews
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
CenterHotel Thingholt
#17 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Reykjavik Nordica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Reykjavik Nordica

Property: Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
Address: Sudurlandsbraut 2, Reykjavik 108, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Reykjavik
#2 Spa Hotel in Reykjavik
#3 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
#7 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
#8 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Reykjavik Nordica 4*
Number of rooms: 284
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Priceline, TravelUp, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hilton Reykjavik Nordica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica Hotel
Hilton International Reykjavík
Hilton Hotel Reykjavik Nordica
Reykjavík Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing