We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Reykjavik Nordica

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
Ranked #15 of 53 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Hilton for the last week of Jan 2013 and I would definitely recommend this hotel.
Front dest staff were extremely helpful, you can also use the tour desk in reception to book any trips you want to go on. Our room was lovely with an amazing mountain view and the breakfast was superb and plentiful with a fantastic choice for even the fussiest of eaters.
The courtesy coach which runs to and from the town centre was great and very reliable, however, it does not run that regularly and if you miss one the only choice is to get a cab (These are quite expensive in Iceland - we paid around £10 for a one way cab to the centre when we missed a bus one night).
You don't get free wifi in the rooms but this didn't bother me as it was available in the lobby and also in the bar downstairs. A fantastic stay!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel overlooking the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank London2013_KH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trausti K, Sales Manager at Hilton Reykjavik Nordica, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear, traveler

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel, Hilton Reykjavik Nordica.
I am very pleased to see that you recommend other readers to stay at Hilton Reykjavik Nordica, it means a lot to us. I will make sure that our front desk staff receive your kind words. I agree that the Mountain View is astonishing and you could probably get lost for hours just looking at it. I advise you, if the weather is good and you want to save some money on a taxi fare, to enjoy a 15 minute walk into the Reykjavik central area. On the way you may find a lot of shops, restaurants and other fascinating things to see and explore.

Warm regards,
Trausti Karlsson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,583
    1,411
    327
    54
    39
See reviews for
516
1,670
232
348
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (884)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

My friends and I stayed at this hotel in Jan and Feb 2013, this review is for both one night stays.
I booked 2 rooms, one for myself and my partner and another room for my two friends, also being a couple. I managed to get a really good rate for this hotel through the Airline that I work for.

First stay:
Check in was very quick, and the rooms were ready. The lobby is lovely, with free WiFi and a nice area to sit and watch the world go by. Next to the check-in area is a fridge where you can buy well-priced items for lunch. The rooms were good in size, well cleaned and with real wood flooring which gave it a local Icelandic flavour. The mattress was a king size, while we were provided with 2 single duvets (this seems to be an Icelandic tradition). The room was spotlessly clean, if a bit too hot, but the windows in the room opened, allowing fresh air to come in. I really enjoyed the high powered shower, I could have stood under that for hours!
There is a tour desk at the hotel, but we didn't use them.
As the hotel is in the business area of Reykjavik there isn't really much around there, however, the hotel does provide a shuttle bus to the centre of Reykjavik which did come in handy. Alternatively, the one-way fare by taxi is 2000 Isk (around £10).

Our second stay was also the same as the above review, the first.
Check in was quick, and we were also lucky enough to be upgraded to the next room grade up, with a lot more room!
All in all, we would definitely stay here again, and I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Reykjavik!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trausti K, Sales Manager at Hilton Reykjavik Nordica, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear, traveler

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel, Hilton Reykjavik Nordica.
I would like to thank you for recommending other readers to stay with us. It indicates that we are doing well in servicing our customers which is always our main priority. When you return to us, there are few things nearby that you must have a look at. For example within five minute walk is the Laugardalur outdoor activity park, boasting one of Reykjavik's best outdoor swimming pools, beautiful botanical gardens, amusement park and animal zoo, as well as Iceland's main sport Centre. Also, within 10-15 minute walking distance is Kringlan, the most popular shopping mall in all of Iceland. Hopefully you can make use of those nearby attractions the next time you stay with us.

Warm regards,
Trausti Karlsson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

Everything was nearly perfect about this hotel. The decor was modern. The hotel staff was resourceful. You can book your excursions at a concierge desk in the lobby. If you want to go into town, it's a quick 10 minute ride by cab or car. The breakfast buffet while a little pricey was great. The rooms were very clean and well kept. The hotel bar is right next to the lobby. At the end of a long day of sightseeing, you can hang out in the lobby, use the free wifi, and grab a drink from the bar. This is the place to stay in Reykjavik.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Edmundo209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamesport, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

Check-In to check-out was terrific! Free parking, room upgrade for a view, fantastic breakfast spread in the restaurant, helpful and cheerful staff! The hotel is not downtown and an expensive cab fare back and forth to the "city."

Room Tip: Ask for the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank skyblues115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trausti K, Sales Manager at Hilton Reykjavik Nordica, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear, traveler

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel, Hilton Reykjavik Nordica.
I would like to thank you for your kind words, much appreciated. Hopefully we will have the pleasure to accommodate you again and if so, I advise you to make use of our Shuttle bus which is free of charge and goes five times a day into the city center.

Warm regards,
Trausti Karlsson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple, Texas
Level Contributor
94 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

A good quality Hilton property. Front Desk staff were very friendly and helpful. Tour Desk staff were very helpful and arranged several of our tours. Rooms were adequate in size; well-maintained; well-cleaned; and functional. Rooms have windows that can be opened slightly, which was nice. Breakfast buffet had a wide variety of hot and cold choices; bread seemed fresh and baked on-premise. The hotel is located about a 30 minute walk from the Downtown area and that was not a problem. Shuttle service is available, but walking provided more contact with the local environment. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Our room was located on the back-side of the hotel away from the busy front street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trausti K, Sales Manager at Hilton Reykjavik Nordica, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear, traveler

It is very pleasant to see our guests describing our hotel in such a positive way. I am really glad that you would like to stay with us again and you are certainly welcome to do so. I am also glad that you took the time to walk into the Reykjavik central area. Like you mentioned it is a great way to get more direct contact with the local environment and the culture of Reykjavik City.

Warm regards,
Trausti Karlsson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

I booked a package through Icelandair to stay at this hotel, but it did not include any breakfast etc. since i heard food could be expensive in Iceland, we asked at check-in to upgrade to an executive room. This gave us full access to the executive lounge which serves breakfast, lunch and dinner and free alcohol between 6-8pm. For an extra £70 a night it was well worth it.
Our interaction with staff was mainly in this lounge and they were all lovely people who were very interested in talking to us.
The rooms were clean, though at times a bit too warm, so we had to open the window! We had a great view over Reykjavik.
Our upgrade also included access to the spa, but unfortunately we didnt find time between tours to use it, so it's worth that extra cash for that!
Situated in the business area, so very little noise but a walking distance away from downtown Reykjavik where there are shops, bars and restaurants if you want to venture out.
Tour desk in the lobby makes it easy to book sight-seeing tours and any adventures.

Room Tip: Upgrade to executive, it's better value for money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trausti K, Sales Manager at Hilton Reykjavik Nordica, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear, traveler

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel, Hilton Reykjavik Nordica.
I agree that upgrading to an executive room is well worth the money. I am glad that you enjoyed the service and the refreshments at the lounge. If you will ever return back to Hilton Reykjavik Nordica you must try out Nordica SPA, since it is a great place to relax after a busy day. I am pleased to see that you took a walk into Reykjavik central area, in my opinion it´s a great way to get to know the city a little bit better.

Warm regards,
Trausti Karlsson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

Hotel has all you would expect from a Hilton good food, clean rooms, and great staff all willing to help, my room on the 6th floor had a great view of the Mountains in the distance and also the sea.
Trip was mainly business but we also had some time for recreational activity's in the local areas so all in all a great stay

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 53 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#7 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura
Miõborg
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Reykjavik Nordica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Reykjavik Nordica

Property: Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
Address: Sudurlandsbraut 2, Reykjavik 108, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Reykjavik
#2 Spa Hotel in Reykjavik
#3 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
#7 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
#8 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Reykjavik Nordica 4*
Number of rooms: 284
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Hilton Reykjavik Nordica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica Hotel
Hilton International Reykjavík
Hilton Hotel Reykjavik Nordica
Reykjavík Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing