We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice Icelandic food experience”
Review of Matur Og Drykkur

Matur Og Drykkur
Ranked #59 of 594 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $75
Cuisines: Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: We specialize in traditional Icelandic cuisine with a modern twist. We forage wild herbs and seaweed as well as collaborate with local farmers to obtain the best ingredients. The dishes on this menu are inspired by traditional Icelandic cuisine and we are delighted to share them with you.
Reviewed May 3, 2019

good service, high quality ingredients, added cod head into the menu although it wasn't on it. Only the desert was a bit disappointing. It is recommendable to try the menu because it is so special but be prepared to eat a lot.

Date of visit: May 2019
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank Global483768
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (1,114)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

169 - 173 of 1,114 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2019 via mobile

Very good food with surprising associated tastes&flavours in such a lovely place. We had a very sweet evening. Beautiful!

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank Solène L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed April 28, 2019 via mobile

The restaurant, besides the Saga Museum, has a great atmosphere to it, with its dim lights hanging from the ceiling all around the room.
Food wise, you can see the chefs dress the plates at the counter for everyone to see, and every course was really enjoyable, surf as well as turf.
Great service as well!

Date of visit: April 2019
1  Thank gregop312
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed April 18, 2019

Right by the Saga Museum, this had a more local feel (though still typical minimal decor) and more authentic dishes (to the extent that an outsider can say.) Like most in Reyk., heavy on the seafood, though still quite a limited menu.

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RayNYC9
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed April 18, 2019

I thought Matur og Drykur would have been the highlight of the Reykjavik restaurants we ate in - it wasn't.

There was nothing wrong with the food - we ordered a la carte and had three perfectly nice courses each - but I expected more than just "nice enough food" from a Bib Gourmand restaurant, especially as this was the most expensive meal we had in Reykjavik. I really couldn't recommend eating here based on this experience.

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank EFreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travelers who viewed Matur Og Drykkur also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Matur Og Drykkur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.