We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice food and atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Vegamot

Vegamot
Ranked #62 of 462 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $50
Cuisines: American, Bar, European, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Late Night, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Vegamót is an elegant but casual restaurant. A local favorite. Happy hour every Thu-Sat 10pm-midnight! For those who love a fantastic Brunch we have something you will like.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice food and atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013

I had the reindeer burger (a christmas special) and my boyfiend had a noodle dish, both were really nice and the atmosphere was good and quiet

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank spage89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    302
    295
    83
    25
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Michelin-style cuisine in a laid back atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

The second night in a row that me and my partner dined here I actually said to him "I wish I had a pen and paper, because I would write the chefs a thank you note."

Unfortunately, I couldn't praise them in person, but I guess telling the world about its splendour is the next best thing.

Over our three day stay in Iceland we ate at the restaurant two nights, utterly bypassing all the other rather lovely looking places to eat because we knew how wonderful Vegamot is.

We expected an eatery of this standard to have a posh, bland atmosphere, but the cosy booths, twinkling fairy lights and wooden decor makes you feel utterly at ease. You don't have to worry about changing out of your thick coat and hat to eat here - it's a laid back lounge but with 5 star delicacies.

The service is warm, welcoming and delivered with a constant smile. Not only are the waitresses utterly lovely, but they deliver the food and drinks to your table in a flash. And, to again emphasise the quality of food and preparation, this is a remarkable addition. We wouldn't have minded waiting an hour for our dishes, but the fact that they come out hastily is brilliant.

Our utter compliments to not only the chef, but the staff, decor, music, and overall atmosphere of restaurant Vegamot. It will sadden us to leave your sublime cuisine.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lucy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
147 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Very cool, full of very pretty people.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

Pretty people, turns into a bar late. Lunch is nice, soups are good, but the people at this place are really pretty. Not snotty, or mean, or anything, just really pretty people, in a really nice environment. With pretty, well-crafted food.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank nobodyhomenow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
widnes
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

We came upon this restaurant by chance & how lucky we were. Went here twice & both times had wonderful meals. Very plentiful, lovely atmosphere & staff are very friendly & helpful. Well worth a visit

Helpful?
Thank caz1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good restaurant that is favored by locals”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

During our visit in Reykjavic, we ate at Vegamot twice. While it's a bit harder to spot because it's not on the main road and you don't immediately notice it's a restaurant, we first landed here after we arrived back in Reykjavic very late after a daytour. Vegamot is opened until at least 1 am, so it's perfect for a late night dinner.

During our first visit, we were seated in the back and feared to be forgotten, but the staff was friendly and we did not have to wait long for our food. Being very naïve, my fiancé ordered a "large nachos", which turned out to be more than enough to feed us both. We later learned it was usually ordered as a starter plate for a group of 4 people. The portions are really big at Vegamot, and during our second visit we noticed a lot of locals just ordered one portion and asked for two plates. Make sure you do so if you're not a big eater!

The food itself was very good. It's not typically Icelandic, but a mix of different cuisines. It was very well prepared, and very reasonably priced. We paid around 30 euros for two main courses and drinks. You get a lot of value for your money.

Keep in mind though that this is a popular place where lots of young people eat. That means: tables are close together, it's busy, there's music playing (though not loudly) and the atmosphere is very casual. If you are not looking for a quiet, romantic dinner, I would definitely recommend Vegamot.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vegamot also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Vegamot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing