We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good food and all other key factors”
Review of Vegamot

Vegamot
Ranked #68 of 464 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Vegamót is an elegant but casual restaurant. A local favorite. Happy hour every Thu-Sat 10pm-midnight! For those who love a fantastic Brunch we have something you will like.
Kristinehamn, Sweden
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very good food and all other key factors”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We came here by recommendation and had high expectations and we saw them all fullfilled.
The restaurant is on two plans and we got seated on the top floor. The atmosphere was nice and since this was a Friday evening, the place was packed.
The staff was very friendly and helpful.
Our party of 5 (3 adults, 2 kids, 14 and 10 yrs) started with an entrée "Tapas a la Vegamót" which was fabulous and a lot of food. It is made for two persons, but four easily shared the plate.
As a main course we had the lamb shank, grilled lamb tenderloins, grilled fillet mignon, grilled salmon and a child's pizza. We were overwhelmed with the amount of food and the taste.
Overall a great place!
Everything cost for about 20.000 ISK (Approx. 140 USD).

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ch00dA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    306
    300
    85
    27
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
73 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed the Chicken Satay Salad”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

The place was hopping ... we stumbled upon it. Downstairs was packed and they suggested we try upstairs. The one thing that was a bit irritating is that this is NOT a reservation place and yet there was a table for 4 empty for about 45 minutes. We did luck out and a couple got up as we were headed back downstairs so we grabbed the table.

We both ordered the Chicken Satay Salad which was truly out of this world. Totally unexpected. Prices were very reasonable ... all in all a great time!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marianne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“One of the best in Iceland”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

The menu here is great, it´s one of the few place I like going to again and again, the Louisiana chicken strips is a dish that always leaves you hungry for more, even if you´re full :)

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Haukur T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peñíscola
Level Contributor
132 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“nice food good location”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

It was a meeting of some friends and colleague that took us to this nice place a restaurannt and a bar , at this time it would have been freezing to sit out side, but we have done so at other visits. We had a prebookt for this occasion as a good ending of a weekends sports tournament. We came around nine in the evning. There was a lot to choose from the menu, and we had a starter , main and some had desserts, for my part I was realy happy with the food I was served, and I did not hear any of the others complaining. The service was good, and the evining was nice. So I can recommend this restaurant in the heart of Reykjavík.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KristjanandYr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindenfels, Germany
Level Contributor
349 reviews
224 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
“Have the courage to enter during the dinner time - night club and disco are after dinner!”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Our hotel should be attached to the restaurant but it was not actually so just around the corner.

We went there because our receptionist recommended - otherwise we would not enter as it looked from the outside more like a night club/disco... but inside you get great food.

Maybe not the typical Islandic kitchen - but even you are famiiar in all Megacities in the world: you can discover new flavours. Great composition of food. And very nice service.

And do not wonder: soups are not overpriced... just overdimensioned: more entree but starter.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HeinBloed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vegamot also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Vegamot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing