We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic and charming breakfast”
Review of Prikid

Prikid
Ranked #93 of 464 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Neighborhood: Miõborg
London, Canada
1 review
“Rustic and charming breakfast”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Prikid is the oldest cafe in Reykjavik. The rustic ambience of the place was as local as it can get. If you are expecting fast service and a sterile envirenment,,,stay at your hotel. The woman serving was very nice and the food was excellent. I have the scrambled eggs, grilled tomato, orange wedges with fresh camembert cheese slices. The oranges were the juiciest I have had in years. Everything was hot, fresh and a huge portion. The side of Skyr with granola topped it all off. Reasonable prices and a good place to meet some locals. I would make this one of my first stops when I go back next time! Highly recommended if you are looking for a local experience.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    251
    287
    92
    32
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This place is a hidden gem.Look past the interior the food is amazing!”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

This place is incredible for fast food, I had the iconic big kahoona burger and my girlfriend had a steak sandwich. Without doubt this was the best burger I ever had and my girlfriends steak sandwich was immense, the steak in it could have been served on its own! The portions are huge, both came with a sea of french fries. My only negative was we ordered milk shakes and they came out after the food however wow they was worth the wait! Total bill came to 6740 isk which was about £37 well worth it

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Large009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Prikid ain't wicked”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Bit on grubby side. Four of us arrived at about 11.30 am at about 12, there was a guy at the counter having a coffee and another table of 3 people who had ordered a breakfast. We were told there was a 30 min wait. Ou order? Burger and chips, an omelette, an order of toast and a breakfast. It arrived about an hour later. Ali our friend said her omelette was great. My burger was undercooked, but it's a burger and fries. Toast, with jam was good, the crappy plastic ham with it wasn't , pickled cucumber ? Weird. Processed cheese slice, mmmm. Why does it take so long to cook this stuff? Probably ok if your really strapped and need a warm, otherwise give it a swerve

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank steveandgayle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Cheap beer and eats.”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We wandered into this place on a saturday afternoon. Its an interesting place and full of character. I only had the waffles but they were good. The best feature was the price of the beer at around £3 a pint and its even cheaper in happy hour. The place gets very busy at night and
the clientele are young, hip and happy to chat. Well worth popping into for a cheeky half litre of Viking.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrFishwicksGlasses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Better than it looks”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

I can only describe it from outside as odd and avoidable. What you find inside is worth it. Both of us had burgers and fries, both were impressed. Eating in reykjavik can be expensive, I had a double burger fries and a coke for under £10.00, it was worth it.
When you look in it seems very small, there is lots more seating upstairs, the burgers are worth it

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank smudge196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prikid also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Prikid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing