We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun location - good food!”
Review of Prikid

Prikid
Ranked #97 of 473 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Neighborhood: Miõborg
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fun location - good food!”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Came here for breakfast around 1130am. Our table had pancakes - very filling. We asked for crispy bacon and they did a good job with it. I had scrambled eggs, which were interesting, seemed kind of like hardboiled eggs cut up, but good...also the local skyr with granola and honey - yummy! Fun to people watch out the window and staff was nice and helpful.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DonnaJ4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    254
    289
    93
    32
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“good atmosphere, unmemorable food”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We'd have called this a 4 star location if we had shown up for drinks and to listen to a band. Instead, we came here for lunch to get some cheap food so that we could be a little bit more extravagant with our dinner plans. The service was good, but I wasn't excited about either of the entrees that our table ordered (pizza and something called a 'hangover sandwich'). In looking at some of the other reviewers, it looks like we probably should have just stuck with the burger/beer/milkshake combo and we would have come out a little further ahead. This place is inexpensive (for Reykjavik) and adequate, but if you're only going to be in Reykjavik for a couple days, stick to restaurants that feature fish rather than bar food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kyle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central PA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“My favorite in Reykjavík”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I'm no gourmand, but I know what I like. I like simple. I like comfortable. I like coffee, beer, burgers and milkshakes (not necessarily in that order, but it tends to come out that way). I like comic books (no stuffy poetry books or long, brooding novels in Prikið's free reading materials). I like people-watching (the second floor dining area overlooks Skólavörðustígur's shoppers). I like a smoking section that could double as a graffiti-covered skate park. I like Prikið.

The wait-staff was helpful and real. The food was hot, properly spiced, well-portioned, and affordable (for Iceland). Other families were there, despite the fact that the place feels more like a bar than a diner or coffee shop. My family may have been humoring me by eating here twice during an eight-day stay, but I appreciate the place all the same.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PennsyltuckyEsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great spot”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

I really love this place for relaxing, grabbing coffee. Then if you stay long enough the vibe shifts over into a bar sort of place. If you go upstairs and walk around a bit youll find a spacious second floor as well as a fairly large back patio. Great place to relax and get tipsy

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hamiltongirl_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Good bar/coffee shop/diner, with hipster vibe”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

I ate here twice. Fish and chips were very good, burger was very good. You can sit at the bar or at the counter tops along the wall if you are alone. Unpretentious - part bar, part coffee shop, part diner. Reasonably priced for Reykjavik.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank STLvagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prikid also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Prikid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing