We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed about Madonna”
Review of Madonna - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Madonna
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Mixed about Madonna”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We had dinner at Madonna's one night. We ordered two appetizers with our main courses, and after waiting for awhile all the food came to the table at once. They seemed to think this was okay, even though one of the appetizers wasn't a salad, but rather a hot dish....so which do you eat first as your main dish and the appetizer cools down. The pasta with chili sauce was very spicy and the chili peppers obliterated out the rest of the dish. But they did manage to cook the pasta very well. The other dish was the seafood pasta dish and the seafood was over done. The restaurant was cozy and had lots of character though. We heard that this restaurant has good pizza from some of the local Icelanders. So as we like to support family restaurant businesses, so we'll go back (at lunch) and try their pizza.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marianne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    21
    8
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food at a fine price.”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Small but cozy. Excellent family restaurant, everyone could find something to their liking. I ordered a 3 course dinner, lobster - beef fillet - chocolate cake with wine at about $50. The dinner was lovely and I was happy with my food and the dinner experience.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Gudrunjons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A most pleasant surpise”
Reviewed June 14, 2012

What a nice surprise, just a block from our hotel. Excellent food, Excellent service at a reasonable price (6600 ISK for 3 of us eating pasta, pizza, & salmon). Yes, it's a little out of the way but in my opinion was the best restaurant on our tour of Scandinavia.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Marty H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin,Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Poor Food”
Reviewed April 27, 2012

We ate in this restaurant last week and were very disappointed with the food both quality and taste. there was an not so pleasant smell in the restaurant, which didn't help. The only positive was the staff who were friendly and welcoming

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank CJEAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iceland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A tired little italian”
Reviewed April 16, 2012

The atmosfere was good but the food only fair...my wife had some lobsterpasta which could have come out of a can....the desert however was great!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Viking900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Madonna also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing