We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Icelandic restaurant in the middle of the city”
Review of Laekjarbrekka

Laekjarbrekka
Ranked #102 of 604 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Lækjarbrekka is an Icelandic Bistro located in the heart of the city center of Reykjavík. Scandinavian cuisine is the specialty of this old historical restaurant who has been serving Icelanders since 1981. We strive to create delicious meals from locally sourced ingredients while providing first-class service. The menu includes our legendary fish and chips, Icelandic lobster soup, fresh catch of the day, mountain lamb and much more. Don't forget to ask for our bar snack taster menu if you want a real historical taste of Iceland as it includes fermented shark, dry fish and smoked lamb flakes. The house is rich of history and dates all the way back to 1834. It was originally the first bakery in Iceland with living quarters upstairs. So if you are looking for an authentic place to dine in Reykjavík then we welcome you. Small groups can also book our presidential room for max 10 persons. We also welcome large groups counting up to 100 persons in our fully equipped banquet halls.
Reviewed April 16, 2019

If you wish to be adventurous and still want a choice of some more "normal" fare this is the place for you. If sour lamb testicles and fermented shark aren't your thing they have a wide array of other treats. And the desserts are killer. Great bread, served with seaweed butter and tapenade, excellent horse fillet and fresh Icelandic seafood round out the menu.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank Eric K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,743)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

20 - 24 of 1,743 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2019

Old restored building, nice place, good and friendly service.
Icelandic platter: order one if you are 3-4 for the experience not the taste (dried cod and fermented shark)
Good fish menu.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank Eva-i-CH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2019 via mobile

After looking online for places to eat I came across this small restaurant. My partner was eager to try the more traditional Icelandic dishes so we booked here in advance (I’d recommend doing so as it gets busy around 7:30). We had the Icelandic platter to share where we tried the delicacies like minkie whale, dung smoke salmon, seaweed and smoked lamb. Even though they recommend on the menu ordering another 2-3 dishes each we only had another one each and were quite full after that. We ordered the more expensive dishes, seafood pan and pulled lamb which was fantastic! We then tried the desert, the brownie, which again was presented so well and created with such care it really was a lovely meal!

The staff are so friendly and lovely and the food is amazing ( not overall expensive compared to usual prices - but worth it for a treat out).

Date of visit: April 2019
2  Thank World-Travel-Explor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2019

Selected because of the view, location & warm interior decor, then delightfully surprised by the excellent food selection and flavors, accompanying drinks all served by delightful staff. We didn't book, but judging by the clientele, probably should have done, it was busy, really enjoyed this place, if you want a really good meal, tranquil atmosphere & a bit of refinement, try here.

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 330pierres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2019 via mobile

This quaint little house has delicious seafood as well as other tasty dishes. They have a great cocktail and wine list, and serve classic beverages like Brennivin Schnapps. The tables are fitted with a candle for a lovely ambiance and the windows are adorned with white lights for the evenings — making it a great dinner spot.

The bread appetizer is nice and pillowy, and comes with a tapenade, butter, and lovely volcanic salt. While horse isn’t widely eaten in Iceland, the Panfried Horse with mushroom purée, melt-in-your-mouth rösti potato, and port sauce is an amazing dish! But you can’t go wrong with any of their seafood dishes.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank 505gabriellez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Laekjarbrekka also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Laekjarbrekka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing