We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Icelandic dinner”
Review of Laekjarbrekka

Laekjarbrekka
Ranked #102 of 604 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Lækjarbrekka is an Icelandic Bistro located in the heart of the city center of Reykjavík. Scandinavian cuisine is the specialty of this old historical restaurant who has been serving Icelanders since 1981. We strive to create delicious meals from locally sourced ingredients while providing first-class service. The menu includes our legendary fish and chips, Icelandic lobster soup, fresh catch of the day, mountain lamb and much more. Don't forget to ask for our bar snack taster menu if you want a real historical taste of Iceland as it includes fermented shark, dry fish and smoked lamb flakes. The house is rich of history and dates all the way back to 1834. It was originally the first bakery in Iceland with living quarters upstairs. So if you are looking for an authentic place to dine in Reykjavík then we welcome you. Small groups can also book our presidential room for max 10 persons. We also welcome large groups counting up to 100 persons in our fully equipped banquet halls.
Reviewed March 12, 2019 via mobile

Very good restaurant in Reykjavík with Icelandic food. We tried as appetiser whale meet, dried fish, stinky shark (haha). For main we both took lamb (slow cooked leg and shredded lamb in a pot) and it was great.
Very nice interior and pleasant staff.

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank HannaL661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,742)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

32 - 36 of 1,743 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2019 via mobile

The fish and chips were wonderful, if extremely small and expensive. What warranted the three star review was the service, or lack thereof. I was stunned at how poor the service was here.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank doxymum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2019 via mobile

Server could not answer any questions. How much food was answered in number of pieces but she refused to tell us the size of the pieces. She finally told us to order and she would tell us if it was enough food for us. How could she possibly know? Only half of my husband's food showed up. Left broke and hungry.

Date of visit: March 2019
1  Thank 32mnykids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2019

Found this place quite by accident and thought it was a shop at first glance. Its located at the end of the main shopping streets (or what we called the main shopping street) and just before the Icelandic "punk" museum (not for us!). Its a lovely place without a doubt and genuinely friendly and helpful staff. Its a mix and match type of place (bit like Tapas but bigger portions) and the menu is fairly traditional.

We had a mixture of four dishes including amazing lamb and cod (I have a fish allergy so that was out for me) but my partner said it was simply divine. The lamb was tender and all the dishes we felt were well portioned and each exceptional in its own way. There is Whale on the menu and horse although we didn't partake but other reviews on here say its fantastic etc.

Its well worth a visit if you are in this part of town although unlike some of the reviews, I fail to understand how the bills come to £50 - £60. More like £120 plus if you include G&T's or a glass of wine. Having said that the food is truly exceptional and can thoroughly recommend giving it a go.

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Geoffrey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2019

Food was great and we had great service. Who would have thought whale could taste so good! This was a nice stop and was very welcoming!

Great for Gluten Free!

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Laekjarbrekka also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Laekjarbrekka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing