We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dream meal”
Review of Laekjarbrekka

Laekjarbrekka
Ranked #27 of 473 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: The housing Laekjarbrekka was built as a dwelling in 1834, by the influential Danish ship owner and merchant P.C Knutzon. Hel also build a bakery and a turf house in the same lot and brought the Danish baker T.D Bernhöft to Iceland to practice his trade here. Bernhöft, who was for a long time the only baker in Reykjavík, bought the houses in 1845. The Bernhöft family continued in the baking business at this location for two generations, building a retail shop onto the dwelling house in 1855. This addition is today the part of the restaurant facing the main street. The building was used as a dwelling until 1961, and a small shop was there until the time of reconstruction began in 1980. By then, the house had fallen into disrepair, and had been neglected for a long time. Its future had been uncertain until 1979, when it and several other houses in the same block were declared protected buildings. During reconstruction, every attempt was made to preserve the original appearance. It is therefore with great pleasure to invite you to dine in this beautifully restored house, which has an eventful 180-year history behind it.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“dream meal”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

One of the best meals of our lives, great portion size, intimate venue and brilliant staff gave us a perfect introduction to Reykjavik

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jill c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,436 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    860
    442
    98
    24
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bedfordshire
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A lovely meal”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Clean, warm, friendly and a lovely meal. The setting was perfect. Reasonably priced compared to some other restaurants. Highly recommended. Thank you

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Warmth in Iceland”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

We've just returned to the North Carolina Coast from Iceland. While there, we visited Laekjarbrekka Restaurant where the cozy atmosphere of the dining room and the friendliness of our waiter, Hreinn, made our hearts warm, even on that very cold and rainy afternoon! Hreinn, a.k.a., "Mr. Clean" (his name means clean) was personable, respectful and eager to answer all of our questions about the menu and the area. The restaurant was tidy and clean with beautifully set tables. The butternut squash soup was overwhelmingly tasty while we awaited our entre, plaice (fish), which was delicious! These excellent choices were suggested by this professional waiter with his great attitude regarding life! Two thumbs up, Hreinn!!!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Beautiful atmosphere and great food!”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Meals in Iceland can be quite costly. Laekjarbrekka has delicious food and the prices are very reasonable. Beautiful historic building and great views by the window. Service staff is friendly. We loved Hreinn! We will definitely come back!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank XdomenicaX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“excellent”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

We ate here on our last night in Reykjavík and wish we'd found it earlier. The food was divine, Lamb fillet with langoustine as a main course and a chocolate desert.
the service was excellent as was the atmosphere. Definitely don't miss this restaurant, it's a gem in Iceland's crown.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank e p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Laekjarbrekka also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Laekjarbrekka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing