We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Meal of a lifetime” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Laekjarbrekka

Laekjarbrekka
Ranked #29 of 455 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, European, Soups, Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: The housing Laekjarbrekka was built as a dwelling in 1834, by the influential Danish ship owner and merchant P.C Knutzon. Hel also build a bakery and a turf house in the same lot and brought the Danish baker T.D Bernhöft to Iceland to practice his trade here. Bernhöft, who was for a long time the only baker in Reykjavík, bought the houses in 1845. The Bernhöft family continued in the baking business at this location for two generations, building a retail shop onto the dwelling house in 1855. This addition is today the part of the restaurant facing the main street. The building was used as a dwelling until 1961, and a small shop was there until the time of reconstruction began in 1980. By then, the house had fallen into disrepair, and had been neglected for a long time. Its future had been uncertain until 1979, when it and several other houses in the same block were declared protected buildings. During reconstruction, every attempt was made to preserve the original appearance. It is therefore with great pleasure to invite you to dine in this beautifully restored house, which has an eventful 180-year history behind it.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Meal of a lifetime”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

I am going to sue the owners of this restaurant for taking away any future enjoyment from eating. The food was by far and away the best I have ever tasted. Starters of langoustine soup and puffin then mains of grilled lamb and horse steak. All were cooked to perfection and served with the utmost care and friendliness. Worth every last krone

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ZorabJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,366 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    808
    429
    95
    22
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic Icelandic Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

We came here because we wanted to try some traditional Icelandic dishes, and we were not disappointed! The food was delicious (I highly recommend the minke whale), the atmosphere friendly and the service faultless. Our waiter was charming and the whole experience was first class.

By Icelandic standards, even the price was reasonable. We'd definitely eat here again!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Benjamin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
171 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Very clean good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

First time to the area with so many choices it hard to make a decision with eight people. We decided on this place, good choice. We were a party of 8 they gave us our own room on the second floor. All the meals were fresh and fabulous.
You will not be disappointed trying this location.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lxrxaxcx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
309 reviews
210 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“A great place to stumble upon!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

As we were unable to book a table at our first choice of restaurant on a busy Friday evening, we decided to book a table here (through the very helpful Mr Clean). The Laekjarbrekka was just around the corner from our hotel and offered a great choice of dishes to provide a taste of Icelandic cuisine. The mixed starters were excellent and I opted for the set menu of the soup followed by the delicious artic char.Very generous portions of excellent quality food, thankyou!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WalkwiththeDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
153 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
“Food is very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

We came by here on our first day in iceland and the food didnt disappoint. we had fish and it was very good, service was great, atmosphere was romantic, price was reasonable by icelandic standards and it was very good. the restaurant is at the end of the street. try the catch of the day, seafood here is absolutely brilliant! the do sell fermented shark and mink whale as well, we didnt take them as conscience was pricking us.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank volvoc70m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Laekjarbrekka also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Laekjarbrekka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing