We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Laekjarbrekka

Laekjarbrekka
Ranked #31 of 454 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, European, Soups, Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: The housing Laekjarbrekka was built as a dwelling in 1834, by the influential Danish ship owner and merchant P.C Knutzon. Hel also build a bakery and a turf house in the same lot and brought the Danish baker T.D Bernhöft to Iceland to practice his trade here. Bernhöft, who was for a long time the only baker in Reykjavík, bought the houses in 1845. The Bernhöft family continued in the baking business at this location for two generations, building a retail shop onto the dwelling house in 1855. This addition is today the part of the restaurant facing the main street. The building was used as a dwelling until 1961, and a small shop was there until the time of reconstruction began in 1980. By then, the house had fallen into disrepair, and had been neglected for a long time. Its future had been uncertain until 1979, when it and several other houses in the same block were declared protected buildings. During reconstruction, every attempt was made to preserve the original appearance. It is therefore with great pleasure to invite you to dine in this beautifully restored house, which has an eventful 180-year history behind it.
Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

For our first day in Iceland and before a long hike in the wild nature, we had a great moment in this restaurant. Service is perfect and the food was delicious ! We tried the "a taste of everything" for the entries (with whale, puffin and even fermented shark !!) and the gustative discovery was a succes. Then the lamb for one part and the duo of fishes for the other (that we shared of course) were both excellent !

Even had some talking about hiking at the end with the waiter and some advices !

Great adress if you enjoy good food and want to taste real icelandic meals !

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank Guillaume D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,360 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    802
    429
    95
    22
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rome
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Hreinm is the man!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

We had a fantastic Icelandic soup here for lunch and we even got the recipe! It's a costly place ad for this reason we chose just the soup. Nonetheless it was delicious! The best part of it all was our waiter, Hreinn! He was so friendly and gave is great advice on where to go next! Hreinn, hope to see you soon in Rome so we can return the favour!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Louise K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
155 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Not quite as good as it thinks it is.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

We had our last dinner in Iceland here. We tend to eat early, so we had no trouble getting a table on a weeknight. But if you want to eat later than 6:30, make a reservation. We were in the room near to the entry, so we heard the maître d' turn people away. We couldn't hear the recommendations he gave, but he wished several couples "good luck" in a rather condescending way. The funny thing was, there was a table for 2 in our room that was empty the entire time we were there.

The restaurant is in one of the oldest houses in Reykjavik, so the seating is in different rooms, rather than in one large area. This makes the atmosphere quite charming. Despite the "midnight sun" of July, they had candles on the tables.

We both had plaice. It was very good, but it was served with "orange butter mousse." Orange and fish struck me as an odd combination--why not lemon, which complements fish better? And it was sweet, almost like a dessert, but the consistency felt too much like butter to really eat much of it. We couldn't eat it as a sauce on the fish, as it would completely overwhelm the fish. The fish was definitely fresh, with a nice delicate flavor. It didn't need any sauce.

We had local beer, a wonderful pale ale, brewed in Reykjavik. It was a good choice, which we made pretty much blind because the waiter didn't really know how to explain beer. (We ran into this a couple of times in Iceland. They brew GREAT beer in Iceland, but waiters don't know how to describe the different types) I guess more people order wine in this restaurant.

Dessert was good. We split a chocolate sampler. And they get points for serving coffee and tea in little individual pots.

Overall, a good dinner, but not the best of the trip.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathy49NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Had a great meal here. The service was great and our waiter explained the food well. I had Artic char which was delicious

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank massiebm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing - Delicious - Memorable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

It was a last minute find and probably the best meal I've ever had. We were a group of 6 young professional women and looking for a good meal to warm us up. The host welcomed us with a big smile and seated in the Presidential suite/room. The ambiance was perfect with the lighting and music. (It started to snow outside which helped). We started dried fish, whale, puffin, shark, then enjoyed lamb, langoustine, scallops, shrimp and everything was paired perfectly with wines and aperitifs. Dessert was exceptional.

The service was unparalleled. I felt welcomed and cared for as a customer. The staff at Laekjarbrekka is so kind, knowledgeable,and attentive. All 6 of us hold this restaurant in the highest echelon. On point.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank xapifafa9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Laekjarbrekka also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Laekjarbrekka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing