We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great seafoood.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurant Reykjavik

Restaurant Reykjavik
Ranked #96 of 454 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, European, Soups, Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Located in the heart of Reykjavík. Restaurant Reykjavík is famous for it`s fresh Seafood Buffet, and beautiful historical house. The house, which was built in 1870 and has had many uses through the years. Now one of the biggest and finest restaurants in Iceland.
South Coast Brit
Level Contributor
67 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great seafoood.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

The main attraction is the self serve buffet. Really tasty soup, but don`t have too much of this or it will spoil you appetite for a delicious cold seafood selection- salmon, whale, shrimps, herring etc, all done in several different ways.
Then on to the hot food - also all good - but it was the cold buffet that I found the best. Not cheap - no where in Iceland is - but good value and the cheapest wine- a sauvingnon blanc was excellent.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank SouthCoastBritRachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    263
    216
    74
    36
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food, great staff, really nice!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

Such a warm welcome, nice surroundings & a buffet to die for. We tried various fish dishes for the first time, including smoked whale. Wonderful selection, all being refreshed but a menu too if you didn't fact the buffet (not sure why you wouldn't). Oh & probably the best lamb I've ever had. For the money it was just excellent. Highly recommended. Lee & Laura from Essex.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Leebeemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

This restaurant is really good if you like seafood, which I do. All you can eat for about £30. I had two nephews with me who can eat a horse between two bread vans and they were in heaven. The location is perfect, the staff excellent, the food variety and quality excellent. All in all, this is a value proposition that cannot be beaten.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank stephenmanuel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best Lobster Bisque ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

My husband and I both enjoyed our meals at this restaurant. Service was quick, friendly and very nice. The manager was extremely pleasant and even gave me a free dessert! My husband said the buffet was extremely good and varied - he loved all the cold starters, hot starters, soup, mussels, lobster etc.... I had the best lobster bisque I have ever eaten here! Also had the sesame crusted salmon which was fabulous! Atmosphere was upscale casual and cozy. I would love to go back again!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank EuropeanTraveler45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Tasty buffet with reasonable price around 30 pounds ;D”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

I spent 7 nights in Reykjavik, but I spent 2 nights on this restaurant. Its because I love the tasty and fresh seafood very much. I love the lobsters the most, you can't miss it. It had many kinds of seafood to choose such as mussels, fish, lobster and kinds of dessert while I love the banana ice-cream the most. ;D

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BillyLCF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Reykjavik also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Restaurant Reykjavik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing