We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Lobster”
Review of Humarhusid - CLOSED

Humarhusid
Price range: $15 - $45
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Description: The Lobster House, located on Amtmannsstígur 1, has been operated since 1993.In that time The Lobster House has made a reputation for itself as one of the country’s most popular restaurants. The restaurant is located in the heart of the capital and is known for its comfortable and romantic atmosphere. The house was built in 1838 and its original look has been preserved, which provides the restaurant with its distinctive character.As the name indicates, lobster dishes are the restaurant’s hallmark (trademark). In spite of that The Lobster House’s menu is quite diverse and guests can choose between a range of seafood, vegetarian and meat courses.The Lobster House’s wine menu is equally diverse, offering a selection of wines from regions across the globe.
Washington,Dc
Level 6 Contributor
251 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Outstanding Lobster”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We had been in Reykjavik for two days and I was extremely eager to come here and sample the lobster. LOcated in a wonderful old home with painting mounted on the ceilings. The tables are somewhat close together but not to bad. Others have described it as quaint. The Icelandic lobster was absolutely delicious! The homemade bread/roll was very good. WE had a great meal all dishes and are so glad that we went. Would like to try it again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mrdesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

313 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    85
    28
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pine Knoll Shores, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Intimate place with marvelous food”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

The house is quaint and the food is over the top. Food is fresh & well prepared with top notch service. Go up to the attic for a drink before dinner, you won't regret the drink or the dinner!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Franco M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

A bit hard to find but it does face the main road - it is up a bit of a tiny hill so you just have to look for it.
I suggest reservations. I was able to get in without one but I was fairly early. The meal was wonderful. There was wonderful homemade bread. I had the lobster bisque which was very good followed by the cod dinner. Fairly expensive but a worthwhile treat.

Just an interesting observation - apparently Icelanders are not used to women eating on their own - or anyone eating on their own (not sure). For the 6 days I was in Iceland I was always the source of interest whenever I was eating in a restaurant. People openly stared. Not offensive or hostile - I think just curious.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janspar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Awesome Lobster!”
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

The little lobster tails are awesome! Lots of butter but delicious. A little pricey but nice quaint atmosphere. Would definitely go back.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jimking2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Flavors... I never experienced before... Phenomenal food!!!”
Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

I have never experienced so many flavors in a bite. The salad was a mixture of so many flavors, i moaned all the way through it :-) my husband finally had to order one too!
Then I had pork loins and they just cut with a fork. My husband had lobster, plenty of lobster.
Desert for me was vanilla ice cream with blue berries and a warm black licorice sauce.... I thought hmmmmm but it was so great together... I was ready to lick the plate! It was so marvelous!!! I would go back and for sure tell people about this restaurant!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sitkasky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Humarhusid also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing