We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3.5 - 4 stars. Good food; friendly service.”
Review of Humarhusid - CLOSED

Humarhusid
Price range: $15 - $45
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Lobster House, located on Amtmannsstígur 1, has been operated since 1993.In that time The Lobster House has made a reputation for itself as one of the country’s most popular restaurants. The restaurant is located in the heart of the capital and is known for its comfortable and romantic atmosphere. The house was built in 1838 and its original look has been preserved, which provides the restaurant with its distinctive character.As the name indicates, lobster dishes are the restaurant’s hallmark (trademark). In spite of that The Lobster House’s menu is quite diverse and guests can choose between a range of seafood, vegetarian and meat courses.The Lobster House’s wine menu is equally diverse, offering a selection of wines from regions across the globe.
USA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“3.5 - 4 stars. Good food; friendly service.”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Came in for my last dinner of my trip, which also happened to be Easter Sunday. I had no reservation, but the hostess was able to seat me right away, anyway. The food and vibe are very traditional. I enjoyed my meal - lobster soup and the tenderloin of lamb and lobster. The service was very friendly and helpful. I liked the decor, which was very sea/ocean-themed. I would probably have gone for the prix fixe (a very good value with four courses) if it had included the lamb/lobster dish. However, as it didn't, I chose to go a la carte. Like all the food in Iceland, it's pricey, but it's a nice place with a good and traditional feel to it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank odderie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

312 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    85
    28
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
68 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great for a special occasion and second to none for fresh lobster.”
Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

We went to this place in our last night in Reykjavik as we wanted to try some Höfn lobster after hearing they are some if the best in the world. We arrived at 10:05 with service due to finish 10pm. The staff were happy to accommodate us, ever if we wernt exactly dressed up to the same standards as the places usual clientele.

This meal was a real treat! We have a cosy private dining room with and amazing lighting fixture made of forks and spoons. There is only wine on the menu, but I think in restaurants of this standard this is to be considered the norm.

The one criticism I would have is that our table was right beside the kitchen, which was a bit noisey and we had the occasional staff member glancing in at us.

All in all I would give this place a 4.5. Just because I prefer a more casual atmosphere.
But, for what it is, the Lobster House is top class!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TonyToaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent food, check your bill”
Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Went early (1730), probably need to book if you eat later. 4 course meal, excellent flavours, if fast food is your thing, don't come here.
Crayfish, monkfish, ice cream with liquorice sauce, all beautiful! When the bill came, added quite a bit for a bottle of wine we didn't order. Challenged the bill, which was corrected. Readers should note that this is the 3rd time this week that the invoice has been wrong (not in our favour!) so I recommend that you CHECK YOUR BILL. Maybe not a coincidence.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Hobnob13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“1st class traditional restaurant”
Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

Really enjoyed our meal here. Excellent ambience, service, and the seafood was prepared perfectly, as was the lobster soup. Simply first class

Helpful?
1 Thank simon w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estes Park, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb lobster and lamb”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Chose this place because I wanted good, simply prepared lobster. It was tender and sweet, and grilled perfectly. My friend's lamb was equally delicious.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 711KatC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Humarhusid also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing