We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and delicious stop for coffee and dessert”
Review of Hornid

Hornid
Ranked #163 of 597 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Háaleiti
Reviewed June 5, 2019

We stopped here because we were dying for a coffee. We had cappuccinos and the blueberry skyr panna cotta. The dessert turned out to be a bit expensive - it was our first day in Reykjavik and I didn’t yet have a feel for the currency before I ordered it, but it was amazing and the same dessert probably would not have been much cheaper on an American menu. We ended up ordering a second cappuccino because they were so good. We enjoyed a few moments in this charming spot.

Date of visit: June 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank erinrenfroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (465)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 466 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2019 via mobile

Bad service, bad sea food and bad wine. Everything is bad quality. In addition, the prices are high.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank gislel_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2019 via mobile

Sorry, we succumbed to convenience and found this venue lacking.

We didn’t have a booking for dinner but there was ample space in a well appointed back room.

The decor of the room was pleasing with various modern paintings by a local artist.

The menu was large and focused on Pizza and Pasta, with a range of salads and anti pasta in support.

The beverage list is limited, but after selecting 3 of the total 4 white wine bottles on the menu, by order of our choice, only to be told that they had sold out- we resorted to another poor choice in the house white wine carafe.

We were told that we were saving money!

Our choice of meals were the mixed salad to share as a starter. However we both had to eat from the same bowl and without any condiments, or separate plates.

The main choices were the lasagna, which was very hot and overcooked, and the spicy penne prosciutto and fungi, which was not like anything of the same family I can recall. There was supporting garlic bread on the side.

Besides the salad, much of the mains were left uneaten.

Our wait person, who seemed initially uneasy in not being able to fulfil our beverage requests from the menu was attentive and helpful. Thank you.

Overall, a disappointment given other trip advisor reviews. Not recommended and walk further.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank 47ront
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2019

My favorite eatingplace in Reykjavik. Has been a "must visit" everytime I am in town - since 1991. Love the relaxing atmosphere and the great food.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Strikker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2019

Great dinner at a great local pizza restaurant. Food was inexpensive and good. One of our least expensive meals in Reykjavik.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank boymom123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hornid also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Hornid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing