We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Italian cafe”
Review of Hornid

Hornid
Ranked #119 of 464 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Háaleiti
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
132 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Nice Italian cafe”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Went here for a whim for dinner on our second night here and found it to be pretty good. It's a charming little cafe with a small front room and kitchen upstairs. The service wasn't that great as it took some time for them to even notice we had arrived, but not enough to really complain about.

I had the fish of the day, which I was told was Halibut but found out later was actually sea Trout (which was fine too) on a bed of vegetables and some potatoes on the side. The fish was tasty, and the vegetables were...well, they were just vegetables. I don't know what they did to the potatoes, but they tasted amazing. My partner had a pepperoni pizza, which looked good and tasted good as well.

Had the chocolate cake and ice cream, as well as the skyr panna cotta with berries for dessert. They were both just all right, nothing special.

Not the cheapest meal (a common theme here in Reykjavik), cost around $50 total.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shrubbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    173
    45
    19
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberystwyth, Wales, UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Had the seafood soup to start, which was like a rich bisque with dill and whipped cream - plenty of prawns mussels and scallops in it, too.

Bread was fresh backed and lovely.

Pizzas were amazing - thin crisp stone-baked bases made in front of you.

Service was friendly and quick. We were in between dining times and it was great that they were open and offering a full menu.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank patmoffett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
71 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Affordable Italian Comfort Food”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

My friend and I were in the mood for pasta so we came to Hornid. There were quite a few pizzas that looked really tempting - especially because we were seated next to the pizza chef and watched him prepare a couple. We ended up getting garlic bread with cheese and 2 different pasta dishes. One - spaghetti carbonara (LOTS of bacon, very creamy and filling) and a salmon with leeks/penne dish (my friend said it was delicious). I wished I had not ordered the garlic bread with cheese and each order of pasta already came with garlic bread. The place was full but we were able to snag one of the last tables. Very cozy and I would definitely go back to try that pizza!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jesuisbeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice pizza place”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Went there for lunch with the family, but have been here several times before over the years. For decades this has been a great place to go for pizza, and they have maintained good food and a friendly staff. They have good fish here as well, for those who prefer that.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ThoS_74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
79 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“French Decor?”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

I had the daily special - halibut with soup. The soup was great - it seems all soups in Iceland are wonderful. The halibut was in a very heavy sauce, served in a cast iron pan. It was good, but very heavy. It's the kind of place you can sit in all day if you'd like, they don't care.

The food was good, but ask about how it's made or you might end up with a heavy presentation.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank KBtheFirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hornid also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Hornid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing