We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, good food”
Review of Brasserie Askur

Brasserie Askur
Ranked #77 of 464 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Buffet, Reservations
Neighborhood: Háaleiti
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good value, good food”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

We found this restaurant on a cold snowy evening in February - not much to look at from the outside but it was warm and welcoming inside. The decor is heavy on dark wood and warm lighting, nothing fancy but has the feel of an old fashioned pub. The menu is not extensive but has enough variety that we went there twice without duplication or hesitation. You won't find fermented lamb or shark on the menu but it's much more suited to English/European tastes. Another group of English people we met in there also went back twice. Most of the entrees include the salad and soup bars - you get both and they are good - plus you get to cut off as much bread as you want from a selection of loaves. The food is tasty and plentiful - we had both fish and meat dishes and really enjoyed them. Price wise this is a bargain for Reyjavik - about £40-45 (inc drinks but not dessert - we were too full!). This restaurant is not in the city centre but it is near the Grand, Reykjavik Lights and Hilton Nordica hotels. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jan d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    210
    67
    11
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grosse Pointe, Michigan
Level Contributor
88 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Very Busy”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

For some reason we walked right by this restaurant. Finally found it and was it ever packed. We had a little wait, but were finally seated and had great service. The food is very good and so are the prices. It was recommended by our tour leader and was a nice experience.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank neverhome482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
2,770 reviews
276 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2,240 helpful votes
“Average, at best.”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

We were pretty disappointed from this restaurant.
It was recommended to us by our hotel nearby, and we were hoping to have a great dinner for our final night in Reykjavik.
Unfortunately, most of all the dishes (salad buffet, fish, pasta, and steak) were very average (at best) and were sort of tasteless.
The restaurant itself (which is located a good 15 minute drive from downtown Reykjavik) was packed with people and the noise level was pretty high.
All in all, nothing to write home about... .

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TheShis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great food here!”
Reviewed May 2, 2014

It was busy but not overcrowded . Salads and soups come free with some mains. As a vegetarian I was worried I might not have anything other than salad ....but there were quite a few options ( I can recommend the vegetarian fajitas which were delicious!!) The staff were efficient and the service swift . The cost was very good too. We ate here twice during our trip and will definitely go back here again when next in that area!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa,Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“omg, we loved this place.”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Of course we discovered this place on our last night there. OMG, the place was packed. The food amazing. and the desserts to die for ! We complimented the manager on her well established place. Guess we took her by surprise with our compliments. Well the place is just a 30 second walk from the Hilton Nordica hotel. Must go there again !!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank CAROL-WIFF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brasserie Askur also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Brasserie Askur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing