We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a steak house”
Review of Brasserie Askur

Brasserie Askur
Ranked #75 of 486 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Buffet, Reservations
Neighborhood: Háaleiti
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not a steak house”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We eat here on three occasions (mostly due to its closeness to the Hilton - a 2 minute walk left out of the hotel). First night was a Sunday so went for the steak buffet, with no steak in sight. There was lamb, turkey, pork and beef with all the sides of a roast dinner, which was nice but not what was expected. Much preferred the burgers we had on subsequent nights. Very filing and good for the money especially before a trip into the dark and clod for the Northern lights

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarahx_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    192
    219
    68
    11
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bordon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice food and pleasant atmosphere”
Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed a nice, freshly cooked meal here. There were plenty of staff on, lots of choices and large portions! Good to find a decent place to eat that was slightly out of town as we are staying at reykjavik lights hotel

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank NickyCole2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Who are you trying to cod?”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Firstly, you should know that there are a plethora of other options available on this street, may I suggest you try either of the two hotel's restaurants first especially as you can probably just walk in without reservation.

We decided to take a break from convenience and normalcy by venturing out of our hotel to visit this establishment. We were quickly ushered to our seats conveniently located right next to the till so we could easily gain knowledge of all the various orders being placed and also were easy targets for people to bump into us.

The food in a word was terrible. I cannot recommend anything on it.

We had the "fish" of the day (Cod?) and the pan fried chicken. Both had the texture and look of the a child's toy. Needless to say taste of both would not normally be associated with either.

Needless to say we happily asked for the bill and gave exact change. Overall €45 for two main courses does not cut the mustard.

TIP: AVOID AT ALL COSTS

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MaidenLegOver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Buffett was nice”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Buffet was nice. My friend and I shared an app and an entrée and it was plenty. Open til 10 so was convienent.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank sociallisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Workington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Cheap and tasty”
Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

I'm not going to lie and say that this was the best food we ate while we were in Reykavik, it wasn't! But, it was tasty, it was nice and it was also a good price. We were staying at the Hilton so handy for those staying there.

Helpful?
Thank MrsWilkinsonCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brasserie Askur also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Brasserie Askur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing