We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Insanely large portions !!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brasserie Askur

Brasserie Askur
Ranked #68 of 454 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: European, Soups, Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Háaleiti
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Insanely large portions !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

Really love this place and we've been several times.

Easy parking, friendly staff (menus in Icelandic, English and German) and above all insanely large portions !! I've not had as big a meal anywhere else in Iceland !!

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JPWhelan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    195
    63
    11
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
iceland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Terrible service with bloody chicken”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Went for a lunch buffet. Pretty expensive IMO considering the quality. Poor lasagne but the lamb was ok. The worst thing was the chicken. Decided to have one deep fried chicken bit. When cutting in the bit the blood came running down. My friends thought I was joking when I told them but they were very surprised to see the blood running down to my plate. I asked the waiter to please remove the bloody chicken. He obliged but to my surprise he didn't even apologize. The same waiter then charged me the full price. To say the least I will not be returning to this awful place and would not recommended it to anybody.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hundurinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
69 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Group Dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

Nice place for a group dinner. Food is ok, not something so amazing but is good. They serve a buffet salad and also a typical buffet soup. The great thing in all Iceland restaurants is the bread, you can eat home make bread with your meal. I went 3 days to have dinner at this restaurant and I enjoyed it, in my next visit I will eat at this place again.

Helpful?
Thank Ticha34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not great - go downtown...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Went on the strength of a friend saying this was great food at a reasonable price but the food was basic at best, the cheese that came with my burger was out of a squeezy bottle! And it didn't seem any cheaper than places down town with more character and better food. Treat yourself to something nicer, you're on holiday!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank TrudiRudiPixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent food and value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed at the Hilton Nordica which is just a block away. We ate a la carte one evening and the next time it was a Sunday so we had the buffet which is excellent value. Roast beef, por, lamb, turkey, ling cod, ocean perch soup, bread and salad bar, dessert and an array of pickled fish plus the best smoked salmon I have ever eaten with dark rye bread. Service was good. Remember both taxes and tip are included in the price.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Beeslegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brasserie Askur also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Brasserie Askur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing