We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Vegetarian Restaurant in Iceland”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of A naestu grosum - CLOSED

A naestu grosum
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Seating
Neighborhood: Miõborg
Pontypool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Vegetarian Restaurant in Iceland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2011

A lovely, relaxed atmosphere. A really helpful guy there took us through the options and the food was tasty and healthy - a nice break from the meat and fish dominated restaurants.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Buff_and_Drew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    16
    10
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Tasty, healthy, filling and a cheerful setting and staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2011

This is a lovely place to get a filling vegetarian meal for an affordable price. The daily special is a good bet, and the staff offer good advice to pick the right meal for your tastes. An endless supply of sweet Icelandic rye bread comes with every meal - a nice touch. The restaurant's space is cheerfully decorated, as well: light and welcoming. The frills are few, but the value is high.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank songfta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good vegetarian fare”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2011

I ate here quite a few times, as it was close to my apartment. The food was good and I loved the organic red wine. The view from the window also made me happy, on a few rainy nights.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RobinLCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice vegetarian restaurant. Great dessert!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

The restaurant provides good vegetarian fare. The service is cafeteria style. Nothing
fancy. But it felt really good to walk into a place and not have to worry about making
sure the soup was not made with meat based broth and such.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hermetian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Taking advantage of vegetarians”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2011

I can't understand how a vegetarian restaurant can serve food that is inedible. They seem to not know the most basic techniques for cooking vegetables. The rice was full of hard pieces. The shredded carrot ball thing was full of hard pieces, perhaps walnut shells?! The chick peas had hard dark brown peas, the ones you are supposed to take out and throw away before cooking, not to mention several stones! The dish I got was the "special" of the day. It cost around $15. After nearly busting a tooth and spitting a mouthful into my napkin, I picked around the minefield of the plate trying to eat the edible parts but I kept discovering more hard bits and had to give up. It's truly shameful.

I gave the place a "poor" rating rather than "terrible" because the bread was good.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dany_nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A naestu grosum also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing