We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 6:00 AM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Basecamp Iceland
from $189.19
More Info
from $63.00
More Info
Reviews (322)
Filter reviews
322 results
Traveler rating
314
6
1
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
314
6
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lava tube caving northern lights range rover small group private tour these guys an adventure off road his knowledge an incredible experience camera settings icelandic culture excellent tour take photos south coast golden circle cave
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
111 - 116 of 322 reviews
Reviewed February 21, 2017 via mobile

SOOOOOO glad I booked with this company for the northern lights hunt. It completed and made my ENTIRE trip. They were very nice and hunted until something was found if the group is eager. There were other groups that went out that we spoke to that had not seen lights that same night. They are very knowledgeable and know what to look for, you can tell they have been doing this a while. Eric was my tour guide's name. There was another car they team up with so resources are combined, they both made it a very comfortable, private and easy going experience. The greatest bonus is they bring hot coco with rum for everyone and a homeland treat for to indulge in, which I thought was a nice touch. They also take pictures with their diesel camera for you and send them to you for free!! Truly unforgettable experience...do not go with another company...seriously.

Date of experience: February 2017
1  Thank michtravel800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2017 via mobile

Fantastic company! Eric and the staff were wonderful. We went in a range Rover with another couple, so a totally of 4 people followed by another range Rover with the same. It was so personal and exciting to hunt through the mountains. I saw hundreds of people getting on huge tour busses for their hunt, but not us. We had the opportunity to drive anywhere and we did just that. We drove everywhere until we found them. Absolutely beautiful lights and they even take all kinds of pictures for you to have for a lifetime. Definitely book with Basecamp.

Date of experience: February 2017
1  Thank Maha567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2017 via mobile

We took a trip with Basecamp to the lava tubes. In full disclosure, we had done a large bus tour with Reykjavik Excursions the day before and were totally turned off by the large scale cattle herding that took place. Totally impersonal, difficult to really spend any time at any one location, and stuck with people who had no respect for anyone else's time.

That being said, Basecamp Iceland offered what was the total opposite experience. We were thrilled with the level of service and attention to detail. Our guide picked us up at our hotel in a very comfortable SUV. We were explained thoroughly what our day would be like....and it was delivered as promised.

I highly recommend you steer away from the large bus tours that seem like a tremendous deal advertising 11 hours of touring....because 8.5 of those hours will be spent in the bus or waiting for those who have no respect for your time to leave.

Basecamp is a wonderful alternative. Not only did we get to take our time and never feel rushed....we also always felt very safe and in the hands of a professional who knew what he was talking about.

This tour can get a little physical as some of the passages are low and right, but as a big guy I would say that it really isn't a huge concern. The cave sights are excellent and the guides knowledge was extensive.

Date of experience: February 2017
2  Thank Climber515674
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2017

This small group trip gave everyone personal attention as we travelled into the lava fields where we saw the results of thousands of years of volcanic activity and learned about the making of Iceland. Dofri, our guide was very knowledgeable and continues to learn more about the subject himself, to be able to teach in a way that is easily understood.
We saw beautiful mosses, some hundred of years old, hot springs, waterfalls and heard stories of the trolls at the beach. Enjoyed our hot chocolate with a little something special with our treats. Thanks for sharing with us, Dofri!

Date of experience: February 2017
Thank zeldamark52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2017 via mobile

Had a great time taking the lava cave tour. Never caught the guides name but he was very informative and knowledgeable of the lava cave. Very professional and provided a better personal feel to the tour compared to the large bus companies.

Date of experience: February 2017
1  Thank Roam557556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews