We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Leidarendi Lava Tube Caves”
Review of Basecamp Iceland

Basecamp Iceland
Ranked #40 of 381 Tours in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: At Basecamp Iceland we take pride in providing the best private tour experience. Take the time to get that perfect picture, make new friends and enjoy the beautiful nature. All with minimal impact on the environment. We find it more fun that way, both for us and our guests.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Reviewed February 26, 2017

Our best tour of our trip! Our group did both large tour groups and small. Personalized trips are the way to go. We had Eric - most amazing tour guide - who was knowledgeable about the cave and answered our many questions. He was fun and interacted with our group which is a nice change from our previous large tours. The caves were different from any others that I have visited before (Bermuda, Texas, etc). It was fascinating to see how they developed from the eruption approximately 2,000 years ago. Already I am planning to go back to Iceland to see the rest of the country that I missed due to extreme winter weather. I plan on skipping the large tour buses and staying with the small groups. It is worth the money and is a better experience.

Date of experience: February 2017
1  Thank FosterIzzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (287)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"lava tube caving"
in 23 reviews
"hot chocolate"
in 44 reviews
"land rover"
in 18 reviews
"northern lights"
in 36 reviews
"small group"
in 20 reviews
"physical activity"
in 3 reviews
"range rover"
in 3 reviews
"hands and knees"
in 3 reviews
"lava fields"
in 15 reviews
"exciting tour"
in 3 reviews
"folk tales"
in 4 reviews
"private tour"
in 12 reviews
"safety briefing"
in 3 reviews
"volcano house"
in 7 reviews
"experienced guide"
in 3 reviews
"these guys"
in 9 reviews
"unforgettable experience"
in 5 reviews
Filter

77 - 81 of 287 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2017 via mobile

SOOOOOO glad I booked with this company for the northern lights hunt. It completed and made my ENTIRE trip. They were very nice and hunted until something was found if the group is eager. There were other groups that went out that we spoke to that had not seen lights that same night. They are very knowledgeable and know what to look for, you can tell they have been doing this a while. Eric was my tour guide's name. There was another car they team up with so resources are combined, they both made it a very comfortable, private and easy going experience. The greatest bonus is they bring hot coco with rum for everyone and a homeland treat for to indulge in, which I thought was a nice touch. They also take pictures with their diesel camera for you and send them to you for free!! Truly unforgettable experience...do not go with another company...seriously.

Date of experience: February 2017
1  Thank michtravel800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2017 via mobile

Fantastic company! Eric and the staff were wonderful. We went in a range Rover with another couple, so a totally of 4 people followed by another range Rover with the same. It was so personal and exciting to hunt through the mountains. I saw hundreds of people getting on huge tour busses for their hunt, but not us. We had the opportunity to drive anywhere and we did just that. We drove everywhere until we found them. Absolutely beautiful lights and they even take all kinds of pictures for you to have for a lifetime. Definitely book with Basecamp.

Date of experience: February 2017
1  Thank Maha567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2017 via mobile

We took a trip with Basecamp to the lava tubes. In full disclosure, we had done a large bus tour with Reykjavik Excursions the day before and were totally turned off by the large scale cattle herding that took place. Totally impersonal, difficult to really spend any time at any one location, and stuck with people who had no respect for anyone else's time.

That being said, Basecamp Iceland offered what was the total opposite experience. We were thrilled with the level of service and attention to detail. Our guide picked us up at our hotel in a very comfortable SUV. We were explained thoroughly what our day would be like....and it was delivered as promised.

I highly recommend you steer away from the large bus tours that seem like a tremendous deal advertising 11 hours of touring....because 8.5 of those hours will be spent in the bus or waiting for those who have no respect for your time to leave.

Basecamp is a wonderful alternative. Not only did we get to take our time and never feel rushed....we also always felt very safe and in the hands of a professional who knew what he was talking about.

This tour can get a little physical as some of the passages are low and right, but as a big guy I would say that it really isn't a huge concern. The cave sights are excellent and the guides knowledge was extensive.

Date of experience: February 2017
1  Thank Climber515674
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed February 14, 2017

This small group trip gave everyone personal attention as we travelled into the lava fields where we saw the results of thousands of years of volcanic activity and learned about the making of Iceland. Dofri, our guide was very knowledgeable and continues to learn more about the subject himself, to be able to teach in a way that is easily understood.
We saw beautiful mosses, some hundred of years old, hot springs, waterfalls and heard stories of the trolls at the beach. Enjoyed our hot chocolate with a little something special with our treats. Thanks for sharing with us, Dofri!

Date of experience: February 2017
Thank zeldamark52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basecamp Iceland also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Basecamp Iceland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing