We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bar you have to visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Kaffibarinn

Kaffibarinn
Ranked #6 of 41 Nightlife in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: There is one word above all others that screams 'Reykjavik Nightlife': Kaffibarinn. Not everybody loves the place, but everyone knows exactly where it is and would be sad if it ever closed down. But there is very little risk of that, if the queues outside are anything to go by. Kaffibarinn (along with dearly departed Sirkus) is probably THE place responsible for creating Reykjavik's party town reputation. Its heady mix of hyper-uber-cool music, people in trend-setting clothes, late night drunkenness and not nearly enough space for all the dancing sweaty bodies... well, that's really what it's all about. It was in Kaffibarinn that the distinctive 101 music taste and fashion sense were born, and from there they took over the world (in a modest sort of way). The place is open for coffee, beer and something to eat during the day. Disc jockey every night with various music. Mostly House during the weekends. They don't like photography inside the bar. It has been like that for many years and they do like their privacy. It's nothing personal.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A bar you have to visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

An institution in the night life of Reykjavik :-) Very nice atmosphere and cozy decor. Nothing to eat, unfortunately.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Karpal0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    73
    23
    13
    7
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Fun Arty place with friendly locals but get there in time to get in!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

Bar hopping in Reykjavik properly kicks off around mid-night and goes on till 6 am so following the "When in Rome..." manta make this bar your first pit stop as after 1 am there is a long line to enter as the bar is completely packed by then.
The locals are friendly and within an hour you wind up chatting to a whole bunch of people. Taking photo's is not allowed and this rule is enforced by the bouncers and bar staff as soon as they see a camera. This is because apparently it is a venue where V.I.P.'s (such as Bill Clinton, Angelina Jolie and Tom Cruise in the past) can enjoy a drink without the prying eyes.
There is a dance floor which opens up later on in the night for you to shimmy the night away!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank AnureetR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
100 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fun Late Night Spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

It could have been the 3 glasses of wine we had before we got there, but my friend and I had a great time here. It's not a place for those who want to sit and sip cocktails, but if you've seen 101 Reykjavik you have to check it out.

Everything we had read about Iceland beforehand made us a little apprehensive to try the local-filled spots, but once we made an effort to chat people up, they were all very friendly!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank HMDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letchworth
Level Contributor
60 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Artsie drinking den”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2012

Kaffibarinn was a pleasant enough drinking hole where the majority of drinkers are 21 to 35 locals.However,being an early 40 something I can't say that I felt out of place or that I was made to feel unwelcome in anyway!
The bar consisted of 3 areas front room,back room and upstairs and was larger than outside appearances suggested.We were there at 1 am and although plenty of people were inside we managed to get a table and were served at the bar quite quickly.
A couple of djs where playing trance like dance music.I was hoping for some Indie as Damon Albarn is rumoured to part own the bar!
This bar also features in the cult Icelandic movie Reykjavic 101.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank L-Man77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“It gets crazy packed!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2012 via mobile

We thought we'd come here for a couple of drinks on a Saturday night. We befriended a couple of Americans and right away we could tell that we were total 'outsiders'. It was fun people watching the locals, but we were turned away or ignored whenever we tried to strike a conversation with any of them. By the time 3am rolled around we left, since everyone was packed in there like sardines. I enjoyed the people watching, but didn't like being ignored by the locals.

Helpful?
1 Thank cutie300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kaffibarinn also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Kaffibarinn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing