We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tolerable”
Review of Pavi Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pavi Apartments
Ranked #94 of 110 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
Reviewed March 10, 2013

I booked this and just before I left I read the reviews. Circumstances had caused me to attempt to change the booking a day or two prior to departure but my 2 emails gained no response. When we arrived - during day hours so no check in issues - we met the manager who complained about the number of emails I had sent (2?? and declined to change our booking arrangements. Apart from his surliness (the only individual we met over 2 weeks in Iceland who was unpleasant) the accommodation was fine and the breakfast the next day adequate. So if you haven't got a thick skin don't go there. The rest of the staff gave me the impression of being slightly harassed.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (162)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 162 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2012

Good rooms and locations, no service, bad staff.
I arrive very late by airport bus. Me and friend and other 2 persons group.
Door was closed. To open door need to call by cellphone to local number. It costs me 4 euros (It is not European Union).
Receptions on third floor with no elevator. 10 minutes for check-in.
My room was clean and upgraded. (coool!)
In mourning breakfast from 7 to 10. I wait for available seats more when 30 minutes. Kitchen room is very-very small. Nothing to eat, nothing to drink.
Check-out is from 10 to 11.
Rented car where... Oh mine God! Owner very loud speaking strange ... men. Did not say even "hi". Just threw the keys on the table.
But location was really good! very close to main (almost) pedestrian street, bus station and supermarket.
Stuff - foreign students did not want to do anything (even answer for tourist questions), not polite at all.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank demchart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

I wouldn't go there again (bad location, ugly house, locked entrance door - I had to phone and wait long for somebody, the staff was very unfriendly). No value for much money!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
7  Thank Regina508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

i arrived in this place at 2am; i booked online and when at the door i rang no one came down, a little paper on the door told me to call if i was a new guest, unfortunately my phone has no international roaming so i was upset and scared to sleep out cause at that time few people are in the streets. i found a way throught bestwestern hotel not too far and once inside i explained the receptionist it was stupid idea to do this way, cause many people dont have a phone or international roaming, he just told me it was my fault and i should be quiet cause people were sleeping.
the dorm is huge with more than 30 beds, still ok and confortable, no breakfast if u choses dormitory, which is not precised on the booking site. and finally many people complained about the service there so i felt better not thinking it was my fault.
to avoid cause if not full, other adresses are better and well situated for almost the same price

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank herbertfaust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Finding a cheap accomodation in Reykjavik is quite hard: we managed to find one with this guesthouse, wich is, actually, a floor in an huge building with many mini-apartments (big room with kitchen and bathroom). Room was huge, clean, with a decent bathroom and a fully equipped kitchen, with the only downside of being on third floor and there's no elevator. Breakfast was not so good: a tiny room with 5 tables for about 20 guests, some milk, cheese and bread and nothing else, and, most important, no one cleaning tables. Value for money is good, so probably I would return here again, but forget any good breakfast here.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank firestart80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank ElisabethMallemort
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

we arrived in the night, they promised us a room with a sink but did not get it, they told us we could still choose (3am!!). Be aware, the webside told us an amount in euros but they transfer it to ISK with an extremely bad rate, so actually the amount you pay is 20% higher then written on the website!! So be aware. When I told this to the staff (I think the boss) he was extremely rude!!! For the rest the service was bad, for breakfast you had to wait because there was no space. I would only sleep here when the other option is sleeping in the street. Actually we did not get even a room in the hotel itself but in an other old building where you had to take a shower in the shared kitchen!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paul1051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
4th Floor Hotel
#48 of 54 in Reykjavik
393 reviews
Laugardalur
Reykjavik City HI Hostel
Reykjavik City HI Hostel
#18 of 110 in Reykjavik
303 reviews
Bus Hostel
#12 of 110 in Reykjavik
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oddsson Hostel
#14 of 110 in Reykjavik
118 reviews
Hlemmur Square
#10 of 110 in Reykjavik
1,138 reviews
Hotel Laxnes
#1 of 1 in Mosfellsbaer
1,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pavi Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pavi Apartments

Address: Brautarholt 4, Reykjavik 105, Iceland (Formerly Guesthouse Pavi)
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 110 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range: $60 - $585 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Pavi Apartments 1*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pavi Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guesthouse Pavi Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing