We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Have stayed here many times, exemplary, and very warm service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Guesthouse Anna

Guesthouse Anna
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Guesthouse Anna
Ranked #53 of 108 Reykjavik B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
147 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Have stayed here many times, exemplary, and very warm service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

Top-notch accommodations, excellent breakfast, brilliant hospitality. Stayed here in 2003, 2005, 2011, and visited briefly, as they are personal friends, in 2013, as I was out in the field for a month, and couldn't stay due to my own standards for not coming out of the bush and into polite society. Marvelous people, wonderful property. If there is availability, stay here, as it is quiet, and very nicely done. Five stars.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nobodyhomenow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    6
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
16
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

We are just back from a wonderful trip in Iceland and we stayed at Anna's guesthouse when we were in Reykjavik. Anna is extremely friendly and we really felt at home in this beautiful house. She has been extremely flexible as well to prepare breakfast as we had to leave early for excursions during the day. The location is extremely convenient as it is really close to the bus station. Really good for backpackers who need to catch buses. At the same time really close tonthebcity center about 10min wallingant distance). We Will definitively stay here again and warmly recommend the place !!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marion265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decorah, Iowa
Level Contributor
287 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2012

We absolutely loved Anna and the ambiance of the place. She was most helpful in booking us tours (and seeing to it that they came after they failed to show up), and giving us advice about food and prices in the city (everything EXPENSIVE+++++!!!!).

Great place

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank koolbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2011

Anna and her family offer very friendly sevice and good quality accommodation and we look forward to visiting again in the future. If you want a comfortable bed for the night, for good value, continental breakfast and very short walk to the Bus station to the Keflavik airport and about 1km from main shops/bars in Reykjavik, then choose here. So it is not noisey due to the Runtur and the rooms have a pleasent decor with curtains (the lack of curtains is something that people have compained about Reykjavik accommodation). It may be more money than a hostel but I think you get much more per Kronur spent staying in guesthouses like Anna's.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WildBillSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2011

Being near the main bus station wouldn't be a very desirable location in many capital cities, but Reykjavik is so small and unspoiled that Guesthouse Anna manages to be extremely handy for bus travellers while also being situated in a pleasant residential road. We came in by bus from the airport and headed out the next morning for Landmannalaugar in the interior, so Guesthouse Anna was the perfect stopover. We really felt at home here - the room was comfortable and well-furnished, the breakfast was excellent, and we were only around 10 minutes walk from the town centre. A couple of TripAdvisor reviewers obviously had a bad experience recently, but we found Anna to be wonderfully welcoming and she seemed as honest and straightforward as the day is long. She even drove over to the bus station to pick us up as one of the bags was heavy, and looked after spare camping gear in the cellar while we were away. I would thoroughly recommend this place and would definitely stay there again - even if I wasn't travelling by bus.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jatLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martha's Vineyard
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2011

This was our second trip to Iceland and we drove around the country for nine days and ended up again at Anna's the last two days of the trip. Once again, Anna's is the best location for transportation and the best deal in town. One thing about Anna's guesthouse is that no two rooms are alike and it is possible to change which rooms have a private bath by giving access to a bathroom on one of the small connecting hallways that can't be seen from the main staircase hallway. I can understand how someone might think Anna was sneaky about the price, but nothing could be farther from the truth. Iceland suffered terrible inflation during and after the bank crisis in Iceland from 2008-2009 and prices on-line may not have appeared updated, but in dollar-terms the prices of the rooms actually fell during the past two years. Foreigners may appreciate the beauty of Iceland and not realize that the country is still facing a terrible financial crisis. Shop around and satisfy yourself that Guesthouse Anna is a bargain gem. We paid 19,200 ISK for a beautiful room a nice view and a private bath - that comes to about $168 a night.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank N900AT_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2011

Anna and her grandson provided simple, wonderful guesthouse accommodations. However, I just paid the bill, and was surprised to be charged 20,000, not the internet or guidebook stated price of 16,400. I know guidebooks can be out of date, but the Guesthouse Anna official website price should be honored. Her response was "Oh, well, that was 2009 prices. I don't pay much attention to that anymore." I can't see anything that looks updated (website or guesthouse) that warrants that price jump. On the positive side, it is very convenient to downtown, yet just across the street from the BSI bus station. Also, Anna was very helpful and friendly for other matters.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank junebugggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Smaragata
#36 of 108 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
27 Soley Apartment Hotel
#18 of 108 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Alba Guesthouse
#41 of 108 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Konrad's Guesthouse
Konrad's Guesthouse
#43 of 108 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Miõborg
Baldursbra Guesthouse
Baldursbra Guesthouse
#37 of 108 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Miõborg
Hotel Gardur
Hotel Gardur
#48 of 100 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guesthouse Anna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse Anna

Property: Guesthouse Anna
Address: Smaragata 16, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 108 B&Bs / Inns in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Guesthouse Anna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing