We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very pleasant & comfortable!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Guesthouse Galtafell
Certificate of Excellence
Coimbatore, India
Level Contributor
154 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Very pleasant & comfortable!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

Highly recommendable! A few minutes from the domestic airport and just another few minutes to the city centre, this place is located perfectly. It is also very close to the City pond and the best and most popular Hot Dog Stand in Reykjavik. We booked a double room with a private bath and got more than what we expected. It was our first time at a guesthouse but I'm glad that Galtafell got to be our first choice! We stayed on the ground floor which had a small living room, a full-fledged kitchenette, a bath and a bedroom. Clean and spacious. Warm and airy. Breakfast is served at their residence on top at a huge dining table with lots of food and lots of music so good you won't feel like leaving the table.
The hosts, Thorae & Arni were extremely welcoming and hospitable. And not to mention helpful. We just mentioned our flight timings and when they realized that they too had a flight at around the same time, they just offered to give us a ride to the airport without even thinking twice! We were very lucky to have chosen Galtafell. Thanks a lot Thorae & Arni!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KanchM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    53
    11
    5
    3
See reviews for
46
128
16
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

A very friendly Place where you will meet travellers of all ages and from many countries. The breakfasts are enjoyable with lots of possibilities for a chat or two. Nice breakfast, sort of ordinary rooms with very comfortable beds. Nicely situated Close to the center and a short walk from the airportbus. Strongly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bengt_fjallborg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

A beautiful house close to every where in Reykjavik by walking (domestic airport, parlament, downtown, bus station), with unforgettable hosts and a singular breakfast meeting people from different countries, listening to nice music, and delicious fresh food.
It was a very pleasant experience

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CesarArturo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Perfect place, close to the center and the owner is very, very kind. Clean, familiar, in a peaceful street and beautiful. Good breakfast, you feel like at home, and the house, an artist house, is absolutly cute and lovely. Lots of love to Jellybelly from Spain :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OBSESIONPORVIAJAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
62 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

Peacefully located next to the lake in downtown Reykjavik. Centrally located without the noise of the night life. Easy walking distance to tourist information centers, banks, restaurants, museums, harbor, main shopping streets, and a delicious bakery. Friendly owners are more than willing to help with your travel plans. Delicious breakfast included with a large selection, warm greeting by your host, and a nice environment to meet other travelers. Clean, quiet, and comfortable room.

Room Tip: You may request a private bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kipukahonu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

Wonderful welcome! We unfortunately arrived at almost 2AM (still light out!) thanks to a poor calculation on our part and a delayed flight, but were still greeted warmly by Thorey! Beds were comfy and clean. In true guesthouse style, we shared breakfast (yummy) with folks from all over. The 1916 castellated house was owned by an Icelandic artist/actor/icon and is a short walk to everything. Thorey was very kind and helpful in every way, explained much and even let us linger late until our bus came. Thank you so so much!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pleasantview1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

This GH stole my heart. It had a very nice and warm feeling of home. It was like I never left home as they say, "A home away from home." It had a nice kitchen a must have for parents with little kids. We were also provided with a baby cot, milk, sugar and god I asked for so many things and both the lady and the gentleman provided it to us with no questions asked. In fact when we delayed getting clothes out from the dryer because of some personal work the lady got it for me and insisted that I rest whilst she fetched it for me. The breakfast was good I am an Indian and on top of that Vegeterian so my options are pretty limited in 98% of the world. But nevertheless I enjoyed the bread, jam, fruits, juice so much that I went it for a second helping. If I ever visit Iceland again this is the place I would stay at. Highly recommended to all.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank roopache
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 52 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
Hotel Holt
#10 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#6 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
Miõborg
Skuggi Hotel by Keahotels
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#4 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guesthouse Galtafell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse Galtafell

Property: Guesthouse Galtafell
Address: Laufasvegur 46, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 100 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Guesthouse Galtafell 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Galtafell is located in the heart of Reykjavik, within easy reach of all major activities. Our bright and non smoking suites are comfortably furnished and all have private entrance. Every suite consists of a bedroom, bathroom, living room and a fully equipped kitchen corner. Laundry facilities are in the building. The apartments can comfortably room up to four persons and bed linen and towels are provided. We also offer double or single rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Guesthouse Galtafell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing