We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Guesthouse Galtafell
Ranked #11 of 110 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 10, 2012

This would be absolutely my first choice for a future visit in Reykjavic. The guesthouse is located in a lovely house, that looks like a Castle. The location, a perfect balance of quietness and 10 Minutes walking from the centre. Easy parking. Great Apartments. But the best of everything; the Guesthosts. The check in was the most welcoming we have experienced. The hosts where helpful beyond expectations, and sooo nice. It feelt like beeing at home. It was the perfect end of a perfect trip.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Llunastar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (252)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

185 - 191 of 252 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2012

We ended our Icelandic Honeymoon with a 5 night stay at Guesthouse Galtafell. What a WONDERFUL place to stay!!! The owners are very kind, friendly and helpful. We had a wonderful room with private bathroom and the hostess even put roses and truffles in our room to help us celebrate our honeymoon! What a kind gesture! We had a good breakfast everyday and were able to walk downtown in an easy 10 min walk. Location is good, food was better and the hospitality was the BEST! We will be back some day!!! Thank you

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Annie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

The owner was wonderful. We arrived on an early morning flight and were welcome to breakfast. When we took the Golden Circle tour the owner lent me her heavy coat!
We stayed in a regular room with a bathroom, but there was a shared kitchen down the hall that was perfect for making tea. The room was very functional.
The location is good, especially if you like being slightly away from the center.
We walked to the bus terminal with our luggage for our onward flight.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annchovy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We were told of Galtafell by the Tourist Bureau who highly recommended this guesthouse. The owners were delightful and very helpful with answering questions we had. The rooms are comfortable and very clean. We had breakfast which was included and very filling. I highly recommend this as a great place to stay if you are in Reykjavik.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We were able to drop off our luggage early in the day that we were staying and go off on a bus trip. The apartments were on the ground floor of the house . There was a real nice breakfast in this historic home and I was able to use the washer once on my two day stay.The place was in a quiet neighborhood and easily walkable to the BSI bus station and to the center of town.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 42golf56_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

The Guesthouse Galtafell was a perfect choice for our first (but not last) visit to Reykjavik. The manager/proprietor, Thorey, was so helpful - she arranged for a tour for us to see the Northern Lights on our very first evening in town, and was always willing to help make arrangements at the drop of a hat throughout our 4-night stay. We also enjoyed talking with the other guests at breakfast - it made our trip that much more pleasant. The location is on a quiet street, within walking distance of the main shopping streets in town. We will definitely be back...if only to visit with Jelly Belly, the owner's cat, who lives upstairs with the rest of the family.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We were made to feel very welcome at Guesthouse Galtafell by its friendly hosts who made our stay such an enjoyable one. They were always on hand to be helpful and provide a high level of service. Guesthouse Galtafell is in a lovely quiet neighbourhood and only a 5 minute stroll to the heart of Reykjavik. It takes less than a minute to be by Tjörnin Pond and a few minutes to Hallgríms Church. Historically Galtafell has connections with Icelandic artists, including sculptor Einar Jónsson and has kept many original features, the main room with its high windows is light and airy. The accommodation is very comfortable with good plentiful breakfasts with lots of variety. We enjoyed our stay there very much and wouldn’t hesitate to stay there again if ever visiting Reykjavik.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank simply-peregrinating
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#17 of 54 in Reykjavik
3,843 reviews
Hotel Laxnes
#1 of 1 in Mosfellsbaer
1,089 reviews
Hlemmur Square
#9 of 110 in Reykjavik
1,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guesthouse Galtafell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse Galtafell

Address: Laufasvegur 46, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 110 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range: $146 - $347 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Guesthouse Galtafell 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Galtafell is located in the heart of Reykjavik, within easy reach of all major activities. Our bright and non smoking suites are comfortably furnished and all have private entrance. Every suite consists of a bedroom, bathroom, living room and a fully equipped kitchen corner. Laundry facilities are in the building. The apartments can comfortably room up to four persons and bed linen and towels are provided. We also offer double or single rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Guesthouse Galtafell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing