We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good option in Reykjavik, but...”
Review of Apartment K

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Apartment K
Ranked #13 of 100 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
74 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Good option in Reykjavik, but...”
Reviewed June 24, 2014

This is not a hotel but a group of small appartments - our studio came with a sleeping corner, a bathroom, a sitting corner and a small kitchen. The location is absolutely brilliant, in the middle of everything, yet it was calm and peaceful enough to enjoy a good night of sleep. We found it also quite cheap (for icelandic standard!). When we arrived we were greeted by a staff member, who showed us the studio, handed us the keys then disappeared after saying "just leave the keys on the table the days you leave" (so no proper check-out procedure, which was fine for us).
The studio was quirky and comfortable with everything you need.

Now you might think: why only three points when everything is positive? Well....it would have been perfect if it wasn't this dirty! Yes, the studio was not clean. The bedsheets didn't seem fresh, and the bathroom as well as the kitchen were not clean. A shame, because otherwise it is a really cool place to stay!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EllaInTheSky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    481
    360
    153
    76
    54
See reviews for
177
588
61
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cold Lake
Level Contributor
152 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Easy to miss small hotel in an excellent location in the centre of Reykjavik. Beds are comfortable,some strange furniture and design and some issues with cleanliness of the room but the staff is very helpful, chatty and they cleaned the room after our complain.
You pay premium for staying just feet away from all the shops,cafes and restaurants on main street. Expect noise as it is close to the bars, the rooms can get hot at night,no air-conditioning.
The staff is helpful in calling a taxi or a frequent Flybus to the airport or for excursions.
The apartment is walkable distance from the harbour and the white church.
As everything in Iceland,this hotel is expensive as well as food and clothing.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

When we arrived I was dumbstruck by the odd fluorescent green floored cave we had rented for our 2 week stay.

Furnished with some tired furniture and containing a bathroom with a quite dirty shower and toilet seperated from the rest of the room by a net curtain meaning every toilet break had to be announced to my other half and the television turned up.

The television would have been great had it been working but it took a little over a week for them to replace the failing eyetv with a sky box. Luckily we didn't come to Iceland to sit and watch tv but it would have been welcome in the late evenings.

There is wifi available with a statement saying only check your email and for information purposes which was not clearly communicated anywhere prior to our arrival.

Whilst I understand that multiple apartments will be drawing from this and a bit of fair usage is required the guidelines are in my opinion quite archaic especially when the television does not work for over half your stay.

When we arrived much of the bathroom lighting was not working which was rectified quickly.

When we reported the television and bathroom issues a very nice man attended both times and whilst he was unable to rectify the television in a timely manner he was very polite and very nice every time.

Tea and coffee facilities are provided in the cost as well as towels every 3rd day.

The kitchen was functional and quite clean.

Finally to the best thing about the apartment. It's location. Our apartment was on Bergstaoastraeti which is right on the main high street. 15 minutes walk from the swimming pool, 10 minutes walk from the main BSI bus station for your tours (just walk up the hill all the way along Bergstaoastraeti and you arrive right at it).

Food wise the apartment is 2 minutes away from a Bonus supermarket for cooking for yourself and the oven and utensils are sufficient.

For a cheap takeout walk up and turn left at the crossroad and walk towards the church for the amazing noodle station (I know it sounds underwhelming but it's awesome and affordable).

For a bit more of a dinner out head to the highstreet and turn right, 5 minutes down and on the right opposite another Bonus is kitchen eldhus probably the best curry you will ever eat.

We have stayed in Iceland before at hotel cabin and whilst this apartment wasn't quite as nice as the hotel it's location more than made up for this.

Overall I can't give a mark more than average due to some issues we had but if you are looking for affordable (by Icelandic standards don't forget everything is more expensive here) then look no further than the freedom this apartment will provide you with.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank IanKinghorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014

We arrived before check-in time and so only 1 of our 4 rooms were ready which was fine since we had a place to put our luggage for 7 people. We were centrally located on the main street which made it easy to get around Reykjavik.
When I saw the room I was quite surprized considering we were paying $350 per night, the most I've ever paid for accommodation. The room was small with a futon, coffee table, old chair and console, but did have a kitchenette area. The furniture was mismatched just like student housing, and the bathroom had a glass sliding door which didn't fully close. The lighting was very poor and the only mirror was in the bathroom which made getting dressed difficult. The worst part was that the room was never cleaned over the 4 nights we were there. They didn't even empty the garbage or sweep the floor and there was no dumpster to take the garbage!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EPike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014

We stayed here on your first in in Iceland. It was nice but and quirky. The bed very comfy, the only thing was no loo papers or washing stuff. We had a big light of bird though!!! It was two minutes from the main shopping bit so was a good one night stay

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rayna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

I visited Iceland for the first time in April, 2014. We booked a Deluxe apartment with King bed and sofa bed for 7 nights. Our apartment was in the back (older) building on Thingholtsstraeti. Which is directly behind and through the building where the office is. This building is nice and rooms are a nice size with lots of light and good size kitchen. They are however, showing their age. The apartment needs new paint, floors to be sanded and polished and just some visual improvements. Unlike the modern rooms in the front building where the office is, these are more simple.

From the apartment upstairs, noise carried quite much, the kids upstairs would stomp and run around. Fortunately, one night the upstairs kitchen sink started leaking and was dripping on our kitchen table. I called the front desk and the night manager was there in 2 mins and offered us a new room right then (around 1 am). We moved to a modern 1 bedroom in the new building. We had a iPod Dock, nice tv, dishwasher, washing machine. Really much nicer room. The bed in the newer apartment was really comfortable. Didn't hear any noise from our neighbors. Only complaint about the room was a sliding glass door didn't give much "privacy" in the bathroom.

The office was quite responsive the few times I did speak with them and I had no complaints about our being moved to a new room after the water leak.

We had an small crossover SUV and weren't sure about where to park. However, parking in Reykjavik is actually quite easy once you understand the meter system. Keep your coin change for the meters, that works the best.

Overall, I would have given the rooms a higher rating, if the room we had the first 5 nights was as nice as the newer room we were moved to. Location is great right near all the restaurant and bars.

Room Tip: If you stay here I would request to stay in the front building on Thingholtsstraeti. However, I know...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patriclusthetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Stayed in a ground floor studio from Apartment K for two nights in March 2014.

Good points: location (off the main st), wifi / TV, ease of checking out, quirky style, heated floors.

Not so good: bathroom/toilet had just a curtain for privacy, which in a studio is a bit too close for comfort.

Overall: good value for Iceland and great if you want to do your own thing.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 52 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#6 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
CenterHotel Thingholt
#17 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,569 reviews
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#4 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartment K? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartment K

Property: Apartment K
Address: Thingholtsstraeti, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 100 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartment K 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel apartments for today's design conscious, value-orientated guest. You can't get anymore downtown than this - 10 meters from world-renowned shopping and party street Laugavegur. 3 value studio suites, 4 large 1 bedroom apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Apartment K reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartment k Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing