We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value accomodation in the perfect location”
Review of Apartment K

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Apartment K
Ranked #16 of 110 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Location: Our apartment was in the main block where check in is. Could not get a better location in Reykjavik! 2mins walk to the Gray Line bus terminal & booking office (1 of 2 main tour providers in the city - the other being Reykjavik Excursions). 5 mins to harbour and on the doorstep of the bars, restaurants and shops.

Room: Very modern (not a themed room like some of the other apartments by the sounds of it). You don’t have to worry about being cold; we turned all the radiators off and we still needed the window open as heat must have been coming through from other rooms! Large double bed (quite firm). Lack of cupboard space but this wasn’t a problem for a short stay. Noise wasn’t a problem at all however we had asked for a quiet room.

Kitchen/Living room: Very well stocked kitchen – meant we could actually cook meals (oven, 2 ring hob, kettle, toaster, all the cutlery needed). Great 42” inch tv with a lot of English freeview channels (for the short moments we were in the apartment between excursions!)

Bathroom: Great powerful shower (people who complain about the sulphur smell – it’s not that bad and that’s what all the water in Reykjavik is like – embrace it!). Towels provided. We didn’t have the glass door like many but a wooden panel that didn’t really slide open/closed too easily but again, this wasn’t the biggest thing to us.

All in all, for the price of Apartment K in comparison to other accommodation we looked at, this was by far the best value in Reykjavik!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carrmanor100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,249)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

665 - 671 of 1,249 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2014

My friend and I recently traveled to Iceland and ended our trip at Apartment K in downtown Reykjavik. The location could not have been more convenient. We booked online using Booking.com and with paying in advance the apartment cost just over $100USD/night. It was really spacious with a large living room/kitchen, a slightly small bedroom and a decent bathroom. It was extremely conveniently located in the city within walking distance to everything! For the price, it really couldn't be beat. The only drawback was the unventilated bathroom (so the sulfur smell from the water lingered and it stayed quite foggy for a while). Definitely a great rental to use if you are in the city.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindsey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights with 2 friends. We chose an apartment for a bit more room and facilities and this one was very good value and a great location. The apartment was in a secondary block round the corner from the main unit, which caused no end of problems for the pick up coaches.
The apartment was OK, it was clean, great location and had a decent kitchen for hot drinks and/or cooking (if required) but the photo's on the website build it up to be much nicer (and bigger) than what it is. Although we kept it tidy, we didn't get one visit from a cleaner to empty bins or change towels etc, which we would normally expect.
It was also a bit of a faff when we arrived at 12am to get in and get keys as it wasn't clear as to what to do. Also, when trips were cancelled /changed, the info was only provided in the main building and even then, the notices were not correct.

Room Tip: If you are having trips from here it would be advised to check and double check with the building ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tillers74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We booked online and when we arrived in Reykjavik received a text to let me know our apartment was at a different location to what I thought I had booked. I wasn't happy with this. But I think we had a stroke of luck. Ok Hotel at the end of the Main Street was perfect. Also above K Bar (a must for dinner). Our room was very clean and we were even able to check in early. The apartment had great character; we were in the teddy room. Towels in the room. This was great value for money. A great location. Shower was good, and bed was comfy.

Room Tip: Room 4 is at the front of the building. But little noise at this end of the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyMac30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

I read all the reviews and asked for an apartment in one of the quieter locations. We were in the 'moon apartment' (Venus) and didn't have any problems with noise. Apartment has everything you need and includes an amazing shower! Very glad we chose this option rather than a hotel.... Check in very easy and apartment only 2 mins walk from main check in building.

Room Tip: We were in the moon apartments (Venus) and we're very happy with it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

We booked a long weekend through a deal on Expedia that included Apt K and the flights. They upgraded us to a 1 bedroom which was bigger than our apt in NYC. Aside from having to run out to buy soap and shampoo EVERYTHING you could need was in the apt. It was clean, set up for us and made our whole trip that much easier. We stayed in the 48 Baldursgata apt and the block was very quiet.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ELJ1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

we arrived very late, and would never have found this hotel if the coach driver hadn't have pointed it out (no signage) we were helped with our luggage to our room, which had everything we could possibly need, fully equipped kitchen, washer/dryer, dishwasher, kettle, pots, pans etc, very comfortable and clean king size bed, my only complaint would be the glass door on the bathroom, could have been very embarrassing, we kept the blinds down at all times!! as we were a mother/daughter sharing, it wasn't an issue.
ideally located in the centre of town, staff were friendly and helpful. plenty of shops and restaurants around.
we discovered on the morning we left for the airport (3.30 am pick up) that there is a night club just over the road, we never heard a thing!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pollyanna393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#17 of 54 in Reykjavik
3,888 reviews
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Laxnes
#1 of 1 in Mosfellsbaer
1,094 reviews
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Hlemmur Square
#9 of 110 in Reykjavik
1,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartment K? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartment K

Address: Thingholtsstraeti 2-4, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 110 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range: $115 - $307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartment K 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel apartments for today's design conscious, value-orientated guest. You can't get anymore downtown than this - 10 meters from world-renowned shopping and party street Laugavegur. 3 value studio suites, 4 large 1 bedroom apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Apartment K reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartment k Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing