We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“EXECELLENT”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Apartment K

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Apartment K
Ranked #14 of 100 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
uk
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“EXECELLENT”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013

First, the people of Iceland. They were so welcoming, Reykjavik must be one of the friendliest and safest places on earth. Everybody is helpful and the crime rate practically zero. Glad easyjet started flying there -t 2 1/2 hours.

We visited in December, Iceland was beautiful. It had been snowing - crisp and white. Lots of carol singers, and 'free' hot chocolate in the street. The city is Scandinavian style, wooden houses, traditional shops with a very personal service, all offered tax reclaim (get the tax back at the tourist desk in town in cash, or the airport on your credit card).

Many restaurants, bars, cafes, with prices similar to any large city (except for alcohol, heavily taxed). Lots of live music in the bars, with singers, guitars, etc. One called the English Pub had brilliant local singers every night.

Apartment K was ideally located in the heart of the city, everything on offer - on the doorstep. The old harbour was close, with snow covered mountains beyond. Apartment K's staff were friendly and helpful and the accommodation was excellent.

Our modern 1 bedroom apartment was on the ground floor, nice and warm and spotlessly clean. We had a large sitting room with 3 piece settee, table, 42' Satellite TV, free wifi. To one end was a fully equipped kitchen, cooker, oven, dishwasher, washing machine, microwave, grill, etc, with dishtowels, washing up liquid, provided. The cupboard had teabags and coffee.

The king size bed was separated from the living room by a large wall to make it into separate open plan bedroom, with a bathroom beyond. The 'volcanic style' bathroom had a walk-in rain shower, with piping hot water and towels provided. The price was £135 total for 3 nights. It is not cleaned daily unless you stay for 5 nights.

We bought fresh haddock (not frozen) from the local supermarket 'Noatun'. This is about a 15 min walk around the old harbour, and then left at a roundabout, about 100 yards on from the Northern Lights Center. At the back of Noatum is the meat and fresh fish counter, the fish came straight of the deep sea arctic trawlers that morning, and is low priced for fresh white fish. The apartment had a large frying pan, but our haddock was too big for that!

The blue lagoon trip is a must, the cheapest combined bus and entry is c8500isk (c50 euros), no time limits, any bus out and back, all day in the lagoon (9am to 9pm). The bus leaves from the BSI Bus station every hour (15mins walk from the flat), the airport bus arrives here. Another bus service 'Greyline' stops 50 yards from Apartment K'.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ukrods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    475
    352
    150
    75
    52
See reviews for
171
580
61
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port Elgin, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

Had a great stay here Dec 2013. Staff were accommodating, always available and willing to help with phone calls and advice. The room was great. The bathroom was odd with a glass door, but when you book an interesting apartment, you get interesting things!

Centrally located and wonderfully big. Thanks Apartment K!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013 via mobile

Had a great stay here Dec 2013.
The apartments are directly in the town centre amongst the shops and restaurants whereas some other hotels we passed are a bit further out.....Not a problem if you fill up your stay with day tours like us but it was extra nice to be able to wander round the shops if we did get back in time.

Rooms are modern with quirky furniture which is fun and interesting and check in was quick. There is no reception desk to speak of, you buzz the door and someone came straight down and showed us to the room. Ample facilities.
The staff pin up emails from the tour companies in relation to Northern lights tours to show whether the various companies will run the tour that particular evening....very handy.

If I was asked about negatives....I wouldn't say there were any problems, just a couple of irritations.
Limited cutlery which meant we took turns using the cereal bowl in the morning, and the cutlery was dirty in the dish washer on arrival. Nothing that couldn't be rectified by us using the scourer!
There was only the plastic end of a hair dryer in the room but the staff stated they could sort one out for the next day....again nothing I couldn't work around.

And finally.....the dreaded bathroom 'door'........it was a sheet of glass which was on a top runner only and was difficult and precarious to slide 'closed'.....the bathroom faced the room so if you like privacy you have to come up with an agreement not to look! We were out most of the day so again not a problem.

All in all nothing which would stop me from staying here again as we had a really enjoyable stay at these apartments and I would always recommend them!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 27love2travel27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

My partner and I really enjoyed staying in the deluxe studio in the Hverfisgata street building. The room was trendy and spacious for a studio, with a nice living area and well equipped kitchenette, which would be ideal for self catering on long stays. The stone style bathroom was cool and the giant shower, heaven! WiFi connection was also very strong with no issues.
The location was perfect, being one street back from the vibrant main road and also close to the harbour with some pretty amazing views.
Only a couple of small gripes, which was that you can literally hear every movement outside and inside so there was a low-ish sleep quality. (though in all fairness I am a really light sleeper) At times the apartment felt a bit chilly even though the heating was constantly on, but seeing as though the temp was -11, the room was still generally warm, comfortable and very welcoming after being outside!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LozM88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriola Island, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

We stayed in a different apartment this time but it was as nice as the last one. The bed was super comfy and exactly what we needed while fighting jet lag. The apartment was spacious and the shower DIVINE. As I may have mentioned in the past review, the hot water may smell sulphurous as it is geothermally heated, however in Iceland the cold water comes from a completely different source, so let the cold come out of the tap for a few seconds and I promise it is the best drinking water you will ever have, don't let the hot water smell scare you away! I could stand at that tap and drink that cold water all day. It is widely regarded as the best tap water in the world and there is a good reason for it. The location is perfect, but keep in mind if you have a room facing the main road it can get loud on the weekends (I always have earplugs so this is not a big issue for me) if you are concerned request a room away from the main road. The room we stayed in this time faced a small alley and was very quiet.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leanna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

Overall I would give this a 3*plus!

Pros: great base location, everything you need in the apartment, modern and clean, pretty cheap compared to most hotels in reykjavik.

Cons: we never heard any outside noise however it was very noisey from other apartments, the glass door in the bathroom and a foul smell in the bathroom in the mornings.

Tips: we had a hire car and there is on street parking, however we arrived late at night and never noticed it was pay parking and received a parking ticket in the morning (it was only £5). It is free on sundays and after 6pm.

We had breakfast at Prikid cafe which is 2 mins walk away, cheap and cheerful. Sunday morning we went to Cafe Paris as alot of places dont open til late on a sunday and they opened at 9am.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank meganmcivor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tadley
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

Brilliant location for our trip, walking distance from anything you would want.
Apartment was very stylish and clean, only thing would be the clear door for the bathroom.
all in all i would definitely recommend this place for a short stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonTadley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 52 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#6 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
CenterHotel Thingholt
#17 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,547 reviews
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#4 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartment K? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartment K

Property: Apartment K
Address: Thingholtsstraeti, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 100 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartment K 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel apartments for today's design conscious, value-orientated guest. You can't get anymore downtown than this - 10 meters from world-renowned shopping and party street Laugavegur. 3 value studio suites, 4 large 1 bedroom apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apartment K reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartment k Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing