We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Apartment” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Apartment K

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Apartment K
Portree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Apartment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We had a great apartment at the top of the building in Thingholtsstraeti, literally on the roof. Spacious enough for the 2 of us, with a microwave/combination oven, hobs and dishwasher with a quirky "batcave" wet room with an excellent shower in it. I was amazed that we got international satellite TV, an ipod docking station and a great bed (slept well on it which is quite rare for me). Very centrally located and although it appears some apartments have a problem with street noise this was not the case here. The only noise we got was from the tail end of a hurricane whistling through Iceland. The furnishings are modern IKEA style, everything appeared clean although a bit worn in places, but only what you might expect (the leatherette sofa was a bit cracked in places). We loved it and having experienced a few apartments in Reykjavik felt that the facilities here were very good. The coffee filter machine was a great idea, however we prefer stronger coffee, but as there was a 24 hour supermarket just down the road this was easily remedied.

Room Tip: Try and request an apartment on the roof if you can afford it at this location (Apartment K have 2 o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fionatravel7264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

925 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    411
    289
    120
    63
    42
See reviews for
136
491
55
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Apartment K is located in the heart of the city center. We were located in Tingholstreet, which was the most central one, close to everything.

The rooms where spacious and clean with even a washing machine and dishwasher. Free wifi access and several international tv channels. A dutch staff member helped us with booking tours, restaurants. Even when we asked for help to connect to the wifi he took his time for a clear explanation.

We did the Golden Circle Plus, Southshore-tour. A country with many faces, simply amazing. We´ll come back

Room Tip: Ask for apartment on roof!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BushMataka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Myself and my girlfriend (both in our early 20s) recently stayed here, as an alternative to our first choice, the nearby Room with a View, which sold out just before we got around to booking. We can (for the most part) highly recommend Apartment K, as excellent accommodation in a central location in Reykjavik.

Our apartment was clean and stylish but small and simple, providing us with everything we needed for a week in the city (fridge, small freezer, electric cooking hobs, microwave, pans and other kitchen utensils, hairdryer, shower, TV with English stations etc.), although certainly not a ‘second home’ level of comfort. Views were excellent, we could see right up and down the city’s main shopping street, as well as a picturesque mountain range off in the distance.

It seems a lot of people staying at Apartment K have found noise a major problem at night – we never experienced this, although it is worth noting that when we booked (on Booking.com) we specified on the special requests section that we wanted a room as high up as possible, to minimise street noise, and also that we were there in late September, outside of peak seasons.

Our only grievance with our stay would be related to the staff/reception cover. Obtaining the fob that would allow us access to the building and our room involved a bizarre ritual involving a door buzzer, an internal telephone and a keypad safe; a process that could have been much simpler had they just had someone on the desk. We had very little contact with staff during our stay, I had to ring up to ask where we could find the cable for the iPod dock in our room (which was never resolved), and although the owners promise to book guests a return airport transfer provided you contact them the day before your departure, this also proved fruitless and I ended up calling the bus company myself using the reception phone.

Overall we can highly recommend Apartment K for young couples looking for quirky and affordable accommodation in the centre of Reykjavik, provided you are relatively independent people, who don’t require absolute luxury or constant guidance and advice from staff.

Room Tip: As mentioned in my review we specified we wanted a room as high up as possible to minimise street no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JordanAndEmily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

The one big plus : centrally located. Other pluses : modern conveniences, flat screen tv, fridge, coffee machine, cooker, drinkable tap water, wi-fi etc. however, they tell you they 'monitor' your wi-fi use age and charges will occur for 'heavy usage'. So the guest is left wondering about privacy concerns and what exactly is 'heavy' usage and will they be charged.....this is not a negative just so you understand - iceland is near 100 % renewable for domestic energy needs. They use Geo-thermal springs for heating their water (which is very cool) so the hot water smells like sulphur.

Now the rest : the booking said 'deluxe' apartment. That is not what we got. The photos on their website did not resemble the room we encountered. It would be a good idea , if you are reading this Apt K, to be a bit more honest and show the specific apartment the guests are booking. The apartment we got was out the back on the ground floor, in a lane way that was frequented by weekend drunks. So between 2 & 5 every morning we were woken up by shouting, roaring etc of homeward bound drunks that sounded like they were just outside our windows - my advice - insist they DO NOT give you such a room. In the mornings you could see the vomit and smashed beer glasses in the lane so it wasn't a bad dream. Our bed was in an alcove and kinda groovy but was directly under another guests bathroom, so lying in bed we got to listen to 'every' noise the human anatomy can make in the toilet. As they walked around the room, it thump thump thumped above our heads. When they flushed the loo, it roared down a pipe inside the wall by our bed......basically got very little sleep all weekend.

The toilet / shower was perhaps some designers idea of chic poor look. Bare concrete walls and floor, looked ugly grey and dirty. Was also mouldy & FREEZING ! Not nice.

Room Tip: Insist when booking on a room away from street noise and with a nice bathroom ! If they won't gi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLV
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

The apartment is located in an excellent area. There is no elevator in the building, so you need to carry luggage up the stairs ...
Excellent equipped apartment: fridge, kettle, kitchen, oven, coffee maker and even Apple TV.
But the apartment is not quite significant new, the level of cleanliness is not amazing, but not dirty.
Staff was very nice and welcoming, but there wasn't a lot of interaction with them.
Not cheap, but also not regret sleeping there.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LiD101_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane Valley, Washington
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed at the Þingholtsstræti (Thingholtsstraeti) locale back in May. This is along one of the main shopping streets. We were lucky enough to be upgraded to this location, and we loved every minute of our stay. If you're looking for a nice quiet relaxing stay...you will be in the perfect spot...between the hours of 6 a.m. and 9pm. Outside of the aforementioned time frame good luck. Did I mention this place is on the MAIN shopping street, with one of the busiest bars in all of Iceland! But, why would you want to sleep while the rest of the city is partying away the night.

The apartment was nice and cozy. Very comfortable pillow top bed, with a blanket that is wonderful at trapping heat. Our room, which was on the roof level, came with apple tv, ipod dock, satellite, and regular Iceland cable. The tv was a bit confusing, but we only had it on for background noise.

Anything you want is just around the corner. Any corner! No matter what direction you walk in, their are great shops, dining and watering holes.

The staff are nice and helpful. We only needed to bug them once, but it was our own fault. Right by our door is some type of contraption that looks like a business card holder, with a bunch of cards stuck in it. Do not pull those cards out. Unless you like showering in the dark. Somehow those cards act as a circuit breaker. Still have no idea what was going on with that.

The shower is nice, but the door to the bathroom is made of glass, and there is no seperation from shower to toilet. Also, if you aren't careful where you point the shower head, the water will leak out into the room.

Overall rating is A- Only because we had to put down a towel to keep water from leaking into the room. This is a great pick for young couples or party people.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gregory S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

On arrival to apartment K we were taken a short 2 minute walk to another building a few streets away. We had booked a one bedroom apartment and we were placed on Hverfisgata.

The apartment was stylishly decorated (I suspect from IKEA). The living area had a large TV, sofa bed, coffee table, table and 2 chairs and another armchair. The kitchen area had a 2 ring hob but no oven or microwave - which is the only thing I think would improve the kitchen. There was coffee, tea and sugar, salt and pepper and a very good coffee maker.

The bathroom was clean, there was plenty toilet roll, hand soap and shower gel. The walls and floor were made out of nice Icelandic stones. There was a heated towel rail so you could get a nice cosy towel when you came out of the very large shower. The shower had 2 heads, a normal type one and a rainforest type 1 - very good.

The bedroom had a double bed and chest of drawers. The bed was very low so if you struggle getting up from the floor this might not be good for you!

We did have an issue with the wi-fi and after trying to get it fixed for 4 days we eventually gave up. Wi-fi access is plentiful in all the cafes and even some of the buses we took!

I think I should also mention the noise as I know a lot of other reviewers have mentioned it. We stayed for a week and it was quiet every night except Saturday. The noise was people talking/shouting as the walked up the street to the bars around the corner. Single glazed windows didnt help this issue!

A word of warning about hot water though - as with everywhere in Iceland it has a slight "rotten egg" smell because of the sulfur in the water.

I would recommend visitng the Sandholt bakery on Laugevegur for a takeaway breakfast and coffee in the apartment!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rachel6286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#2 of 60 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 stars 863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
#19 of 60 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 stars 1,524 reviews
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#4 of 60 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 stars 397 reviews
Miõborg
Castle House Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartment K? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartment K

Property: Apartment K
Address: Thingholtsstraeti, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 94 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartment K 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel apartments for today's design conscious, value-orientated guest. You can't get anymore downtown than this - 10 meters from world-renowned shopping and party street Laugavegur. 3 value studio suites, 4 large 1 bedroom apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Apartment K reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartment k Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing