We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alternative digs for an alternative stay!”
Review of Apartment K

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Apartment K
Ranked #17 of 108 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
Reviewed September 2, 2013

First thing to realise is that apartment K is split in to several properties in the centre of Reykjavik. When you first arrive it is just off the main shopping street, and there aren't any huge indications/signage for you to look out for, but easy none the less.

If you are travelling by car there is free parking from 6pm -10am and during the day it's very reasonable.

I had booked a 1 bed apartment but ended up with a 2 bed apartment, which was great. The apartment itself was well equipped and the lifesize Icelandic Horse lamp was a fun addition to the slightly edgy decor. Beds were very comfortable and all in all the apartment was great and quiet, although the stay was not at the weekend. They could perhaps do with a better cleaner.

A great base for exploration of this wonderful country!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thehungrydaydreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,203)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

692 - 698 of 1,203 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2013

We booked 3 days there in December 2012, we weren't impressed with the see through glass toilet bathroom door, sitting there on the throne for all to see including the flat opposite. I'm as open minded as the next person but some things should stay private

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank araldite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Bring your ear plugs if you are there on a weekend. Otherwise, great location, friendly staff, clean and functional kitchen. Only problem was that they were supposed too clean the apartments after 4 days, but they did not. Very funny to have a "life size horse" lamp in the dining room. Tap water is great (as long as you let it run cold for a little while - otherwise the hot water is slightly sulfur smelling).

They could have better signage. Only way to know it was Apartment K was a little buzzer outside their door with a small label that says "Apartment K." Overall, great location, very noisy (in our location above the bar) on weekends, but would stay here again.

Room Tip: Bring ear plugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StoweFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

The apartment we were allocated (hit and miss what you get) was very big and spacious for 2 people but did look more like a bachelor pad with the decor black and red.

The bathroom had a glass sliding door so you can forget about privacy.

The apartment was also located above a bar and as we stayed on a Saturday night were kept awake by very drunk people until 5am. Then again at 6.30am by the rubbish truck picking up all empty bottles.

The street itself was incredibly busy and noisy.

We had to get up at 7am for an early day trip of hiking so already started the day exhausted! Will never come back.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lottaluv33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

The photos and reviews did not live up to the expectation. We arrived at Apartment K expecting a very clean, centrally located accommodation. And, although we were in the center of town, the room and service couldn't have been worse. Our "deluxe" room was in the basement of an alley, and it looked as if it hadn't been occupied in weeks. Everything was dusty and there was dirt all over the couch. After being shown to our room, my husband decided to take a shower. Little did he know that there were no towels! I immediately walked to the front desk, and was told that they were "busy" and would bring towels down - never happened and he ended up drying with an old t-shirt. When we got up in the morning (after being woken up three times during the night by people in the street yelling), we found that there was a massive leak in the ceiling that had let water drip into our suitcase all night from the flat above - disaster. The best thing about this place was leaving. I could write a whole review just on how the state and smell of the bathroom.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank EmHixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Please read the other reviews about the surrounding area and the possibility of noise. We were lucky and stayed in the smaller set of apartments around the corner from most of the night life. I had no problems with getting assistance even at 6:30 AM when my tour did not show up. The young man who responded showed up quickly after I buzzed and made contact with our tour guide and resolved our challenge. One oppty: Our room had a door to an outside patio that required a shade. Other than this we were extremely happy. Bathroom is really spacious and unique towel warmer is a nice added treat. Separate sofa couch made a perfect bed for our daughter. Location made it easy to get to everything - eating, tours, shopping.

Room Tip: Rooms varied with amenities - nice to have a little kitchen area - we were never in the room long en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cruzianbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Apartment K is great, but Reykjavik is very noisy at night!
Knew this in advance, and Apartment K offered to give us their quietest property. They may have done, but expect no sleep.
If there is such a place avoid being within 100 metres of a bar / club. They drink outside with very load music until 4:30 am than shout and slam car doors until 5:30 am.

Room Tip: If there is such a place avoid being within 100 metres of a bar / club. They drink outside with very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Miõborg
Canopy by Hilton Reykjavik City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
#20 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,786 reviews
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#5 of 54 in Reykjavik
606 reviews
Hotel Odinsve
#15 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartment K? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartment K

Address: Thingholtsstraeti 2-4, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 108 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range: $155 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartment K 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel apartments for today's design conscious, value-orientated guest. You can't get anymore downtown than this - 10 meters from world-renowned shopping and party street Laugavegur. 3 value studio suites, 4 large 1 bedroom apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Apartment K reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartment k Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing