We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to beat for a family stay”
Review of Apartment K

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Apartment K
Ranked #14 of 102 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Hard to beat for a family stay”
Reviewed June 22, 2008

Found Apartment K in May via this website which helped tremendously as the reviews and photos were mostly very accurate. It sounded like the perfect base for our 5-day jaunt as a small family (with one very active 4 y.o) looking to escape it all but still retain a homely, non-stuffy feel

Kathy picked us up at BSI which is main bus terminus and we found her welcoming and felt very comfortable right away.
( She is a Californian expat now braving the Icelandic winters so that goes some way to explain her down-to-earth attitude). Apartment K lived up to its billing - hardwood floors, sleek hi tech kitchen, Scandinavin (if somewhat IKEA-fied) design. You either love it or you don't, and for me I'll take modern, minimalist and meticulously clean any day. One note of caution to those who might find it hard to drift off during the sunny nights of mid-summer - bring your blindfolds as there are NO blackout blinds and the floor to ceiling white curtains exacerbate the problem if anything!

Otherwise, location superb - right on Laugavegur, the main shopping street with excellent restaurants and those ridiculously expensive but oh so tempting designer boutiques. (Trust me very tempting) Yet the apt is rear facing so no street noise. We enjoyed our much- anticipated long leisurely breakfast mornings which left us "charged up and ready to go" as our son would say. Music off the local channels on the widescreen tv was the background for all this. Lovely!

If we could make a suggestion it would be for addition of simple patio furniture so that we could put our feet up outside with a drink during the bright nights, which we would really have looked forward to after tucking our little one in. The straight backed dining room chairs are just not created for that purpose -double the fact they are snow white.

Recommendations for a Reykavik trip with little kids:

june 17th Independence Day- very family orientated. (PS All of the style mad Icelandic yummy mummies come out for this one)

Family fun park and zoo: Target age 4-8 y.o My boy's best day yet at a park. Tip- pack a picnic basket but buy hotdogs so you can eat them steaming and juicy off the DIY grill.

SupeJeep tour: Pricey but worth every penny as you are totally flexible in things like photo ops and unscheduled loo stops !

Overall - exceeded our expectations. Can begin to see why Icelandic people consistently top the list of world's happiest citizens ......though probably just in summer?

  • Liked — Modern feel, cleanliness, central location
  • Disliked — Needs blackout curtains, instructions on hi tech appliances (cable tv etc) for us nontechies
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank thethreeofus41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    484
    364
    157
    78
    56
See reviews for
182
595
61
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2008

We don't recognise the previous reviewer's experience, even though we were staying at Apartment K at the same time (in apartment B1). We simply can't fault the owners, Kathy and Jökull, who were friendliness itself and couldn't have been more helpful and we can't fault the apartment, its fittings or our overall experience. We loved the mac media centre and really enjoyed chilling out with movies late at night. The apartment's location is ideal for exploring Reykjavik. We would recommend it 100% and hope very much to return ourselves and to continue exploring and enjoying a great, intimate capital city.

  • Liked — Generous space, location, nice owners
  • Disliked — Can't think of anything
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Alexako
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
2 reviews
Reviewed June 20, 2008

We stayed at Apartment K during our time in Iceland and found it to be clean and delightful. The owners were very friendly and even suggested some great things to do around the country. Our only complaints were the hard to unlock door and the Lack of good curtains. In their defense every place we went had terrible curtains. It won't be a problem if you go in the winter.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The curtians
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Jpweiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
1 review
Reviewed June 19, 2008

Great location in the city. Within walking distance of all the major sites in Reykevik. Close to the Tourist Information as well as being in the heart of the nightlife. The apartments are wonderfully decorated, very cozy and all new appliances. Did I mention the hospitality? Joe and Cathy are wonderful. Going to cost more then a hostel and some B&B's, but its worth it for alittle extra comfort. Would stay here before looking at the hotels. Would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Liked — Location & furnishings (tie)
  • Disliked — No phone in apartment
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smithcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2008

It all started when we arrived to Reykjavik to spend our wedding anniversary. We were expecting a romantic and relaxing stay with lazy mornings and with everything set ready for us. They did their best to ruin our experience but we're not that easily shaken.

After arrival we called (eventually three times) the owner. In the booking confirmation they said they would be there within minutes. Eventually after half an hour he finally arrived with a hangover and bad news. Our appartment was double booked. At first he took us to a room where there was people (apparently sleeping). We could stay in one apparment one night and then would have to move to another appartment. And this wasn't even the first change. Absurd thing was that he tried to make it good news. How lame is that? On top of that the food service we pre-ordered was missing. He called somewhere and confirmed that it was ordered but fortunately it was cheaper and better for us to get it ourselves. Apparently we were stupid to order it in the first place...

The next morning the situation was even worse. No-one answered the phone after several attempts or called us back. We packed, left the luggage as agreed and went about our business. Luckily we came back when there was a cleaning lady otherwise we would have been without our bags or a room. She informed us that our luggage had been taken somewhere. We didn't see the owners or hear anything from them.

At that point we had enough. We called them again and said we would leave. They promised to compensate the remaining night but that remains to be seen. Previous reviewer complained problems as well and didn't get the compensation. We'll freeze the cc payment anyways.

Otherwise the appartment was clean and nicely decorated although we personally missed warm, romantic or homely feeling instead of latest design. A funny thing was also the presentation of the appartment. He showed us only an empty balcony and tv-video system. He spent a lot of time presenting their collection of illegal movies as if that was the highlight of Reykjavik.

Based on the previous reviews they have been running a personal operation. With some success it's getting too much to handle and probably won't last too long this way.

  • Liked — Cleaniness
  • Disliked — Price, service, hassle, changes, contact difficulties, dishonesty
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brasuni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
1 review
Reviewed June 15, 2008

We stayed at one of Apartment K's newest pads (K3 I think) on Laugavegur with our 2-year old daughter in late May and absolutely loved it.

The apartment itself was brand new and everything was finished to a very high standard, including the well-equipped kitchen with dishwasher and stylish furnishings.

We stayed for three nights Monday to Wednesday so I can't say how noisy that end of Laugavegur would be on one of Reykjavik's famous weekends, but at least this apartment is at the back of the building.

Top marks to Kathy and family for their hospitality and when (not if) we go back to Iceland Apartment K will be the first place I look up!

  • Liked — Cool design, great location, friendly service
  • Disliked — Ummm... no, can't think of anything!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Arp67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2008

Apartment K is very stylish and in a great location. The owners were very friendly and helpful and even picked us up from the bus station and gave us handy hints as to where to eat/drink etc.

We had a run down of the facilities in the apartment and loved the hard-drive of films (we enjoyed watching a film over breakfast each morning!). The internet wasnt working when we stayed there but this didnt really bother us.

Part of the reason we booked an apartment was so that we could make use of the self-catering facilities....which is why it was a shame when we discovered on our last and 3rd night that the oven did not work! We spoke to the owners who said that there was nothing they could do but they would refund us the cost of the food that we had bought. for our evening meal......we are still waiting for our refund....

  • Liked — decor and location
  • Disliked — Oven not working!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LondonDevongirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 52 in Reykjavik
986 reviews
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#4 of 52 in Reykjavik
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#7 of 52 in Reykjavik
970 reviews
CenterHotel Thingholt
#17 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,605 reviews
Hotel Odinsve
#14 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartment K? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartment K

Property: Apartment K
Address: Thingholtsstraeti, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 102 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartment K 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel apartments for today's design conscious, value-orientated guest. You can't get anymore downtown than this - 10 meters from world-renowned shopping and party street Laugavegur. 3 value studio suites, 4 large 1 bedroom apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Apartment K reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartment k Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing