We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant and quirky accommodation for a stay in Reykjavik”
Review of Apartment K

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Apartment K
Ranked #17 of 110 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We’d definitely recommend Apartment K as a base in Reykjavik. The staff were all extremely helpful and the apartment had all you needed. We chose it because it had a quirky design and we were pleased that it did actually live up to expectations. It was colourfully furnished and gave an impression of typical Icelandic design. It was in the centre of Reykjavik but relatively undisturbed by background noise. We could walk to all the main local attractions so we didn’t need a car (and the Iceland Excursions office was just 3 minutes’ walk away and offered bus trips to almost anywhere if you wanted to go beyond Reykjavik). We will stay again on our next trip to Iceland.

Room Tip: The bathroom design in some could be more functional – in ours, there were pebbles everywhere which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SharonT820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,229)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

728 - 734 of 1,230 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2013

We booked here thinking that the lower price, central location and higher design would benefit us. We're 28 and live in the center city of Boston. So, we know the risks of street noise and what it's like to be in a historic/old building. We also like to go out to bars and are definitely not the type to write a review about not being able to sleep. However...If you value a semi-peaceful sleep, spend a bit more money and book a hotel. We won't be staying here again or recommending to friends.

When we arrived for checkin, the main building (they have buildings everywhere in the city center, and of varying age and quality) has a buzzer outside that connects to the mobile phone of the staff on duty. There seemed to be only one person on duty since we had to buzz several times to be let in. The guy was very nice and helpful, but clearly trying to juggle a million requests.

Our deluxe studio was nice enough, and the building was safe and cute. However, the walls are so thin, we could hear the conversations of our upstairs and downstairs neighbors. The first night, the family above us had a toddler who incessantly stomped on the floor while their infant wailed through the night. It literally sounded like the child was in our apartment.

The second night, a rowdy bunch of guys threw what sounded like a frat party below us until 3 a.m. The staff person on duty answered the phone and came to help quiet them down, but when you can literally hear the person cough below you, there's not much you can do to avoid the incessant, even if quiet, techno and drunken conversations. I'm not a light sleeper, but I couldn't sleep here.

Bottom line, if you have a big family and need the space or are a wild stag party, this might be your place. However, the walls, floors and ceilings are very, very thin.

Room Tip: There are many buildings. Be sure to request one of the newer ones. The walls might be thicker.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DavidG0215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Having booked up in October 2012 for our 29th wedding anniversary we happend to book budget studio/room however that same day we emailed and explained our problem ( we wanted delux studio ) we agreed to pay extra on arrival.
We arrived late Thursday night 10pm and were taken to a Budget room now looking at the photos and size of room we were clearly in the wrong one ! We looked at each other after the man left and said this cannot be right?? ApartmentK have multiple locations.
So we returned to the main one Office to ask we were informed that they DID NOT have a delux room for us but we could stay 1 night check out and find something ourselves !!!!
Great things iPhones as this showed he did have a delux room left for the days we wanted £935 we paid £230 in October 2012
He told LIES he did have a room after all.
The room itself was lovely clean with nearly everything we could have wished for a great location close to town /shops however the locals go out drinking all night till 5am
Friday/Saturday they know how to party.
The room could do with a dark curtain to cover the glass door as people can see in when you have lights on and as in summer it never gets dark this would have helped to get to sleep .
Would I stay here again NO not unless they can change the website which shows what room you will get as other people were complaining about the same as us room choice.
If your still reading sorry to go on a bit but I've never in over 30 years been given the choice take it or checkout !!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Saddlerkevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

My daughter and I were here fri - tues 24-28th may 2013. Very pleased with this apartment.It was ideally situated, just off a main shopping street,not far from harbour.loads of eating places within walking distance.Although street was busy , the appartment we had was very quiet and you could hear no noise at all( we were on the lower floor) We arrived( due to air delay )at 2am in morning and shown our appartment by a friendly owner, It was open plan but contained all we needed,comfy beds, good powerful shower, loo, towels - 4 for 2 people, full equipped kitchen- including dish washer and washing machine( neither of which used as only there on 3 day break ) oven+hob , toaster, coffee machine etc. In the cupboards were tea bags and coffee bags + sugar. large tv in lounge area which also had 2 easy chairs and sofa - yes they were well worn but we were not in Reykjavik to stop all day in room..so were ok. The only comment we made was the lack of a mirror( apart from bathroom one) I personallly did not like the sliding glass door that separated the bathroom from bedroom. You did need to be with family or spouse - my daughter thought it was ok ...perhaps I am old fashioned The appartment was nice and warm and had large radiators that could be adjusted.We could leave our bags in secure room after we had checked out as fight not til later in afternoon. For the two of us on a sightseeing visit, the appartment was just what we wanted and I would thoroughly recommend it

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 11doof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We made a booking from 28/03 until 02/04 at Apartment K. We arrived before 12am and our room was not sorted until 2am. The apartment is terribly short of staff. We were taken to a room that was occupied by a family who were in the middle of their sleep. After that another long wait before we were taken to a room which wasn't properly cleaned (there were used towels on the floor). We were then advised that a free night and 50% off our booking will be provided to us and someone would get in touch to communicate about this but after we left, no one ever got in touch regarding the refund and completely ignored my multiple chasing emails. We are very disappointed with the level of service that we received.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hoai L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We were in apartment 2 in 2-4 Thingholtsstraeti.

Very cool and funky styling, great that there was a lift for luggage, on the doorstep of the main strip of Reykjavik, and office staff there all the time through the day with 24 hour check in.

The apartment itself was maintained by staff every 3 days with a change of bed sheets, and bin emptied. Towels were changed a little more frequently, every 2nd day I believe - for me, this was a completely acceptable and excellent standard as there were 4 big towels in a 2 person apartment.

If you are prudish, this may not be the place for you as there is a a very stylish shower & WC which has a clear sliding door that overlooks remainder of apartment. If you are liberal - you'll maybe like this feature.

The apartment was a great temperature, heaters in apartment could be adjusted yourself and 2 windows can let fresh Icelandic air in no problem. Shower always had hot water.

The bed was big and memory foam mattress was comfortable to rest those tired bones after a busy day sightseeing.

There were 4 car parking spaces available for use at back of apartment, and on street pay through the weekday parking (free at weekends).

Reykjavik main strip is 20 feet away from front door of apartment, very handy! Perfect location.

Noise levels; through the week Sun to Thursday nights, the only noises you'll hear outside are the roadsweeper machines, as they clean up this fantastically beautiful city. But come Friday and Saturday night, you might need earplugs in Apartment K, 2-4 Thingholtsstraeti, this is when the Icelandic kids/young adults come out to play! All Night! Around 5am they'll eventually start drifting off home. So you will hear the bass noises from the nearby clubs and shouts and whistles from the nightclubbers, cars passing down the strip as they tour to see what is going on. It's all part of the experience! If you can't beat them?

Kitchen in Apartment K was well equipped for light cooking, food prep. The oven/microwave/grill combi was Whirlpool and easy to use, there was a little dishwasher, coffee machine, toaster and kettle.

I personally would have liked less open plan, but still would be happy to come back to Apartment K on my next trip! Thank you to the guys in the office - we had an amazing time :)

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynsey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

We booked a one bed deluxe apt for 6 nights and upon arrival got shown to our room - a deluxe studio. Not a bad room (although the see through door on the bathroom raised an eyebrow!) just not what we had paid for. After highlighting the difference between a studio and a one bed to the staff (a one bed apt has a door on the bedroom) we got told there might be something available. "might be"? We had paid for it!

An hour later, after my husband chased up on the issue, we got taken across the street to our alternative apartment. Trendy looking and it was a one bed so we took it. The staff member, however, did have a pretty miserable look on his face, as if it had been such an inconvenience that we wanted the room we paid for.

The apartment itself was clean. Heating wasn't great but we weren't cold at any point. The bed was huge and comfy but only a bed in the room with one bedside table. No storage space. Also no black out curtains or sound proof windows so not great if you are a light sleeper like me! Bathroom had a frosted, sliding door this time, but the shower let water everywhere (it was a powerful shower though). Kitchen was stocked with tea, coffee and sugar, but none of the cupboard doors had handles so it was a pain to get to anything.  TV offered English channels but the remote was broken so changing channels was annoying.

All of that being said, location can't be beaten. You are in the hub so everything is right there. That has a downside on the weekends with the late night partying that has been mentioned by others. Luckily we were there Sunday-Saturday so this only bugged us on the Friday night. Had a late flight so didn't bother us too much, but it's something to think about if you are a light sleeper and are there over a weekend.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KiddyReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#17 of 54 in Reykjavik
3,833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Laxnes
#1 of 1 in Mosfellsbaer
1,089 reviews
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Hotel Odinsve
#15 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartment K? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartment K

Address: Thingholtsstraeti 2-4, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 110 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range: $107 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartment K 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel apartments for today's design conscious, value-orientated guest. You can't get anymore downtown than this - 10 meters from world-renowned shopping and party street Laugavegur. 3 value studio suites, 4 large 1 bedroom apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Apartment K reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartment k Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing