We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Apartment K

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Apartment K
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Perfect location, clean, tidy and morden. The apartment had everything you needed and more! it even had a coffee machine. Woud go back to Iceland and Apartment K anytime. Everybody should go to Iceland, The most wonderful and magical place I have ever been and having a lovely apartment to come back to at the end of the day made it even more perfect.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank HannaPugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,070 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    468
    340
    140
    73
    49
See reviews for
161
563
60
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
91 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

Apartment K is in the heart of Reykjavik and easily accessible to everywhere, with an unbeatable location.

Iceland was such a wonderful experience for me, everything was perfect.

The apartment we got was the best, I think. You can park a car nearby and walk to anywhere in town.

There are lovely cafes and bars nearby which open till early morning. Many gift stores around as well.

Everyone is friendly and there is a tourist centre just next door.

The double-storey apartment has everything you need. It was so homely I almost cried when we had to leave.

Rooms are well-made up in a simple manner, and the living room has a tv stocked with many international channels.

Bathroom was simple but there is a heated rack to dry your clothes. We had great trouble with the water temperature though and had to seek help from the person-in-charge of Apartment K.

Heaven on earth. No one should miss this hotel in Reykjavik!

Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank wintryposy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

We usually rent apartments when we travel, and were pleased to find Apartment K. We found it through Expedia, but I've also seen it listed through AirBnB. Our cost was about $60/night in February; that was for a studio, but we were upgraded to a one-bedroom as a "sorry" for not being ready on Day One due to a music festival.

Arriving and finding your room isn't available can be a real pain, but they handled it very well. We arrived early in the day (U.S. flights arrive around 6:45 am) and found they had already arranged a hotel room (on their cost) for the first night, and drove us there. They even negotiated with the hotel for us to check in at 10 am instead of 3 pm, which let us have a pleasant nap. The next morning, by arrangement, they collected us at the hotel and took us to the apartment.

The apartment we were in (they have several buildings) was in a modern building on Laugurveg, one of the main shopping and eating streets. Over a store, not a bar, so late-night life was not a problem--but only a few minutes walk to city center, the harbor, shops, restaurants and more. As it so often is, clearly furnished (but nicely) by IKEA. Plenty of towels (refreshed after Day 4), good comfortable bed with Scandinavian style duvets, and a balcony that must be wonderful in warmer weather.

Plenty of kitchen gear...but oddly, neither oven nor microwave. Dishwasher, coffee maker etc. and just down the block from a large Bonus grocery. Many TV channels available and good wifi, and effective heating.

Room Tip: If possible, ask for Laugavegur 46 location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank pheymont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

I'm a big fan of staying in apartments rather than hotel rooms when I'm away, and Apartment K hasn't changed that. We arrived late on a Friday night, and were able to check in without any issues, and even got upgraded to a 1 bed apartment rather than the studio we originally booked.Gorgeous and spacious apartment on Bergstaðastræti which was a 2 minute walk from the main Apartment K building and close to everything you need - sights, shops, bars and restaurants. It was next to the popular Kafebarrin bar so there was some noise late at night/early hours of the morning but from looking around at other hotel reviews, it seems to be just one of those things if you're near the main street and we soon stopped noticing it after the first night. Also, you do get that 'eggy' sulphur smell when you run water but again, it's just one of those Reykjavik things I think! In summary, a great base to explore Reykjavik.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JMM80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

I'd asked for an appartment close to bars and restuarants but quiet and that is what I got. Our appartment was at the back of the main building on Thingholsstraeti, just a few seconds from one of the main streets. Clean, with a living area with table, 2 chairs and sofa.Kitchen area with kettle, toaster, fridge, oven, dishwasher, washing machine. What more could you ask for? The bedroom was compact but with a double bed and large TV. The only thing I would say is that the button to alert someone that you want to check in could be better marked as the reception area is not manned. We weren't the only ones to wander around looking for someone. Very happy to recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank BobBarnsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandysul, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

Our lovely apartment was warm and superbly equipped. The kitchen area had a fridge, oven and dishwasher plus tea and coffee making facilities. The sitting area had two settee's, TV and wifi.......the bathroom area featured a superb shower ......and underfloor heating everywhere!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank CJSWhitstable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

This appartment is directly on Laugavegur, right in the center, but it is a quiet and cosy accomodation. The interiour is tastefully designed, it is a very pleasant place to be.
The bed is really big and comfortable, the sun shines right on it in the morning and you can step on the balcony to catch some fresh icelandic air to start the day.
The kitchen facility is very well equipped, you really have anything you need. There's a luxuriously huge TV-Montitor on the wall, but I rather looked out of the window into the illuminated Street. There's a wonderful atmosphere in the appartment you can just sit there and enjoy it. Thanks very much, also for the kind care. I'd love to come back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Birgit G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 53 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#7 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Castle House Luxury Apartments
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartment K? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartment K

Property: Apartment K
Address: Thingholtsstraeti, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 98 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartment K 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel apartments for today's design conscious, value-orientated guest. You can't get anymore downtown than this - 10 meters from world-renowned shopping and party street Laugavegur. 3 value studio suites, 4 large 1 bedroom apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Apartment K reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartment k Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing