We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean and central”
Review of Apartment K

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Apartment K
Ranked #16 of 106 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
spain
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“clean and central”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

when we the booking was made we did not specify that we needed 2 beds, hence the first flat we saw was not suitable as it had just one double bedroom. The staff member that we saw (who was very polite) pointed out that we had not made that clear when we booked the room. we were moved to another flat, in another building, by car and the new flat was fine - but with several odd features, more of that later! It had a sitting room with kitchen, and a bedroom, and at 2.00 am the aforesaid staff member went out in the pouring rain and brought bedding for the bed settee in the sitting room.

The bathroom had a glass door right next to the toilet which meant a total lack of privacy, we rigged up a curtain to cover the door but without it this would have been a really awkward situation - not matter how intimate one is it really isn't too great to be sitting on the loo in full view of the dining table and kitchen. I could not see the need for a glass door in this situation - there was plenty of light in the bathroom, unlike the rest of the flat, where we had to trot around with the few lamps that there were to see what we were doing.

On my return I have been charged 5000 Iceland kroner extra on my card. I have queried this and been told that it was a charge for extra bedding. I am not going to argue with Apartment K about this, but think it is a bit cheeky.

There is a lovely pub under the flat where we stayed in Ingolfstraeti, called the Naesti Bar. It is not nasty at all, and the owner is Spanish and really sweet, reasonable drinks. We weren't bothered by the noise, but we were not there during the weekend.

I am going back to Reyjavik this summer, but wll be staying somewhere else.

Room Tip: make sure that you tell them that you are not a couple when you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janenowinspain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    485
    369
    163
    83
    61
See reviews for
192
599
62
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Apartment K has a great location, in the middle of Reykjavik's historic centre - but that's also its main problem. Our apartment (no 1, on Ingolfsstraeti) was on a busy street, directly above Bar Naesti, which stays open until around 5am on weekends, so we had little to no sleep - despite the fact I'd emailed previously about the noise issue and been assured we'd have a quiet room! There was also no Apple TV or Mini Mac loaded with films, as we were told that "could not be guaranteed". The toilet lid was cracked and a half-eaten biscuit was left in the bedroom when we arrived. The bathroom also has a glass door and is opposite the bedroom, so your fellow guest can see everything you're doing and the shower has only a flimsy curtain, which does nothing to stop the water going all over the floor.
It's a real shame, because the price and location mean Apartment K could be great. In hindsight, I would rather have paid more and stayed in a hotel.

Room Tip: Only stay in apartment 1, Ingolfsstraeti, if you intend staying out all night at weekends!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bec1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

Great apartment, perfect for what we needed.
Only negatives about our apartment was a lack of oven and bath. But with so many great places to eat nearby oven was not a huge issue.
Sky tv was nice for relaxing evenings in. Great communication before we arrived and we loved every minute of our holiday!!

Thank you!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eddie_tcfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, UK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed in Apartment K in the end of October, 2012. We were overcharged for our room, and when we realized it (we were quoted in Euros, but the charge was made in IKR), we asked them about it. They said they would refund the overpayment to my credit card, but never did.
After leaving Iceland I realized they still hadn't refunded my card, and have been trying to contact them ever since, but with no response.
I'm now having to ask my credit card company / bank to do a charge-back of the amount, since the staff at Apartment K won't respond to any of my enquiries.
It's been over 2 months, and they still haven't said a single thing. Terrible service.
Too bad, because their apartment was quite nice... but I would avoid them in the future.

Room Tip: You have no idea which of their several apartments you'll be put in until you show up, as far as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank zzziah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed in Apartment K in their main building in a budget, studio apartment. This was more than big enough for us - having a large super king size bed, amazing shower, kitchenette, satellite TV and living area.

Was beautifully clean and had all mod cons ideal for a few days in the capital.

The location really is unbeatable. The main block is one block away from a cheap supermarket (ideal if you're travelling on a budget) and right next door to the tourist information centre which is really great for sorting trips, car rental etc.

Main positives: 1. Price - definitely worth it for what you get.
2. Modern apartment which is clean and welcoming
3. Excellent heating facilities
4. LOCATION - cannot be beaten and would definitely recommend over some of the out of town hotels like Hotel Cabin. Apartment K is within walking distance of pretty much everything downtown.

Negatives: 1. Wifi isn't great in the downstairs apartments
2. Can be a bit of a nightmare checking in if no-one is there to answer the buzzer - we waited about 10 minutes, which while not being ages, is a bit annoying in the pouring down rain
3. Check in time is 3pm, which I think is fairly typical of Iceland, but if you arrive (like we did) at 11am in torrential rain, then it's a bit hard killing a lot of time in Reykjavik when all you want to do after a long flight is take a shower and unpack. It'd be good if Apartment K offered the chance to let them know if you're arriving early so that you could perhaps have an earlier check in, particularly as check out time is 11am at the latest.
4. THE GLASS DOORS ON THE BATHROOM ARE AN ABSOLUTE NIGHTMARE! This warrants capslock as, seriously, what were they thinking?! There is literally NO privacy from the toilet area to the sleeping/living area. You actually sit on the toilet looking directly out to the sofa and bed. It's impossible to avoid having to be seen. This wasn't all that bad as we were travelling as a couple, but if you were sharing with a friend, or whatever, then this is definitely a big no no, and I simply cannot understand why they chose glass. Seriously, it's not even frosted - it is completely clear, and because the bathrooms are windowless then you have to have the lights on making yourself even more obvious!

Apartment K really need to look in to this as it's very offputting and would really deter me from booking again, should I ever be in the capital, as there are some things that you most definitely need privacy for! Even if it was frosted or something it would be okay, but being completely clear is just pretty vile really.

Apart from that, I would recommend staying due to the location and facilities alone. Check out was good as we just left the apartment key on the table and headed off without having to worry about anything, however you are expected to give credit (not debit) card details upon arriving in case of a smoking deposit, so be aware of this if you are travelling without one.

Room Tip: Ask if it's possible to get a room without a see through bathroom door - if there are any! Be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peacarwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavík
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

This apartment was awesome to walk into, clean and tidy and in a fantastic location. Next to main st, tourist office and transport, the only small drama was the noise from people walking in the apartment above,and we were there for 6 days and didn't come around to empty bins or fresh towel.i understood they were self contained but I think that is very important, and maybe a washing facility in the complex would also be handy,, but all in all a nice apartment to relax after a day of adventure,,,,

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank brett a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

Very spacious, modern and clean. No 3 is close to all that reykjavik has to offer. Very central. Good facilities. Would recommend. If you are a light sleeper the night life can keep you awake on fri and Sat, but other than that excellent.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mod59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#4 of 52 in Reykjavik
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Odinsve
#15 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,154 reviews
CenterHotel Thingholt
#18 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,641 reviews
Miõborg
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
#19 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartment K? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartment K

Property: Apartment K
Address: Thingholtsstraeti, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 106 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartment K 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel apartments for today's design conscious, value-orientated guest. You can't get anymore downtown than this - 10 meters from world-renowned shopping and party street Laugavegur. 3 value studio suites, 4 large 1 bedroom apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Apartment K reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartment k Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing