We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great 4-star hotel, good location”
Review of 4th Floor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
4th Floor Hotel
Ranked #48 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Reviewed June 11, 2014

We stayed in this nice hotel in July 2013. The hotel is located nicely close to the main street, and sea shore. The airport bus will take you in the front of the hotel. There are plenty of restaurants close by, you should remember that Reykjavik is really small city, and easily accessible by walking.
We had room with shared bathroom/WC, and there was not any kind of problem with sharing the facilities with other quests. Room was large enough, and included fridge, tap and sink. There is at least one grocery store ca. 5-10 minutes walk away.
Breakfast was really nice, and had lot of things to choose: pastry, veggies, cheese, meats, yoghurt, fruits, juices etc.
I really can recommend this hotel, it was totally nice experience. You should also remember that hotel prices are really high in Iceland, especially during summer months. So the quality/price ratio is not always that good. It is also quite common to share bathroom facilities in Iceland, because the building costs are higher for there facilities.

Room Tip: We had a nice room with sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VenlaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (405)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

162 - 168 of 405 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2014

This is an average hotel with average service and breakfast included. We stayed a couple of nights and it was ok for that length of time. The room was hot, no AC, but could leave window open later in the evening as there are no bugs! Good location, walked around town, took the tour buses that are arranged through the front desk staff to the Blue Lagoon, the Circle tour and back to airport. It was a little noisy on Saturday night.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main street (less noisy) or on 2nd floor as it is cooler during the hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seetheworld2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night and thought we could relax in the morning but the noise from the street is terrible. Also the cleaning people were here very early cleaning the toilets and you can't miss what's happening there
The staff was not very welcoming or nice.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank islandesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

This small hotel was perfect for my 24 hours in Reykjavik! The ladies at reception were kind and helpful. My room was clean and had everything I needed and the free wifi worked well. The decor isn't my taste, black and zebra stripes but I couldn't see it when I was happily sleeping. The included breakfast buffet was decent but coffee was nothing special. Good fair price and very nice people and good service. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

It couldn't be in a better location. Within easy walking distance to restaurants, shops and plenty of sightseeing. The people at this hotel are super friendly and extremely helpful. They helped us book tours and we rented a car there (price was great and they have a small fleet of vehicles in the basement garage). Overall, an absolutely great experience. We got upgraded to one of the apartments, which was very nice (and clean) .... it had to be 500-600 square feet (Apt 403), with a small little patio, full kitchen, washer/dryer, absolutely comfy bed, nice flat screen (got three English channels) and plenty of closet space. We were there five nights and had no complaints. The free breakfast was good .... could have had a little more variety, but overall it was fine. We walked around Reykjavik a quite a bit, saw many of the other hotels and I'd be hard pressed to find another hotel with a better location. Plus, a little grocery store right across the street, which was perfect when we needed to pick up a couple items. We booked our reservation on Booking.com, got a great price and everything worked out perfectly. Airport Express, for airport transportation, dropped us off and picked us up right in front of the hotel. Location, location, location ..... and, a very, very nice hotel.

Room Tip: If you can get an apartment, go for it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Was staying in 4th floor for my 5 days visit to Iceland in November. Did choise it the last minute and it was reallt what I needed.

Only positive sides there reallty. Superb location, just beside main street, all shopping and eating beside and sea walk too. Super clean, room are ok size and nicely decorated, very confy. Nice breakfast,quite tasty.

Was reallt amazed by the service. Staff are super efficient and helpful. We booked hotel online. On our arrival, they were kinda waiting for us. They had the key and wi-fi codes ready, called be by the name as did see it from the booking on my arrival. Was so surprised, as all staff were so efficient, they gave us so much info, booked all the trips for us, heped us with the map and made our holiday so convenient and special.

Hotel was very cheap too. Super good value for money, especially having in mind that it is Iceland.

So would really very much reccoment it.

Thanks so much 4th floor hotel!!!!Iceland the one of the very few places i would surely be back..

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ezisty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

This was an excellent choice for our stay in Reykjavik. It is centrally located right in the city so there is easy access to almost anywhere. We walked most of the time even though we had a rental car. The free breakfast at the cafe downstairs is a great bonus, a good buffet with a selection for just about anyone.
The rooms are nice, the beds comfortable and staff was helpful as needed. The value was good as most know Iceland is an expensive country to visit so we were pleased with the price of this hotel.
Only con was limited parking for rental car but there is a nearby place you can park for free. It's about 2 blocks away.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank somuch2see29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Háaleiti
Hotel Vik Arctic Comfort
Hotel Vik Arctic Comfort
#42 of 54 in Reykjavik
568 reviews
Háaleiti
Hotel Island
Hotel Island
#36 of 54 in Reykjavik
585 reviews
Metropolitan Hotel
#50 of 54 in Reykjavik
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Leifur Eiriksson
#25 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,441 reviews
Miõborg
CenterHotel Klopp
CenterHotel Klopp
#34 of 54 in Reykjavik
956 reviews
Fosshotel Lind
#35 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 4th Floor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 4th Floor Hotel

Address: Snorrabraut 29 | Laugavegur 101, Reykjavik 105, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range: $84 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — 4th Floor Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4th Floor Hotel operates as a budget conscious hotel with affordable rooms suited to all the needs of our guests. Location, we got that covered! The main shopping street, Laugavegur, begins at our hotel. Car rental and coffee bar on site at the hotel! Free breakfast! Free wifi! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your 4th Floor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing