We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth every penny and more!!”
Review of 4th Floor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
4th Floor Hotel
Ranked #47 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Worth every penny and more!!”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Fantastic experience staying at this hotel. We were given a room upgrade on arrival..so we ended up getting a studio apartment..which was awesome :). The service at this hotel was amazing. Magdalena and another lady (sorry I didn't get her name) went out of their way to be helpful. Usually the staff provide information only if guests ask them questions but at this hotel the staff was so friendly and did their best to ensure you are comfortable. They also proactively checked with our tour companies to ensure our bookings were confirmed etc which was good because the tour company we booked with to get to the airport didn't have our names on their list even though we had a confirmation email from them.
The accommodation is good, breakfast is nice but the best part is the location - 10 min walk to the Hallgrímskirkja Church, high street is across the road, plenty of restaurants to choose from, a supermarket across the road with a Thai take away restaurant close to it, the sun voyager sculpture is a 5 min walk. The old harbour is also within walking distance.
I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pramela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    157
    84
    27
    25
See reviews for
52
144
59
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Turku, Finland
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

The 4th floor hotel is in the heart of Reykjavik. Just a short walk to nearest restaurants, stores, clubs and sights.
Some of the rooms have a shared bathroom. In our case that was ok, because we were a large group who knew eachother, may be a little awkward if your "roomie" is a stranger. The doors have locks though. Rooms have been interiored nicely, slightly modern.
It was not expensive at all, compared to other hotels in Reykjavik.
Breakfast was really good, even if the assortment wasn't that broad.
Receptionist really nice and friendly.
A free bus to and from the hotel-airport.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeanetteML94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

In a city of expensive hotels, this is not an exception but looking at the rates, it was one of the most reasonable. We were hesitant because of the shared bathroom but it turned out to be just fine. The hotel rooms are on the 4th floor of a building block (hence the name). Our room was a very good size with comfortable beds. A washbasin was also in the room. The TV had a decent selection of English channels.

The hotel is on a main road, and if you sleep with windows open you will get some traffic and street noise from the locals returning from their parties at dawn on weekends. But we did not have much trouble sleeping through that.

As I said, the main compromise was the shared bath, but it was always clean and never had to wait to use it. It was only a couple of doors down the corridor.

Breakfast was also good, served at the ground floor cafe. They can take care of early departures etc.

The hotel is located next to the main shopping street which has lots of restaurants and tourist shops so it is convenient. You can walk everywhere of interest from here without needing public transport. Staff at reception was nice and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worldtravelplus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stay in the Hotel for a week on september 2013, A very good location, the apartment was equipped with the best, nice staff, clean hotel, spacious rooms, all that a tourist need for a nice sejour. Very reasonable price.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yakov e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawley, Minnesota, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

I loved the fact that the hotel was themed. I know that's not for everyone, but I found the zebra theme to be fun and not overdone. Great location right downtown, and very reasonable priced. The breakfast at the little attached cafe was great too.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abby S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herzlia, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Nice hotel especially if you take/get the apartments' section. Great location. Breakfast OK but not more. the apartments are fully equipped including full fledge kitchen, nice salon + 50" TV. Be ready for he H2S smell...........

Room Tip: try get an upgrade. they give u if they can
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amos S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goderich, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

...except the door to our room would rattle very loudly whenever someone come through the stree level door. This happened every time someone came in or left the hotel and was a bit annoying.

Other than that our stay was fine. Friendly staff, clean and spacious room and in a good location.

The breakfast buffet was great, however, the dishes could have been washed a bit better. I grabbed 2 or 3 plates and coffee cups before I found one that I'd actually want to use.

This is a decent hotel, reasonably priced and in a good location that we would recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jkingma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Háaleiti
Hotel Vik Arctic Comfort
Hotel Vik Arctic Comfort
#40 of 52 in Reykjavik
536 reviews
Centerhotel Midgardur
#11 of 52 in Reykjavik
567 reviews
Hotel Leifur Eiriksson
#25 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Hotel Fron
Hotel Fron
#27 of 52 in Reykjavik
2,204 reviews
Háaleiti
Hotel Island
Hotel Island
#34 of 52 in Reykjavik
513 reviews
Fosshotel Baron
#37 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 4th Floor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 4th Floor Hotel

Property: 4th Floor Hotel
Address: Snorrabraut 29 | Laugavegur 101, Reykjavik 105, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — 4th Floor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4th Floor Hotel operates as both a boutique and a budget conscious hotel with affordable rooms suited to all the needs of our guests. Location, we got that covered! The main shopping street, Laugavegur, begins at our hotel. Car rental and coffee bar on site at the hotel! Free breakfast! Free wifi! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your 4th Floor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing