We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel for the value” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Centerhotel Arnarhvoll

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Centerhotel Arnarhvoll
Ranked #23 of 53 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
74 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good hotel for the value”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

Very helpful staff. Fast wifi throughout the hotel. Very good location in the center of town, with waterfront views. Rooms are very warm and clean. However, the rooms are very small. Bathroom is ridiculously small, with a shower "folding out". Can't help it but get the entire bathroom wet when taking a shower. Blow-dryers are a joke.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelNat8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    427
    555
    188
    33
    19
See reviews for
151
683
81
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

From the moment you arrive the staff are warm and welcoming. I'd opted for a deluxe room and it was certainly worth it for the views alone. The spa was very good and the breakfast which is served from the top floor restaurant (again with great views) had a wide selection of tasty options. I'd definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank funster1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

This hotel was mostly good. It was in a really good spot, right across the street from Harpa and a short walking distance to the majority of restaurants/shops in the city. We had beautiful views out of our window of the water and mountains. The room was clean & a decent size for being in the city. The breakfast was really good (the best in any of the hotels where we stayed in Iceland) and had many hot items like bacon, eggs, and sausage. The views from the restaurant were also really beautiful. The staff was very friendly and helpful, and I liked that they had a sign-up sheet to have your room called if there were any northern lights. My only complaints are the shower/bathroom size and the noise from the hotel rooms. I didn't expect the shower to be good after reading the reviews here, and I didn't mind the weird door set-up, but the showerhead was sort of broken with water spraying out everywhere and the water temperature would shift from hot to cold randomly. There was also hardly any space to shower even with the "door" open. The other thing was the noise. Every time someone shut or opened their door on our floor it sounded like someone was trying to get into our room (and it startled us every time!). The doors didn't really block out any sound from the hallway and they felt like they weren't shutting all the way even when they were. I'd definitely recommend this hotel for a shorter stay (we stayed 2 nights), but I'm not sure I'd want to base my whole trip out of it. The shower/noise thing could've gotten annoying after a while.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank michelle b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rotherham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Staff were friendly and knowledgeable, rooms very, nice but not much space for clothes (we stayed a week) breakfast was tasty but a bit on the cool side. Good position for Reykjavik and tour booking x overall we would book this hotel again...
...after all they did have happy hour on the beer !!

Room Tip: Ask for a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gaynormartyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for four nights mid November 2012. The main reason to pick this hotel was that it is opposite the Harpa building, where I was attending a conference. Besides Harpa, it's also close (or in) downtown Reykjavik. From the rooms, there was a nice view over Harpa and the bay. Given it was November and dark, I couldn't really profit from the Panorama restaurant. Staff was friendly, the receptionist offered a wake-up call in case of emerging northern light (and the only little bit of northern light I saw during my stay, was after such a wake-up call). Personally, I found the room a bit dull (I didn't see the 'design' element, it was just very spartan) and the breakfast rather basic (compared to a cheaper hotel a bit out of the center where I had stayed one year earlier). For the latter two reasons, the overall score is 'average' and not 'very good'.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristopheDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Lovely hotel in the center of Reykjavic. Easy walking to dining, shopping, and the bay. The staff is wonderful and very helpful. Breakfast was included. We love Iceland, but do not expect great food. The breads were wonderful however, and service in the restaurants we tried was impeccable. Going back in 1 month!

Room Tip: All the rooms are radiant heated from the floor up. The beds were all down pillows and comforters (w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

A clean and modern hotel in an excellent location. We got a room facing the sea. Had an awesome panoramic view of the Esja mountain range. Due to the low level of light pollution around the mountains, we managed to catch a glimpse of the northern lights from the comfort of our hotel room! While the hotel claims to notify guests (by calling your room) if there are northern lights at night, don't count on it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JamieCJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
CenterHotel Thingholt
#18 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,512 reviews
Miõborg
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik
Hotel Borg by Keahotels
#22 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
CenterHotel Plaza
CenterHotel Plaza
#35 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,628 reviews
Miõborg
CenterHotel Klopp
CenterHotel Klopp
#36 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centerhotel Arnarhvoll? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centerhotel Arnarhvoll

Property: Centerhotel Arnarhvoll
Address: Ingolfsstraeti 1, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Centerhotel Arnarhvoll 3.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Centerhotel Arnarhvoll reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centerhotel Arnarhvoll Reykjavík
Centerhotel Arnarhvoll Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing