We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Centerhotel Arnarhvoll

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Centerhotel Arnarhvoll
Ranked #22 of 60 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

This hotel was mostly good. It was in a really good spot, right across the street from Harpa and a short walking distance to the majority of restaurants/shops in the city. We had beautiful views out of our window of the water and mountains. The room was clean & a decent size for being in the city. The breakfast was really good (the best in any of the hotels where we stayed in Iceland) and had many hot items like bacon, eggs, and sausage. The views from the restaurant were also really beautiful. The staff was very friendly and helpful, and I liked that they had a sign-up sheet to have your room called if there were any northern lights. My only complaints are the shower/bathroom size and the noise from the hotel rooms. I didn't expect the shower to be good after reading the reviews here, and I didn't mind the weird door set-up, but the showerhead was sort of broken with water spraying out everywhere and the water temperature would shift from hot to cold randomly. There was also hardly any space to shower even with the "door" open. The other thing was the noise. Every time someone shut or opened their door on our floor it sounded like someone was trying to get into our room (and it startled us every time!). The doors didn't really block out any sound from the hallway and they felt like they weren't shutting all the way even when they were. I'd definitely recommend this hotel for a shorter stay (we stayed 2 nights), but I'm not sure I'd want to base my whole trip out of it. The shower/noise thing could've gotten annoying after a while.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank michelle b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,056 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    482
    164
    29
    15
See reviews for
132
573
74
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
rotherham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Staff were friendly and knowledgeable, rooms very, nice but not much space for clothes (we stayed a week) breakfast was tasty but a bit on the cool side. Good position for Reykjavik and tour booking x overall we would book this hotel again...
...after all they did have happy hour on the beer !!

Room Tip: Ask for a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gaynormartyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for four nights mid November 2012. The main reason to pick this hotel was that it is opposite the Harpa building, where I was attending a conference. Besides Harpa, it's also close (or in) downtown Reykjavik. From the rooms, there was a nice view over Harpa and the bay. Given it was November and dark, I couldn't really profit from the Panorama restaurant. Staff was friendly, the receptionist offered a wake-up call in case of emerging northern light (and the only little bit of northern light I saw during my stay, was after such a wake-up call). Personally, I found the room a bit dull (I didn't see the 'design' element, it was just very spartan) and the breakfast rather basic (compared to a cheaper hotel a bit out of the center where I had stayed one year earlier). For the latter two reasons, the overall score is 'average' and not 'very good'.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristopheDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Lovely hotel in the center of Reykjavic. Easy walking to dining, shopping, and the bay. The staff is wonderful and very helpful. Breakfast was included. We love Iceland, but do not expect great food. The breads were wonderful however, and service in the restaurants we tried was impeccable. Going back in 1 month!

Room Tip: All the rooms are radiant heated from the floor up. The beds were all down pillows and comforters (w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

A clean and modern hotel in an excellent location. We got a room facing the sea. Had an awesome panoramic view of the Esja mountain range. Due to the low level of light pollution around the mountains, we managed to catch a glimpse of the northern lights from the comfort of our hotel room! While the hotel claims to notify guests (by calling your room) if there are northern lights at night, don't count on it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JamieCJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bingley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night as part of a stay in Iceland
On the plus side;
• Small free car park at the rear (if you are lucky enough to get one of the 4 or 5 spaces)
• Chose a delux room which included spa entrance, a larger room and high floor sea rooms- worth it if you can afford the upgrade
• Handy central location
• Modern

But;
• Arrived before check in time and room was not ready – although they did offer to store the case whilst the room was prepared to enable you to go out
• The bathroom is a wet room and everything does really get very wet when you have a shower
• Average breakfast could be better quality

Overall would I stay here again after visiting….yes, I would

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a delux room- you get a guaranteed sea view and included spa entrance
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thecoaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We had a 3 night stay here in March 2013. The hotel was very clean and the staff very friendly. Nothing was too much trouble for them. Recommendations for restaurants were very good and the breakfast at the hotel could set you up for the day. Our room overlooked the sea and distant mountains. The views from the restaurant were amazing and it was only a short walk to the centre of Reykjavik. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Try and get a room overlooking the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlisonF123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
CenterHotel Thingholt
#17 of 60 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 stars 1,357 reviews
Centerhotel Midgardur
#9 of 60 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 stars 241 reviews
Miõborg
CenterHotel Plaza
CenterHotel Plaza
#36 of 60 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 stars 1,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Skuggi Hotel by Keahotels
Skuggi Hotel by Keahotels
#7 of 60 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 stars 668 reviews
Laugardalur
Storm Hotel by Keahotels
Storm Hotel by Keahotels
#13 of 60 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 stars 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centerhotel Arnarhvoll? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centerhotel Arnarhvoll

Property: Centerhotel Arnarhvoll
Address: Ingolfsstraeti 1, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Centerhotel Arnarhvoll 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Centerhotel Arnarhvoll reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centerhotel Arnarhvoll Reykjavík
Centerhotel Arnarhvoll Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing