We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room with a view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Centerhotel Arnarhvoll
Ranked #26 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, UK
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Room with a view”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Yes the rooms are small, but no smaller than some hotels I've stayed at in London and how much time do you spend there? The bathroom does get wet due to the compact shower layout, but dries out quickly. Due to the underfloor heating, the rooms all have tiled floors, which is not great when the person in the room above is wearing shoes. Our neighbour above sounded like they were tap dancing into the small hours!The main positives are location; a few minutes walk from all the main amenities. Excellent buffet breakfast on the 8th floor with a fabulous view too. All of the staff we encountered were friendly and helpful. It's worth mentioning that the "Panaroma" restaurant no longer exists. They now only offer a small selection of bar snacks and this has been rebranded to 'Sky Lounge'. Happy hour between 1700-1900 2 for 1 on Viking beer!

All in all a nice place to stay. The only serious concern I had was the fact that they appeared to be using part of the fire escape as a store room on the 8th floor (glasses, step ladders, beer keg). I hope this was just due to the redecorating going on due to the restaurant rebranding, but I'll leave it to the hotel to explain their actions.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 212 which has a view across the water to the mountains in the distance
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Esoteric_Mind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CH_channelmanager, Manager at Centerhotel Arnarhvoll, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear Esoteric_Mind,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us and other travelers. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are also happy to hear that you enjoyed the services of our staff. We are however very sorry that you experienced noise from the room above you.

We are also happy to announce that we are launching the new SKY bar & lounge on the 8th floor of CenterHotel Arnarhvoll. We are very excited about this and are introducing a bar menu at the moment. SKY bar & lounge offers the most spectacular views over the sea, mountains and Harpa concert Hall.

Thank you very much for bringing the fire escape matter to our attention. We will address that immediately and make sure that all fire escapes are clear.

We certainly hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Iceland and CenterHotels in the future.

Please do not hesitate to contact me personally if you have any questions.

Sincerely,

Eva Josteinsdottir
Director of Operations
CenterHotels
eva@centerhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    454
    612
    218
    37
    22
See reviews for
169
756
92
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (384)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

I won't repeat some of the slightly negative points that people have highlighted but can honestly say that whilst the rooms are a little small and the bathrooms do take some skill to keep dry the hotel offers a great value, great view, great location (away from any late night noise) coupled with excellent staff always willing to help at reception and at the new 'sky bar' on the top floor I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this as a base in Reykjavik ..,

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m8oro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

I must admit this hotel was very nice for the price. On a positive note, it is very modern and clean with very friendly staff. Iceland locals are very nice and friendly in general. Breakfast was fresh buffet style and it was on the top floor of the hotel with an amazing view (definitely a pleasant way to start your day). They have free wifi and it is located very close to the main shopping street. They offer a service at the desk to give wake hp calls to anyone that wants to see the northern lights when they are visible. The shower doesnt close all the way. Its not much of an issue, just keep it in mind to avoiding getting your belongings wet. The jacuzzi was a nice bonus for when you come back after hikes and tours and it was usually pretty empty. Unfortunately this bonus is the only downfall to the place. After getting into the clear water I noticed it started to look dirty, the movement russled up all of the dust on the jacuzzi floor which was pretty gross. It obviously hasnt been cleaned for a while. I would recommend this hotel to anyone because it only had one downfall in an amenity that most guests do not use anyway. I had a wonderful stay here and would love to come back again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank km08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in a standard room. Good size, clean and and serviced by the house keeping everyday. The only qualm is the strange shower that wets the whole toilet when one showers. Not practical for the second person so what we did was to take turn to shower - one in the morning and one in the evening. And the hallway carpets certainly needs changing. Service by the reception staff was excellent! And in fact, customer service is Iceland is excellent! The best I've experienced in Europe! Icelanders are definitely a bunch of nice, friendly and genuine people - this is evident from the beyond excellent services anywhere you go in Iceland. Free wifi is everywhere (the hotel provides free wifi too). Breakfast was good and sufficient, served on the top floor restaurant with fantastic view! On our departure day, warm croissant, juice, coffee and tea were served at the lobby before our 435am pick up. What more could you ask for? I can highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CookieMon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesex UK
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Just stayed one night here. Lovely clean & comfy room, but it was quite small. Certainly no problem for a short stay. Near to the city sights, shops & restaurants with great view of the magnificent opera house. Lovely restaurant views, good variety for breakfast but the hot food wasn't very hot at all. Staff very helpful. Overall a good choice though. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally5446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

This hotel is centrally located, staff are very help and the breakfast is fast class!

Those were the only good things from our stay. Spent 2 nights on the last lap of our drive round Iceland. We were given a ground floor room. Big mistake! It felt as if our room had no windows! It was so noisy it felt like being outside. The TV remote did not work. The shower cubicle was a funny contraption which meant the whole shower room flooded if you had a shower. The staff kept leaving huge metal trolleys in the corridors which guests had to keep moving aside when heading to their rooms creating more noise.

The room was too small for the furniture. I would have been very cross if we'd paid full price for this. Luckily, it was done with airmiles and we paid an extra £10 which pretty much covers breakfast!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoyAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CH_channelmanager, Manager at Centerhotel Arnarhvoll, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear JoyAR,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us and other travelers. We are thrilled to hear that you thought of the breakfast as the best breakfast in all of Iceland. We feel that it is important to provide all our guests with a wonderful start to their day of excursions and excitement in Iceland.

We are very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your room at CenterHotel Arnarhvoll. Unfortunately the rooms on the ground floor do not provide the view the rooms on the upper floors provide. Thank you for mentioning the trolleys in the corridor. You are absolutely right. They should not be left in the corridor.
We have shared your experience with all our staff and management and will take your comments and learn from them.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Iceland and CenterHotels in the future. On your next stay, you could try to request a room on the upper floors or perhaps book a Deluxe room that offers views of either the city or the ocean and the mountains.

Please do not hesitate to contact me personally if you have any questions or if I can assist with anything at all.

Sincerely,

Eva Jósteinsdóttir
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

I booked in October 2012 for my wife and I to stay one night in March 2013 at CenterHotel Thingholt between a trip to northern Iceland and our flight back to the UK. I chose it because of reviews, price and its central location. On arriving at CenterHotel Thingholt around noon because of an early morning flight from Akureyri, we were told that there were maintenance issues that meant that several rooms had had to be taken out of use and that we were being 'upgraded' to CenterHotel Arnarhvoll. This was definitely NOT an upgrade. The hotel was further out from the centre, the room was modern but cramped, with a tubular metal clothes hanging structure that was absolutely lethal - a serious danger of hitting the sharp corner at head height because of insufficient room round the end of the bed. The inadequate shower door arrangement in the bathroom meant that everything became soaked when taking a shower. The TV was just about impossible to work - didn't respond to the handset or the buttons on the front.
This was definitely not an upgrade and we were very suspicious that we had been moved out of CenterHotel Thingholt to make was for a more lucrative booking - the whole way the 'upgrade' story was handled by the receptionist lacked conviction and credibility.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
CenterHotel Thingholt
#17 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,671 reviews
Centerhotel Midgardur
#11 of 52 in Reykjavik
567 reviews
Miõborg
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
#19 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
CenterHotel Plaza
CenterHotel Plaza
#35 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,777 reviews
Miõborg
CenterHotel Klopp
CenterHotel Klopp
#36 of 52 in Reykjavik
847 reviews
City Center Hotel
#28 of 52 in Reykjavik
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centerhotel Arnarhvoll? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centerhotel Arnarhvoll

Property: Centerhotel Arnarhvoll
Address: Ingolfsstraeti 1, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Centerhotel Arnarhvoll 3.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Centerhotel Arnarhvoll reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centerhotel Arnarhvoll Reykjavík
Centerhotel Arnarhvoll Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing