We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This would have been a better review, but . . .” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Centerhotel Arnarhvoll

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Centerhotel Arnarhvoll
Ranked #23 of 53 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“This would have been a better review, but . . .”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Upon arrival, I was very pleased with our hotel choice. Nice and central within easy walking distance to all of Reykjavik, but on the harbour away from the noisy nightlife that we read can plague Reykjavik. Nice hotel, that appears new and very well-kept. Great room, great view. Even a spa to enjoy should we wish (we did not have time). We were all set for a wonderful night in Reykjavik at the end of our Iceland trip. Well all was great until we settled into bed just before 10:00. We were exhausted from a day of touring around Iceand, then an evening in Reykjavik. Right away we noticed VERY loud footsteps coming from above. It was almost as if it was inside our room it was so loud (but worse because it was above our heads), and it was constant, not stopping after quite a while of waiting. So we called the front desk and he informed us the we were right below the restaurant. Just our luck. And he said that he would speak to the restaurant. Another half hour passes, same loud walking continues. So we call again, he says this time he'll go up to the restaurant himself for a face to face chat to tell them to stop, it was very clearly one restaurant employee whose shoes was causing this noise. Another half hour passes, still the same loud walking continues. We call again and he says I'm sorry but "I've done all I can do and if you want to go up and speak to the restaurant yourself you can." I was not happy with this reply, very much with an attitude. There was no option to move rooms, as the hotel was full, so we waited another little while and it STILL did not stop! We called again quite upset by this point and said we want a refund. He said we'd have to speak to the manager in the morning. And suddenly within two minutes it stopped. I have no idea if that was a coincidence or not. I couldn't get over: A. their unwillingness to do nothing about this. Like why couldn't that one restaurant worker just take off her shoes for the last little bit of her shift!!! Why?? We suggested this, too. B. the attitude of the guy at the front desk. I think had we been in another part of the hotel, we'd have had a very different experience and I'd be sitting here writing a positive review. So the moral of the story is this could be a great place to stay. I'd avoid room 703 or surrounding rooms, actually maybe I'd avoid this whole floor as it's all underneath the restaurant. Although I when we went up for breakfast the next morning to this very restaurant that was above our room, I was shocked at how many people were there (and it is buffet, so lots of walking to and fro) and I hadn't heard much noise from it down in our room. That's because no one walking was wearing hard shoes, everyone had trainers or hikers on. I really hope the hotel reads this, hard shoes should not be allowed by your employees in the restaurant!

Room Tip: Avoid the 7th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roeshan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    427
    555
    188
    33
    19
See reviews for
151
683
81
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

this was a great hotel with a really nice spa. Too bad there is no exercise room. The rooms were really nice and clean and the breakfast was great, although it was REALLY crowded. the rooms were clean and modern, the beds comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank promo_jake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kfar Vradim, Israel
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

taking a shower is a dissaster. You end up having half of the bathroom wet, and you cannot do anything about it. We ended up asking for a room with a bathtub which was better. Another related problem was being able to keep the water at the right tempreture, as for some reason, swayed from being too hot to too cold.

Room Tip: ask specifically for a room with a bathtub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paleiov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel right in the centre of the city with friendly and very helpful staff, stunning breakfast room and prompt service! Highly recommended! At the reception they will help you with all the information you need about the trips available and all the Northern Lights tours and they will book it for you as well! We found Iceland as a very organised country, where everything runs at exact times and where you can enjoy nature and its beauties with the help of very kind and friendly people!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Georgiana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
69 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

Stayed here February 2013 for a long weekend. Very close to the main strip, but far enough not to hear the weekend partying which can go into the wee hours. Very friendly helpful staff and great breakfast buffet. Easy to book transfers and tours and they'll even give you a wake up call if the northern lights appear during the night if you wish.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms facing the opera house for a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rfreder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

We booked at the Thingholt and Centerhotels moved us here. We stayed one night and immediately requested they respect our original reservation and move us to our correct hotel. The rooms here felt very cheap - like a college dormitory.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shawdf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

Really enjoyed this place, so well located in the centre of Reykjavik. Extremely helpful staff - nothing was a bother. Well appointed room - only negative was that our room's bathroom was little. Apart from that though, no complaints. Would definitely stay here again.

The views are stunning from the 8th floor restaurant where your more than ample complimentary full breakfast buffet 5 star.


Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Juan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
CenterHotel Thingholt
#18 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,510 reviews
Miõborg
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik
Hotel Borg by Keahotels
#22 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
CenterHotel Plaza
CenterHotel Plaza
#35 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,628 reviews
Miõborg
CenterHotel Klopp
CenterHotel Klopp
#36 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centerhotel Arnarhvoll? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centerhotel Arnarhvoll

Property: Centerhotel Arnarhvoll
Address: Ingolfsstraeti 1, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Centerhotel Arnarhvoll 3.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Centerhotel Arnarhvoll reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centerhotel Arnarhvoll Reykjavík
Centerhotel Arnarhvoll Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing