We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT FREE on Wednesdays, but nice museum”

National Museum of Iceland
Book In Advance
More Info
$57.08*
and up
Private Sightseeing Tour in Reykjavik
Ranked #8 of 176 things to do in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
158 reviews
101 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“NOT FREE on Wednesdays, but nice museum”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

A traveler had written that the museum was free on Wednesdays, so we made the trek to it specifically on that day, but, no, it is normal pricing. (Senior citizens start at 67...in some places in Iceland, it's 70.) Museum covers all the historical periods experienced by Iceland-heavy on Christianity, explorers, early Icelandic civilization, but also has some very quirky Icelandic displays. Stained glass windows-wonderful. Children's play room included. Photography featured on first floor. Nice café.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank metoread2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,626 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,339
    998
    253
    31
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hollywood, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A must for a visitor who wants to understand the island's history”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

As others have noted, the museum chronologically well laid out. Particularly helpful were the interactive screens which displayed visual and audio descriptions of the various periods in history. We were delighted to see the special photographic exhibition from female photographers spanning more than a century. It was an afternoon very well spent!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Elaine V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“The only Reykjavik museum you need to visit”
Reviewed March 22, 2014

This museum is well laid out, and has everything you need to know about Icelands history. Its filled with tons of artifacts and information, and is reasonably priced at 750 krona for students or 1500 krona for adults. Well worth the money, we spent a couple hours here but history buffs could probably spend an entire day! Even if museums isn't your thing, you will find something to like here. Plus the souvenir shop has better priced items than most of the stores downtown.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank charlene9797
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A must do whilst in Iceland!”
Reviewed March 22, 2014

The National Museum is a must do as it helps to explain the origins of the Icelandic nation and it's people. You develop an understanding of how Icelanders developed their many virtues and exemplary national characteristics.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank JohnStratfordUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
67 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great chronological layout of Icelandic history”
Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

What a marvelous museum! We (mom and two boys, aged six and ten) spent five hours at the National Museum, but we took our time, had lunch at the cafe, visited the hands on playroom twice, and lingered in the excellent gift shop.

First of all, I love medieval history, so I could've been on the second floor alone for at least a few hours if I wasn't encumbered by my shorter-attention-span offspring. Most people will probably go through much faster than the pace we set. I think we spent about two hours on the second floor (earlier time period), an hour upstairs (Enlightenment to Modern era), and another hour with the photography exhibit and a special knitting display on the ground floor.

The six year old wasn't thrilled with the day, but the interactive touchscreens, informational folders in little niches near some exhibits, and clever phones for "calling up" a resident of the past did help keep him entertained. The ten year old completed the museum's free (and available in several languages, including English) educational "scavenger hunt" worksheet. Since he was getting school credit for learning about Iceland, he was more focused on the content.

I'll make a special mention of the gift shop because I found several souvenirs I'd been looking for all week, including a wooden toy "Viking" axe for the little guy (made in Germany, but he was thrilled and I wasn't going yo buy the plastic ones made in China and seen everywhere else!) The museum has postcards for 150 ISK that are exclusives and based upon their artifacts. I also bought a version of the Viking board game, a bit like chess, that I'd seen elsewhere but liked this edition more and at a slightly lower price than the Settlement 871 gift shop.

This was a GREAT way for us to spend a day. It was 1500 ISK for an adult, but free for the kids, and the free lockers made life very easy.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mommywillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Museum of Iceland also viewed

 

Been to National Museum of Iceland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing