We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great museum”

National Museum of Iceland
Book In Advance
More Info
$59.34*
and up
Private Sightseeing Tour in Reykjavik
More Info
$38.58*
and up
City Sightseeing Reykjavik Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Ranked #9 of 179 things to do in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Louisville
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great museum”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Fantastic way to learn about Iceland. The museum is set up in a very logical way and easy to get through. I wish we had had more time than just an hour (although we spent quite a bit of time having fun in the "hands-on" area where we could dress up in Icelandic clothing)!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kristina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,718 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,388
    1,032
    261
    32
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great afternoon activity in Reykjavik”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

We only had an hour at the National Museum of Iceland, and wish we'd had at least another two! Vast interactive collection that was incredibly interesting, taking you from the nation's foundations to present day. Will need to visit again next trip!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stacey Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cool place”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

We got here half an hour before closing so didn't have a lot of time to look around BUT, It was such a cool museum and would have gone back if I had the time.. Also has the best dress up section hehe :)

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hilsbills06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane Valley, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“great viking museum”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Well worth the short walk from the City Hall and Tjornin. The artifacts are arranged logically and you can follow either the written exhibit or the audio tape. The history of Iceland is clear and the artifacts reflect the cultural hertiage.. The museum has 300,000 artifacts and nearly 4 million photographs. Viewing takes a couple hours, no pictures allowed. Try to see the first day of your trip.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank karenkkl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Museum”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

This is well worth taking the time and an easy walk from City Center. Very interactive and modern. It is an easy to understand history from the Vikings to The Settlement. A great place to begin your tour of Iceland.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank JoAnn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Museum of Iceland also viewed

 

Been to National Museum of Iceland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing